Noctua NH-D15 CPU Cooler

MX53380 NH-D15 CPU Cooler
MX53380 NH-D15 CPU Cooler MX53380 NH-D15 CPU Cooler MX53380 NH-D15 CPU Cooler MX53380 NH-D15 CPU Cooler

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: 5.0 / 5 With 9 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
  • 1
Sunday, June 07, 2020
By: Ken A.
From: Calgary

Best quiet cooler. So good it might even top some more expensive AIO coolers.

Strengths:

- Very quiet (it's a low hum on idle, little more under load) - Great cooling performance (about 35 on idle, 55 under load) - Dead simple installation (Even easier than other installs) - A premium style unboxing experience (it's weird given it's just a simple computer component) - Is even more quiet if you outfit the case with more Noctua fans. More silent than my previous PC build

Weaknesses:

- Memory ram clearances (check your memory if it's compatible on the Noctua website) - Big, bulky (might not fight in some cases. Get a mid-tower as a minimum) - Color (although you could probably make an ugly brown build)

Additional Comments:

Have had this for a year now and it sufficiently cools my Ryzen 2700x no problems while being whisper quiet. What's neat about it is that I can have my PC on top of my table and doesn't sound any louder than a typical low humming sound. Also put it nearby my mic and fans are quiet enough that it doesn't get picked up. Great performance (if you can find it right now) and don't pay more than MSRP. Since these fans are so good, I'm planning on upgrading the 120mm fans to Noctua's new NF-A12x25's for better performance (these fans can output similarly to a 140mm, but at a smaller size)
Monday, May 04, 2020
By: Ben Abello
From: Vancouver,BC

it's huge but it keeps my Ryzen 9 cool

Strengths:

Quality components and construction. It comes with everything you will need to fit the cooler on most AMD (except TR4) and Intel platforms. If you haven't purchased or used a noctua cooler (or even just a fan), buy one and you will be pleasantly surprised at the quality and attention to detail that this company places on their products. Six years warranty. Very few coolers and fans come close to that. If you are able to get one on sale, this is absolutely the best air cooler that you can get. Most may not like the beige-brown color, but for me, this is actually what gives the product it's character. As seen from even from 10 feet away, there is no mistaking that this is a noctua.

Weaknesses:

May have some clearance issues with Tall RAM modules in most ATX and MATX builds (up to 32mm). You can increase this slightly by moving the front most fan a bit higher (but this will also require a bigger case clearance. However, since I used a min-itx motherboard, I only have two RAM slots and the notch on the noctua cooler will actually allow up to 65+ mm of RAM height. If you have RGB memory modules, this cooler will effectively block most of that fancy RAM lighting. My build is actually deplete of RGB so it works perfect for me.

Additional Comments:

My most recent build used an R9-3950X inside a mini-ITX case (13.4Li). It fits with mm to spare. This case (raijintek metis classic) is so small that it is literally starved for airflow and AMD recommends an AIO (240-280mm) for optimum cooling. Well this noctua with 2 fans set to silent in the bios, keeps the processor in the low 40 ~ 43° C range during everyday operation.
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
By: David Harper
From: Norwood Ontario

The best air cooler there is

Strengths:

Ease of install Cools the Core™ i9-9900K High quality

Weaknesses:

Size might affect some

Additional Comments:

I have no complaints. I use it on my i9-9900k. Low mid 50’s @ 4.8GHz with prolonged gaming.
Thursday, August 16, 2018
By: Brian
From: Sylvan Lake

Great cooler for AM4 1800x

Strengths:

Really lowers temperatures

Weaknesses:

none

Additional Comments:

I originally was using a Arctic Cooling Freezer 33 TR with my 1800x. With it, temperatures using handbrake were 75 °C After changing to this D15, my temperatures are 55 °C. The 1800x idles at the same temperature with both, but rises a lot more with the Freezer 33 TR when stressed.
Wednesday, November 29, 2017
By: Snowman
From: Edmonton, AB

Best air cooler per dollar

Strengths:

1) It beats most entry level AIO coolers easily and trades blows with the rest as far as cooling performance. 2) Its quiet, way way more quiet than most air coolers or AIO. 3) Its an air cooler so only the fans can really fail versus water cooling where the Pump, fans, and tubes can fail. So it will last way longer. 4) The only other cooler I've seen will similar price to performance was the Noctua D14, they pretty much own the price to performance cooler market at the past $60 range.

