Startech PCI Express Wireless N Adapter Card

MX51984 PCI Express Wireless N Adapter Card
MX51984 PCI Express Wireless N Adapter Card MX51984 PCI Express Wireless N Adapter Card MX51984 PCI Express Wireless N Adapter Card MX51984 PCI Express Wireless N Adapter Card

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: 4.8 / 5 With 8 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
  • 1
Monday, November 04, 2019
By: James W
From: Winnipeg

Esquire

Strengths:

Easy install and reliable WiFi connections with fair to good speeds.

Weaknesses:

Wish that it had the Bluetooth option.

Additional Comments:

Used on an older DELL system with XP and it worked like a charm. Nice to have the half height bracket option. Easy setup using either the OS or packaged utility. Better than the USB plug type for signal reception. Good price point.
Friday, April 12, 2019
By: Eugene Blanchard
From: Calgary

Worked well right out of the box. Win10

Strengths:

Installed, turned on the computer, Win 10 recognized it immediately and connected to my WiFi network.

Weaknesses:

None so far

Additional Comments:

I updated the driver with the Startech driver from their site just to make sure it was up to date. I had a lot of problems with USB WiFi adapters dropping the signal and having problems. This seemed to cure it. Plus the USB WiFi adapters could only get 72 Mbps. This one gets 144 Mbps.
Thursday, January 04, 2018
By: David S
From: Calgary

It's a good one.

Strengths:

Windows 10 auto install. SFF case compatible with LP Bracket, good speed with strong signal. Price is good.

Weaknesses:

Nothing really.
Sunday, October 29, 2017
By: David
From: Calgary

Great value

Strengths:

I installed it in a 2009 vintage computer bought from Memory Express. I swapped out the slot bracket (you need a Philips head screw driver), installed it in the PCIe x1 slot and then installed Linux Mint 18.2 Sonya. Linux Mint recognized the card during installation and simply asked which wireless network it should join. It was simply and easy.

Weaknesses:

You need a small Philips head screw driver to swap the slot bracket if you have a low or half height case.

Additional Comments:

Simple and easy installation and it supports modern Linux distributions.
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
By: HB
From: Calgary

Works with Windows 10

Strengths:

Full speed and strong signal, installs automatically

Weaknesses:

None

Additional Comments:

Quick & easy installation
Friday, May 13, 2016
By: Mike
From: Calgary, AB

Excellent Value

Strengths:

Consistent signal Good range came with low profile bracket for matx / itx cases Cheap

Weaknesses:

Comes with Small antennas-Just replace them with a couple 2.4/5 ghz antenna from ebay cost me $4 with S/H(they were double the length of the originals)

Additional Comments:

I bought this to replace a wireless N usb single antenna dongle, it never had a very good connection so i thought i'd give this internal adapter a go. Very glad i did. Consistently holds a 100-300Mbs signal from 30 feet away with 2 steel beamed walls between it and my router. I find it easily streams 1080p mkv content to my HTPC. Which my original usb adapter could not too. The only gripe i had with it is the small antennas it came with, cheap to replace, otherwise it would have been a 5/5
Thursday, May 21, 2015
By: Tom
From: Calgary AB

No fuss on older OS

Strengths:

Works well on older system running XP 32but w/sp3. Maintains signal, consistent speed @ 135 Mbps Quick installation, for both device and drivers.

Weaknesses:

A few error dialogues came up during install, having to do with files from the CD not matching with bin files. Able to ignore them with no adverse effects.

Additional Comments:

Tried usb and tp link adapters before with poor results. Loss of signal, poor speeds and connection issues even though the router is less than 10 feet away. This card works great.
Friday, December 26, 2014
By: Martin
From: Vancouver, BC

Works with Windows 8

Strengths:

Full speed and strong signal, installs automatically

Weaknesses:

None

Additional Comments:

I've had a lot of trouble with poor quality USB wireless adapters and TP Link adapters. Glad this worked right away and didn't require any struggle.
  • 1