Welcome Guest
Announcements:
4
0 items ($0.00) in your cart
  • MX1577 Arctic Silver 5 High Density Silver Thermal Compound, 3.5g

Arctic Silver

Arctic Silver 5 High Density Silver Thermal Compound, 3.5g

From 14 Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 14 Customer Reviews

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
All Reviews are screened for appropriate content and therefore may take 3-4 business days before displayed on our site.

Your review has been submitted successfully

Before your review is posted on our site it must first be approved by one of our editors, this usually takes 3-4 business days.

Post A Review

simply the best

3/28/2016 4:06:02 PM
brad from winnipeg writes:
Strengths:
have tried many thermal pastes, applying them with many methods. and this is simply the best. Used on both cpus and gpus
Weaknesses:
absolutely none
Summary:
the trick is with this thermal paste is that less is more. use the minimal amount you can, in a small line. it seems if you use too much it doesnt work quite as well.

Good stuff

1/22/2014 8:39:14 PM
John K from Winnipeg writes:
Strengths:
Consistently scores in the highest tier with the best TIMs. Is NOT electrically conductive, no matter what some other reviewers say ( arcticsilver.com/as5.htm ). A little goes a long way (apply paper thin. Google TIM application methods).
Weaknesses:
200 hour curing time (temps improve 2 to 5c after 200 hours that include cycling down to room temp) ( arcticsilver.com/as5.htm ). It's slightly capacitive, so although it won't short anything out, it can cause signal issues on clock and data lines, so apply carefully.
Summary:
I use this exclusively where I work because of its availability. It scores as high as Shin Etsu on comparison tests (Shin Etsu is about the best non-metallic TIM available for PCs). The only thing better is metallic TIMs like Coollaboratory Liquid Ultra which are a pain to work with and can stain your cooler and cpu.

Works amazingly!

12/12/2013 5:06:23 PM
Ryan from Falher writes:
Strengths:
Took 30 degrees off my GPU temp, and ~5 off my CPU! Syringe makes it much easier to use. Non-conductive!
Weaknesses:
Expensive, but cheaper than some other pastes.
Summary:
This thermal paste is good for nearly everything you need to do in a PC. It conducts heat very well! I have been using it for about 2 or 3 years now and it's definitely the best.

Works as intended

9/7/2013 1:18:56 PM
Paul from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
Takes 20C off my core temp.
Weaknesses:
Summary:
CPU was running Borderlands 2 at 80 - 90C with old, worn-out paste. Applied this paste and same game runs at 55C. Just as it should be.

The 'Skeptic' Turned 'Believer'

3/25/2013 9:59:52 AM
Peter from Canmore, AB writes:
Strengths:
Cooling power!! How small an amount you need for this compound to be effective. Arctic Silver brand-name. 1,000,000 & 1 different purposes: CPU cooling, GPU cooling, VRM cooling, etc.
Weaknesses:
3.5g is a tiny amount for $10 bucks.
Summary:
Recently, I switched from CPU air cooling to liquid cooling. I've purchased over a dozen Cooler Master Seidon 120M liquid CPU coolers. All these coolers were installed as per manufacturers spec - this includes using the supplied Cooler Master "grease". I ran this way for a few months until I discovered Arctic Silver. Removed the "OEM" CM grease and applied AS #5 and WOW what a difference!!! This compound is THICK and really moves heat. A++ purchase.

Worth spending 10 dollars than a overheating system repair!

11/22/2012 9:23:44 PM
Christian from Edmonton writes:
Strengths:
-Extremely Thermally Conductive - Good Price -Syringe makes it easy to apply
Weaknesses:
-Electrically Unsafe, could cause shorts on components on motherboards.
Summary:
I use this to repair Xbox 360 Consoles. Despite it's dangerous electric conductivity , if applied carefully, it dissipates heat much better than awful ceramic or putty thermal compound. Don't settle for less! It makes a big difference. Also, when applying the AS5 Thermal Compound, inject a pea sized amount onto the chip, and spread that pea sized amount of the compound evenly on the chip with a old business or bank card. Make an even coat and you should be ok!

Blows My Mind

8/27/2012 12:45:05 PM
Thomas from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
-Easy to place on CPU as it doesnt create a string -Non-Conductive, Peace of mind that if it spreads over. It wont do anything -Non-Migrating, It stays where its placed. it wont move from heat or liquify like normal grease -Keeps i7 3770K 3.9Gh/z at 26' Idle and 62 Full Load (with hyper 612) -Keeps HD Radeon 7770 1.2Gh/z at 21' idle and 39' full load
Weaknesses:
-Very Messy -insructions suck online. (spread method is the way to go)
Summary:
Best thermal COmpound I've ever used. Keeps everything nice and cool. set and forget. Peace of mind knowing components are incapable of being damaged.

HOLY!!!

7/8/2012 4:07:03 PM
Brian from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
-Cheap -Great -Silver -No packaging (environmentally friendly)
Weaknesses:
-Not free :P -No instructions included and you have to go online to see instructions
Summary:
Used this on both GPU and CPU after 3 years of not having to touch them. Compound was baked dry. Washed off with nail polish remover and applied the new one. This thermal compound works crazy good!!! Went from 90 Celsius to 71 Celsius on full load of the GPU!!! SOO HAPPY!!! The idle temp is higher by 10 degrees but the load went down by 20 degrees. CPU temp didn't really change. Great service from memory express when I was there. Very recommended because its cheap and efficient.

Great!

7/6/2012 10:53:30 PM
Brian from Calgary NE writes:
Strengths:
Cools exceptionally well on my cpu and gpu.
Weaknesses:
None
Summary:
Very good for its value

Works Miracles on Laptops

6/25/2012 9:50:14 AM
Anonymous from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
This thermal paste dropped my GPU (6770M) load test temperatures from 89*C to around 81-82 with the fan speed running slower with AS5. running the same test with the GPU running at 855 mhz core 950 mem (stock is 725 core 800 mem) once the fan kicked into high gear GPU temps hovered around 85 with the CPU hovering around 83. overall I am impressed
Weaknesses:
some people say there is better thermal paste out there but there are so many variables involved (what CPU/ GPU was used, how the thermal paste was applied. I just say just go with what you like best). It tastes terrible on toast (seriously don't eat this stuff i meant this con as a joke)
Summary:
If you are gaming on a laptop and your temperatures approach levels where you can boil water on your CPU and GPU and cleaning the vents doesn't do anything. I would say tear your laptop down and give this stuff a try My system HP DV6195 (Intel core I7 2630QM (2 GHZ to 2.9 GHZ)),( AMD/ATI HD6770M) now running nearly 10*C cooler thanks to AS5