Western Digital Black 2TB Performance Desktop Hard Drive, SATA III w/ 64MB Cache

MX49836 Black 2TB Performance Desktop Hard Drive, SATA III w/ 64MB Cache
MX49836 Black 2TB Performance Desktop Hard Drive, SATA III w/ 64MB Cache MX49836 Black 2TB Performance Desktop Hard Drive, SATA III w/ 64MB Cache

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: 3.6 / 5 With 8 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
  • 1
Friday, May 03, 2019
By: Jer
From: Calgary

Good Drive

Strengths:

Reliable

Additional Comments:

We have them running on a NAS for a few years now and no complains. Maybe the lowered the quality... we bought them in 2013 I believe...
Sunday, April 07, 2019
By: Alex
From: Calgary

Horrible Drive

Strengths:

Fast

Weaknesses:

Horribly Loud, this drive has an idle sound that happens every 5 seconds, on the WD black website it even shows in the FAQ: https://support.wdc.com/knowledgebase/answer.aspx?h=p2&ID=20933&lang=en&p=613 Apparently this noise is a "Feature"

Additional Comments:

This product is unfortunately trash
Thursday, December 20, 2018
By: Andrew
From: Edmonton

Mr.

Strengths:

Nothing

Weaknesses:

This drive was bought specifically as a backup drive off site, we backed up our data put that drive away, this drive was accessed twice in 2 years the third time would not start at all, computer will not even recognize this drive... Horrible performance from Western Digital... Funny I bought the cheapest Seagate drives of the same capacity and they will not die after using them for over 5 years now... Western Digital is nothing but trouble... My WD Black was used 4 times in total , kind of laughable..

Additional Comments:

Never again will I buy Western Digital product again... I paid double to what a cheap drive would cost expecting performance and reliability... My confidence in WD drives is going down...
Sunday, December 02, 2018
By: Church
From: Edmonton

Hell of a Drive

Strengths:

I have WD Black 2TB drives with 25,000+ hours on them. Very few if any issues.

Weaknesses:

Can be a little noisier than some other drives.

Additional Comments:

Great drives. Second only to Hitachi in my opinion.
Friday, December 23, 2016
By: David J
From: Calgary

Never Got To Experience The Speed

Strengths:

Is supposedly quite fast for not being a SSD

Weaknesses:

The 3 drives I got all had the same defect (screeching noise on spin down) 5 year warranty doesn't mean much if it comes dysfunctional (So glad I bought from a brick and motor store. Imagine returning each drive by mail and waiting for the new drives)

Additional Comments:

I decided after reading online about WD's superior quality to Seagate that i'd try out one of the famous super fast Black drives. The drive functioned at first but then on shut down it made this squeal/screech noise. I returned the drive and got another, which also made the same noise on spin down. I returned the drive and had the new one tested in store, same issue. In the end I left with a Seagate of the same stats and a $75 refund. Happy I delt with Mem X and didn't have to RMA the 3 drives.
Saturday, September 03, 2016
By: Chris
From: Edmonton, AB

Great Drives

Strengths:

Amazing drives. I've been running them in my gaming computer, other custom computers, and my server for about 3 years. Not one drive has failed. They're still running strong! Never had a problem with any formatting.

Weaknesses:

I wish they would come down in price a little bit.

Additional Comments:

If you are going to buy a hard drive, don't cheap out on something half the price that you'll have to replace in a year. It works out to save you money in the long run. WD Black is a solid investment.
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
By: ben
From: AB

Solid

Strengths:

As someone who saves a lot of large Photoshop files this is great for storage and just as fast as my previous HDD that has finally died over the years. Even better with an SSD. Will only get cheaper.

Additional Comments:

To transfer your old OS to your new driver. Use this software , http://support.wdc.com/product/downloaddetail.asp?swid=119&wdc_lang=en . Follow this video tutorial and make sure you don't download the same software from the video because that is for SSD's. The one I linked will have the same layout but works for HDD's.
Tuesday, April 08, 2014
By: Anonymoose
From: AB

Above average reliability, built like a tank

Strengths:

These disks have been my standard for SMB and home-user storage arrays since their release with NAS and RAID controllers. Caviar Black series has long been the high-performance enthusiast disk from Western Digital, and despite what they want you to believe, it is still more reliable and better-performing than all the new vertically-branded (Red, Purple, Se, Etc) with a FIVE year warranty unlike the rest Over TWENTY disks in use 24/7, the failure rate so far has averaged less than one per year.

Weaknesses:

None. Most have been running 24/7 for 3-4 years, and a ~5% failure rate (less than one per year out of over 20 personally) is lower than most desktop disks.

Additional Comments:

Reliable, tolerant of heat in RAID arrays and Western Digital has replaced the few failing disks with brand-new units, no questions asked- none of Seagate's refurbished replacement BS here.
  • 1