Acer Nitro 5 AN517-55-57FR-US w/ Core™ i5-12450H, 8GB, 512GB SSD, 17.3in Full HD IPS 144Hz, GeForce RTX 3050, Windows 11 Home

MX00127404 Nitro 5 AN517-55-57FR-US w/ Core™ i5-12450H, 8GB, 512GB SSD, 17.3in Full HD IPS 144Hz, GeForce RTX 3050, Windows 11 Home
MX00127404 Nitro 5 AN517-55-57FR-US w/ Core™ i5-12450H, 8GB, 512GB SSD, 17.3in Full HD IPS 144Hz, GeForce RTX 3050, Windows 11 Home MX00127404 Nitro 5 AN517-55-57FR-US w/ Core™ i5-12450H, 8GB, 512GB SSD, 17.3in Full HD IPS 144Hz, GeForce RTX 3050, Windows 11 Home MX00127404 Nitro 5 AN517-55-57FR-US w/ Core™ i5-12450H, 8GB, 512GB SSD, 17.3in Full HD IPS 144Hz, GeForce RTX 3050, Windows 11 Home MX00127404 Nitro 5 AN517-55-57FR-US w/ Core™ i5-12450H, 8GB, 512GB SSD, 17.3in Full HD IPS 144Hz, GeForce RTX 3050, Windows 11 Home

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: 5.0 / 5 With 2 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please only review product(s) you have used or owned.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
  • Review was not provided in exchange for promotional or commercial reimbursement (i.e. monetary, gift cards, free or discounted products).
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
Captcha
  • 1
Saturday, June 22, 2024
By: Mathew
From: Hodgson

Great entry level gaming laptop

Strengths:

Runs Abandoned Realms (Awesome MUD), Baldur's Gate 3, Heroes of the Storm, etc, fast with no problems at all. I upgraded the RAM at Memory Express for $25 for another 8gb - a wonderful deal.

Weaknesses:

This laptop is heavier than you might imagine. It wouldn't work well actually sitting on your lap on a couch. This really needs to be set up on a hard surface due to weight and in order for the fans to disperse heat.

Additional Comments:

This is a great entry level gaming laptop. It's not the top of the line but it's magnitudes better than a similarly priced non-gaming laptop (i.e. something without a decent graphics card that you might find from somewhere other than memory express). I strongly recommend this laptop as a backup gaming unit as long as you are aware it's heavy and needs a hard surface to play on. Upgrades to 16gb for cheap! Thank you Memory Express!
Sunday, April 21, 2024
By: Andrew
From: Burnaby BC

Fantastic.

Strengths:

Stock PCI3 v4.0 drive is a Samsung rated at 6850MB/s read and 5075MB/s write. Acer did not go cheap.

Weaknesses:

The only weakness is my wallet, this laptop was the best i could afford, which is not a weakness at all.

Additional Comments:

For the sale price the Nitro 5 AN517-55-57FR-US is exactly (and more) than I was expecting. I immediately replaced the 8GB RAM with 64GB to run LLM (Local AI) and it handles 8B to mid 20b models very well at eval rate: 4.32 tokens/s. Even 70b models run but slowly, mainly a CPU/GPU limit. This laptop also has x2 nVME slots so lots of expansion. 17" screen is clear and detailed, great for 50+ year old eyes. Thanks to the sales in the Burnaby store they are very helpful!
  • 1