Arctic Silver Arctic Silver 5 High Density Silver Thermal Compound, 3.5g

MX1577 Arctic Silver 5 High Density Silver Thermal Compound, 3.5g
MX1577 Arctic Silver 5 High Density Silver Thermal Compound, 3.5g

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: 4.9 / 5 With 16 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
Saturday, May 09, 2020
By: K.R. LaBossiere
From: Edmonton

Best bang for your buck

Strengths:

Works like it should but do not put too much on. Its to be used as a thin contact and if too much is applied it causes thermal blanketing which can increase temperatures to rise significantly which defeats its purpose.

Weaknesses:

Very sticky and should be warm for easier migration when seating the cooler. Sometimes causing voids and inadequate heat dispersion between the cup and block.

Additional Comments:

I personally like Artic silver and have used it for a couple of decades. I still have a big tube of Artic Silver II, but use Artic Silver V. Remember to warm it up before appling... it helps a lot.
Thursday, August 15, 2019
By: Seb
From: Edmonton

Tried and true

Strengths:

-Excellent thermal conductivity

Weaknesses:

-mildly conductive

Additional Comments:

Been using this for well over 12 years in all my builds, consistently performs well. Retains conductive properties for very long time.
Monday, March 28, 2016
By: brad
From: winnipeg

simply the best

Strengths:

have tried many thermal pastes, applying them with many methods. and this is simply the best. Used on both cpus and gpus

Weaknesses:

absolutely none

Additional Comments:

the trick is with this thermal paste is that less is more. use the minimal amount you can, in a small line. it seems if you use too much it doesnt work quite as well.
Wednesday, January 22, 2014
By: John K
From: Winnipeg

Good stuff

Strengths:

Consistently scores in the highest tier with the best TIMs. Is NOT electrically conductive, no matter what some other reviewers say ( arcticsilver.com/as5.htm ). A little goes a long way (apply paper thin. Google TIM application methods).

Weaknesses:

200 hour curing time (temps improve 2 to 5c after 200 hours that include cycling down to room temp) ( arcticsilver.com/as5.htm ). It's slightly capacitive, so although it won't short anything out, it can cause signal issues on clock and data lines, so apply carefully.

Additional Comments:

I use this exclusively where I work because of its availability. It scores as high as Shin Etsu on comparison tests (Shin Etsu is about the best non-metallic TIM available for PCs). The only thing better is metallic TIMs like Coollaboratory Liquid Ultra which are a pain to work with and can stain your cooler and cpu.
Thursday, December 12, 2013
By: Ryan
From: Falher

Works amazingly!

Strengths:

Took 30 degrees off my GPU temp, and ~5 off my CPU! Syringe makes it much easier to use. Non-conductive!

Weaknesses:

Expensive, but cheaper than some other pastes.

Additional Comments:

This thermal paste is good for nearly everything you need to do in a PC. It conducts heat very well! I have been using it for about 2 or 3 years now and it's definitely the best.
Saturday, September 07, 2013
By: Paul
From: Calgary

Works as intended

Strengths:

Takes 20C off my core temp.

Additional Comments:

CPU was running Borderlands 2 at 80 - 90C with old, worn-out paste. Applied this paste and same game runs at 55C. Just as it should be.
Monday, March 25, 2013
By: Peter
From: Canmore, AB

The 'Skeptic' Turned 'Believer'

Strengths:

Cooling power!! How small an amount you need for this compound to be effective. Arctic Silver brand-name. 1,000,000 & 1 different purposes: CPU cooling, GPU cooling, VRM cooling, etc.

Weaknesses:

3.5g is a tiny amount for $10 bucks.

Additional Comments:

Recently, I switched from CPU air cooling to liquid cooling. I've purchased over a dozen Cooler Master Seidon 120M liquid CPU coolers. All these coolers were installed as per manufacturers spec - this includes using the supplied Cooler Master "grease". I ran this way for a few months until I discovered Arctic Silver. Removed the "OEM" CM grease and applied AS #5 and WOW what a difference!!! This compound is THICK and really moves heat. A++ purchase.
Thursday, November 22, 2012
By: Christian
From: Edmonton

Worth spending 10 dollars than a overheating system repair!

Strengths:

-Extremely Thermally Conductive - Good Price -Syringe makes it easy to apply

Weaknesses:

-Electrically Unsafe, could cause shorts on components on motherboards.

Additional Comments:

I use this to repair Xbox 360 Consoles. Despite it's dangerous electric conductivity , if applied carefully, it dissipates heat much better than awful ceramic or putty thermal compound. Don't settle for less! It makes a big difference. Also, when applying the AS5 Thermal Compound, inject a pea sized amount onto the chip, and spread that pea sized amount of the compound evenly on the chip with a old business or bank card. Make an even coat and you should be ok!
Monday, August 27, 2012
By: Thomas
From: Calgary

Blows My Mind

Strengths:

-Easy to place on CPU as it doesnt create a string -Non-Conductive, Peace of mind that if it spreads over. It wont do anything -Non-Migrating, It stays where its placed. it wont move from heat or liquify like normal grease -Keeps i7 3770K 3.9Gh/z at 26' Idle and 62 Full Load (with hyper 612) -Keeps HD Radeon 7770 1.2Gh/z at 21' idle and 39' full load

Weaknesses:

-Very Messy -insructions suck online. (spread method is the way to go)

Additional Comments:

Best thermal COmpound I've ever used. Keeps everything nice and cool. set and forget. Peace of mind knowing components are incapable of being damaged.
Sunday, July 08, 2012
By: Brian
From: Calgary

HOLY!!!

Strengths:

-Cheap -Great -Silver -No packaging (environmentally friendly)

Weaknesses:

-Not free :P -No instructions included and you have to go online to see instructions

Additional Comments:

Used this on both GPU and CPU after 3 years of not having to touch them. Compound was baked dry. Washed off with nail polish remover and applied the new one. This thermal compound works crazy good!!! Went from 90 Celsius to 71 Celsius on full load of the GPU!!! SOO HAPPY!!! The idle temp is higher by 10 degrees but the load went down by 20 degrees. CPU temp didn't really change. Great service from memory express when I was there. Very recommended because its cheap and efficient.