AMD Ryzen™ 7 5800X Processor, 3.8GHz w/ 8 Cores / 16 Threads

MX00114452 Ryzen™ 7 5800X Processor, 3.8GHz w/ 8 Cores / 16 Threads
MX00114452 Ryzen™ 7 5800X Processor, 3.8GHz w/ 8 Cores / 16 Threads MX00114452 Ryzen™ 7 5800X Processor, 3.8GHz w/ 8 Cores / 16 Threads

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: 4.7 / 5 With 7 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
  • 1
Friday, February 12, 2021
By: Mike
From: Calgary SE

Awesome Performance & can be tweaked

Strengths:

The CPU and what it does is exceptional. Could it have been priced $50-100? Many would argue it should have been, but recall what the Intel 9900k was priced at when it came out and offered the best performance at the time. Folks are just biased with AMD's relatively value oriented pricing compared to Intel. The script has flipped... I bet 2-3 years from now you'll regret more not having paid the extra (over maybe 5600x - still awesome chip) to get the 2 cores and 4 threads. I certainly did regret not paying that premium when I got an i5 6600 and had option for i7 6700/6700k 5 years ago.

Weaknesses:

The only bad news. I run this chip with an Arctic Freezer 34 Esports Duo. Out of the box, and stress test loads it ran between 70 - 75 deg C extended periods of time. Some would consider that high, but it's well within AMD's official guidelines of < 90 deg C. Good News - AMD was conservative so every chip will perform to specs but has these chips by default draw a lot of power. They are arguably a bit overvolted out of the box. To counter this, make sure you have BIOS update that allows for curve optimizer. You can under volt from multiplier of 0-30 (each step is ~3-5 mV). I managed to undervolt my chip at 20 which is about 100 mV or 0.1V. At this setting I experience no stability issues. This undervolting actually affects the whole curve so it it'll help in single core and multi-core work loads. Result is the temperatures decreased dramatically. Now I'm at 60-65 deg C under gaming loads. Performance actually increased too as per my Cinebench runs.

Additional Comments:

No regrets buying this chip, even if it should be $50-$100 less as a lot of people argue. AMD has very nice tweaking tools to make this chip behave the way you would like. I haven't seen this level of customization available from Intel in the past.
Saturday, February 6, 2021
By: Scott
From: Winnipeg

Awesome performance

Strengths:

-Great performance -High core count -Big IPC boost over last gen.

Additional Comments:

Despite not being the best "value" out of the Ryzen 5000 lineup, I am extremely satisfied with this chip. Single and multi core performance does beat 10th gen Intel, and this CPU competes with the i9 10900k for less money. I have not experienced any thermal issues at all, idle is 30-35°C, gaming is 60-70° and it hits a max of 85° in Cinibench using a be quiet! Dark Rock Slim cooler.
Monday, February 1, 2021
By: Carey O
From: WINNIPEG

Great CPU

Strengths:

Great processing power, won't bottle neck any of the 3000 series nvidea cards, and still has more to spare afterwards. I have read complaints about it running hot, but mine has never went above 50c using a 240mm AIO, no matter what task I am doing.

Weaknesses:

bad value pick out of the new ryzen line up. 5600x gives better value for gamers, 5900x gives better value for creators. With current shortage of CPUs I pounced at 5800x and just prefer to think of it as a souped up 5600x, paying a premium just for the extra power (futureproofing as it has 2 more cores over a 5600x, and games are utilizing multi core more and more now), and not waiting for god knows how long to get a different cpu.

Additional Comments:

If in the market for a 5600x and you have more money than patience, it is a great buy. If you are not a creator, and looking for a 5900x, then it is a great buy (5800 is already overkill for gaming). It delivers on power, and my temps have been very good for it. If you are a creator, then you probably can't settle for less than the 5900x anyways, and shouldn't be reading this review ^^
Friday, December 25, 2020
By: Parker
From: Winnipeg

Yeah

Additional Comments:

I'll be honest with you guys. I wanted the 5600x like everyone and decided on the 5800x just cause it was the only thing available at the time of purchased. Regrets? Fuck nah! CPU is the shit and surprisingly running cool with the NH-U12A that's paired with it.
Sunday, December 20, 2020
By: Nathan Meters
From: Edmonton

A beast if you can keep it cool

Strengths:

Power Lot's of cores

Weaknesses:

Do not. I repeat. Do not cool this CPU on air. You will need a 280mm AIO minimum and ideally a triple fan radiator. Hot! Limited supply

Additional Comments:

There is just no reason to buy Intel anymore. First time on team red and I am happy.
Wednesday, December 2, 2020
By: anon
From: Canada

if you don't like it don't buy it.

Strengths:

the powah!

Weaknesses:

the price! (and the heat)

Additional Comments:

huge pain to get posting on a msi b550 tomahawk for me, format the usb as a MBR fat32 drive, download 7C91vA3 the newer versions seem to have issues flashing.. rename the file to MSI.ROM | and put in the root directory of the USB then proceed to flash, get into bios/windows, update the bios via m-flash ASAP then set ram speeds, XMP ect. 3400 and below seems natively supported but 3600 needs the updated bios or it'll stop posting with the vA3 bios...(CMOS clearing may be required via jumper/shorting) beefy tower cooler or AIO recommended, Canada Post not recommended. Purolator or bust. the price to product isn't great or what we're used to from AMD but if you need the extra cores without breaking the bank(more) go for it, personally I upgraded from an athlon x4 740.
Monday, November 30, 2020
By: Liam
From: Edmonton

Better then intel

Strengths:

Large core count Perfect for gaming and content creation Easy upgrade with older boards compatible with AM4

Weaknesses:

Currently availability is very limited

Additional Comments:

Moving from Intel to amd, first time red team, im throughly impressed with price to performance.
  • 1