D-Link PowerLine AV2 1000 Gigabit Starter Kit

MX50120 PowerLine AV2 1000 Gigabit Starter Kit
MX50120 PowerLine AV2 1000 Gigabit Starter Kit MX50120 PowerLine AV2 1000 Gigabit Starter Kit MX50120 PowerLine AV2 1000 Gigabit Starter Kit MX50120 PowerLine AV2 1000 Gigabit Starter Kit

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 12 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission

only for old houses ethernet connection

Submitted on Saturday, November 17, 2018
By Data Recovery Expert
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

No need to use ethernet cable where it is not possible. Easy to use.

Weaknesses of the product

No pass through socket. Slow speed from 10 till 25 MB/S megabyte per second (ethernet 1000 give me 100-110 MB/S). simplex mode (not full duplex like ethernet cable). if used powerbar it will reduce speed because there some surge filters and coils. Better use only wall connectors.

Additional Comments

Matched only for rented houses or offices where not possible to rewire ethernet cables, like a temporary solution. Has same speed as wi-fi 5GHz

Excellent product for hardwire Media Player (IPTV)

Submitted on Wednesday, July 04, 2018
By John
From Chestermere

Strengths of the product

I bought this to hardwire my Ethernet IPTV box to a router instead of using the built in Wifi option. They were also placed on different electrical circuit breaker. My Shaw Internet 75 is capped at 75mbps and with this device I was achieving 80mbps which is maximum, met my need to the max. My house is only ten years old so the electrical wiring is not that old and it ran superb. I was reluctant to purchase this but now highly recommended. Saves time and money from having to run Ethernet cables around the house. Very simply to install even a trained monkey can do.

Weaknesses of the product

Of course never place this in a powerstrip or power bar, it needs direct connection from the wall outlet.

Additional Comments

can pose a security breach issue especially in a Condo since depending on how your electrical wiring is done, your neighbor just need to get one and leech off your router.

Exactly what I expected, not necessarily what it says.

Submitted on Monday, January 15, 2018
By Evan
From edmonton

Strengths of the product

Far faster than WiFi, stable over all connection.

Weaknesses of the product

From time to time needs to be reinitialized (or is reinitialized as part of troubleshooting, anyway, with positive results). It's speed is not even close to 1000 either. I've had this for a while, and I wanted to mention as no one else had: remember this isn't secure. Like, at all. Power lines aren't switched like Ethernet (obviously) so your traffic can theoretically be captured off a power line by anyone sufficiently close to the device. It's unlikely, but possible.

Additional Comments

Expect an marked improvement over WiFi but not 1000Mbps. In my opinion this device should be seen as a method to jury rig something functional when the ideal options aren't viable.

great concept, but not very reliable

Submitted on Tuesday, February 21, 2017
By brett bazant
From calgary

Strengths of the product

I first loved these things but am now back to stringing ethernet cable around the house since these devices tend to be flaky and need daily reboots

Weaknesses of the product

Additional Comments

GREAT!

Submitted on Tuesday, September 13, 2016
By RZ
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Its been two years and its still going strong, im getting gigabit speeds. Its still able to get gigabit speeds between computers and to the internet. I always do a speed test for my shaw 100 internet and im actually getting those speeds.

Weaknesses of the product

None

Additional Comments

there is something that has to be put in perspective though, if you have poor internet service or slow connection the AV kit will not work as good, also your house cant be too old, the house needs to be at least year 2000 and newer, and you need to also make sure that they are on the same circuit in the house or you will not get the speeds. Its important to make sure you follow all guide lines before you post a bad review.

It works... slowly

Submitted on Friday, September 09, 2016
By Jeff
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Easy setup

Weaknesses of the product

speed! Tried every possible configuration tested with iperf & the fastes I could get was both devices plugged into the same wall outlet @ 233Mbps moving to the next outlet drops to 212Mbps from the main floor to the second floor trying every plug the fastest I get is 58Mbps.

Additional Comments

The speed is a big improvement over powerline adapters i have used in the past but no where near as good as advertised. they may still work for my needs but still a bit disappointed.

Does the job

Submitted on Monday, August 01, 2016
By Dave
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

simple setup faster than wireless

Weaknesses of the product

AV2 1000 is overkill for most people, the AV500 would likely be more than adequate.

Additional Comments

Very simple to connect. Faster than wireless but not as fast as a direct ethernet connection. Most people will probably be Ok with the AV500. I have a 150 Mb/s internet plan. Direct ethernet connection from my router gives me 165 Mb/s dl and 16 Mb/s ul. Wireless (802.11 n) gives me 36 Mb/s and 16 Mb/s . The powerline AV2 1000 gives me 116 Mb/s and 14 Mb/s. The manual says to use a wall outlet not a powerbar. I tested that and only got 18 Mb/s and 3.5 Mb/s with the powerbar

D link PowerLine AV2 1000 Adapter

Submitted on Tuesday, May 10, 2016
By mil
From calgary alberta

Strengths of the product

Fast and easy. Consistent and reliable.

Weaknesses of the product

Can't think of any!!!

Additional Comments

Solved my exposed wire problem. Got the connection where I needed it. Attached it to a D-link gigabit switch to expand network, it worked perfectly. All my devices are now wired and no hassle from an exposed wire!!

D-link power adapter

Submitted on Wednesday, July 01, 2015
By neil
From Calgary Alberta

Strengths of the product

Fast easy to set up its plug and play

Weaknesses of the product

you dont really need this if you have a crappy internet plan

Additional Comments

unless your paying for a plan that is high speed(like internet 50 or internet 100 from telus) then its worth buying if your like me (I use internet 25) then AV500 is the best bet

Marginal performance

Submitted on Thursday, February 05, 2015
By GL
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Easy setup even with more than 2 units

Weaknesses of the product

Best speeds I've been able to achieve with a file transfer from a NAS is about 50 mb/S, no matter what power connections I've used. I'd be happy with anything over 200mb/S, but it doesn't seem that's likely to happen.

Additional Comments

Speeds not close to advertised.