Weaknesses:

1) Its big, but its not a problem as long as you don't drop your computer. No more dangerous than a AIO but not any less dangerous; if you drop it. 2) Its big, make sure your case is big enough for it, seriously. 3) Its big, Some ram may require you to move the first fan up slightly, most of the time its not an issue. My friend has one put together with the corsair vengeance LED ram. The ram managed to fit under it, so you can use that as an an estimate size that should work

Additional Comments:

I'm looking for the AM4 specific one after already buying a 1800x from them. They have excellent in-store service so I decided to review it here anyways, they will price match in-store as long as you have a plan going in. No pressure selling there either like at other shops. You can buy the AM4 adapter for around $8.00 CND, or if your willing to wait a bit Noctua will ship one to you for free if you prove you have the CPU cooler and a AM4 Motherboard.
Thursday, June 29, 2017
By: Kent
From: Calgary

Keeps the RYZEN 7 cool & low !

Strengths:

Stock 1700X Ryzen runs at 22° C idle and 42° C on 100% load. OC 3.8 GHZ runs at 25° C / 45° C OC 4.0 GHZ runs at 30° C / 60° C It's silent. Its massive. It has a great modular fan design. You can take one off to put in high profile ram. Runs better than many AIO's. Also inherently cools other components surrounding it in dual fan mode. Secondary RAM cooling!

Weaknesses:

Can't use dual fan mode with high profile RAM but that's the reality if you want AIO performance in an air cooler. The color...

Additional Comments:

If you value function over form, you need to get this cooler. It's probably one of the best air coolers hands down and gives an extremely large amount of headroom for overclocking. Even if you don't overclock, you can get your CPU running close to ambient room temperature on idle/low. That keeps your room cool! Though, you may or may not be a fan of the infamous Noctua Brown color...
Saturday, August 22, 2015
By: Tyson
From: Edmonton AB

Great cooler

Strengths:

cpu now runs at about 30-40c 100% load next to silent even with the 2 fans on compatible with alot of socket sizes i can play games without my pc overheating

Weaknesses:

need low ram in order to use both fans unless you want to put one off center so far that is it

Additional Comments:

this cooler is great if you have the room to put it in your case. runs cool and quiet. if you are looking for a good air cooler in this price range you have found it.
Monday, May 25, 2015
By: Jeremy Kinnear
From: Calgary AB

My chin actually dropped.. Like actually..

Strengths:

-Brought my temps down significantly (runs AMD-FX 8370 @ 35 Degrees Celsius (125 Watt TDP for this cpu) -It is the most silent thing in my case -Alright so it looks like a beast (more on that below) - SO EASY TO INSTALL - Case badge is awesome - Clearance for high profile ram, which is a very nice touch - competitive thermal grease included (I still used my MX-4) - Packaging was impressive (I don't normally care for packaging, but really it is well thought out) - Includes screw driver

Weaknesses:

- I don't really like the color of the brown and beige, and some others don't either.. HOWEVER once I put it into my blue themed PC, it distracts from nothing. The blue is the only thing that stands out and you won't notice the beige. It basically looks like white. - It's big, but doesn't get in the way of anything (even ram.. go noctua!)

Additional Comments:

This was my first experience with noctua.. I was skeptical because of their color scheme, however for the performance there's no doubt that it was worth it. Easily the quietest cooler I've ever encountered, with the best performance.. I think I'm going to stick with noctua from now on. I am a very picky consumer, and I feel no buyers remorse for buying this. It was truly worth the money. If this were 50 dollars more expensive I'd still buy it.
Saturday, March 07, 2015
By: Collin
From: Calgary

AiO Liquid Cooling Performance without the risk of leaks

Strengths:

Amazing cooling performance. Bought this to ease my paranoia running a Corsair H100i liquid cooler. Was _not_ expecting to see my idle core temps go down 2°c and my small FFT Prime 95 load test temps to drop 5°c. This is with one of the stock NF-A15 fans and an NF-S12A fan. Absurdly huge. This thing is gigantic, make sure your case has clearance for it before purchasing. Needs to be this big to hit closed loop water cooling temps. Super quiet. Easy install.

Weaknesses:

Need low profile RAM to use both the stock NF-A15 fans that come with this. Using a 120mm fan instead leaves lots of room for high profile RAM in all slots. May require removal when adding/replacing RAM from the two slots closest to the CPU. Overlaps two on my SABERTOOTH Z97 Mk 1, but is tall enough that clearance with high profile RAM isn't an issue under the heatsink itself. Need a reinforced MB or one with a backing plate to support this coolers weight.

Additional Comments:

Core i7-4790k @ 4.7GHz 1.28V, idles 21°c, small FFT Prime 95 full load temps peak at 80°c (19°c room temp). Gaming load temps 45-50°c with dual GTX 980 SLI. This thing is just massive, expect to have clearance issues with some boards and a lot of cases. Lots of room for it in my NZXT Phantom 820, even with the side fan. Big is not a weakness for an air cooler, just make sure you got the room for it. Make sure your motherboard can support the weight, it's 1kg WITHOUT the fans.
  • 1