Asus 24x DVD-RW Drive, SATA, OEM, Black

MX45542 24x DVD-RW Drive, SATA, OEM, Black
MX45542 24x DVD-RW Drive, SATA, OEM, Black

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 13 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission

Fine DVD/CD Drive

Submitted on Wednesday, December 05, 2018
By Richard G
From Winnipeg, MB

Strengths of the product

Fast Read/Write Speed Not Too loud

Weaknesses of the product

None so far

Additional Comments

Upgrading from a 8x OEM dvd drive, this is faster by a landslide. Feels good in build quality. A tad bit louder, but not noticeable with case on.

a perfectly good CD/DVD burner

Submitted on Monday, November 26, 2018
By Keith F.
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Works as it should. No problems so far to read CD-ROM, read and write DVD-R, read and write DVD+R (DL), etc.

Weaknesses of the product

There is a whole lot of precision technology in these drives, for not much money (around $25). What's to complain about?

Additional Comments

The amount of noise is normal for a drive of this speed, no different than other brands (LG, Samsung, etc).

Works Very Well

Submitted on Friday, June 15, 2018
By Levi
From Aldersyde

Strengths of the product

The drive itself works very well, is easily installed, I was very satisfied overall.

Weaknesses of the product

I haven't really found any problems with it yet, and don't really have anything negative to say about it.

Additional Comments

I got this for a PC I was building, easy installation and doesn't make too much noise. I would highly recommend this as a primary optical drive.

It's kinda loud but it works

Submitted on Tuesday, August 11, 2015
By bob
From Winnipeg

Strengths of the product

It's very fast at reading my software.

Weaknesses of the product

A bit loud but if you take out the cd it shouldn't make anymore noise.

Additional Comments

It works and that's all I want it to do.

Great drive. Could double as a jet engine.

Submitted on Thursday, January 29, 2015
By Brian
From Winnipeg

Strengths of the product

This drive reads and loads the discs I put in it and it does so relatively quickly. So in that case, it's awesome and I highly recommend it!

Weaknesses of the product

When I first used it I thought there was a plane flying over my house, then I realized it was the drive. So hopefully you're not loading games from disc or need to use it for your applications because it's very loud. If they could make it half as quiet (which would still be kind of noisy) I'd give 5 stars, but the one shortcoming is the noise.

Additional Comments

Exactly what it says it is!

Submitted on Wednesday, January 28, 2015
By David Drinnan
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

-Works perfect -Looks nice

Weaknesses of the product

-A bit loud as most are

Additional Comments

It works perfectly. No errors and looks good in any case. Best bang for it's buck and is honestly as close to perfect as you can get.

Hit and Miss

Submitted on Wednesday, January 14, 2015
By WL
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

A very cost effective optical drive.

Weaknesses of the product

First one I bought was defective. It would read DVDs ok, but cannot read CDs at all. Then the drive itself became unrecognizable as it disappeared from the Windows Device Manager. Took the unit back, and exchanged it for another one. The new drive appears to be functioning as expected.

Additional Comments

50% success rate.

Great budget DVD wrieter

Submitted on Monday, September 22, 2014
By Andy
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Fast and responsive. Loads DVDs rather quicker than Samsung's equivalent DVD-ROM.

Weaknesses of the product

Althouh I wouldn't personally describe the noise it makes as "loud" (what DVD-ROM really isn't?) it's noticeable if you are in a recording studio environment.

Additional Comments

Great drive. I'm switching to these instead of the Samsung in all my future builds.

Of course it's loud, do you really expect it to be quieter than a lower speed drive?

Submitted on Tuesday, February 25, 2014
By Laurence
From Winnipeg, MB

Strengths of the product

Fast, bundled software is a bonus.

Weaknesses of the product

None really, with the high speed (24X - 48X for CD), of course it will be louder than a slower drive.

Additional Comments

Excellent drive! No complaints here except keeping them in stock!

Good

Submitted on Wednesday, February 12, 2014
By S. D.
From Calgary, AB

Strengths of the product

Fast, looks nice

Weaknesses of the product

None so far

Additional Comments