AMD Ryzen™ 9 5900X Processor, 3.7GHz w/ 12 Cores / 24 Threads

MX00114451 Ryzen™ 9 5900X Processor, 3.7GHz w/ 12 Cores / 24 Threads
MX00114451 Ryzen™ 9 5900X Processor, 3.7GHz w/ 12 Cores / 24 Threads MX00114451 Ryzen™ 9 5900X Processor, 3.7GHz w/ 12 Cores / 24 Threads

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: 4.4 / 5 With 9 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please only review product(s) you have used or owned.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
  • Review was not provided in exchange for promotional or commercial reimbursement (i.e. monetary, gift cards, free or discounted products).
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
Captcha
  • 1
Sunday, September 26, 2021
By: Brendon
From: Ottawa

Great, but not perfect

Weaknesses:

USB connectivity issues even after continual microcode updates. Hopefully AMD is able to figure this out eventually.

Additional Comments:

A great performer and a pretty good value! Does run a little hot, so I'd recommend a good AIO or air cooler. Undervolting is also an option that seems to be worth doing. Unfortunately, there are USB connectivity issues to be aware of, but they have not been too frequent for me. It's a little overkill for gaming I think, but for productivity and/or virtualization with gaming mixed in, I think it's a pretty good value. If you're just going to be gaming though, I'd go with the 5800x or maybe the 5600x. The dollar to core ratio is a big plus. A great value if you can use all 24 threads.
Tuesday, August 31, 2021
By: James
From: Winnipeg

Amazing chip

Additional Comments:

Performance is amazing. Huge step up from the last gen processors. Great buy in impressed again with ryzen.
Wednesday, August 18, 2021
By: Scott Coburn
From: Prince Albert

Great CPU and a Good Value for the Right Workloads

Strengths:

This is a beast of a CPU. With 12 cores and 24 threads it will chew through any enthusiast's workload. It has the single threaded performance to handle gaming so that you won't experience any more CPU limiting than a comparable Intel CPU.

Weaknesses:

It will run pretty warm and I suggest you get a beefy air cooler, AIO, or custom water cooling. Don't cheap out on cooling. This isn't really a weakness, but simply physics. If you have this much performance, it's going to use power and generate heat as a result. Also since it's capable of using a lot of power, pair this with a motherboard that has a decent VRM. You don't want to have a system that crashes intermittently or burns up a motherboard because it's VRM was inadequate and couldn't meet the challenge.

Additional Comments:

If you have workloads that require this much CPU power, then this CPU is for you. I don't think the 5950X adds enough additional performance to justify the additional cost. If you have those types of workloads it's best to look at Threadripper. There isn't really a comparable Intel competitor for this performance bracket. If gaming is your thing and you don't need this many threads then I would suggest the 5600X or comparable Intel CPU. As to the reviewer who rated the product on not receiving a promo, whether that is the case or not, it doesn't affect the products performance or value. You are rating the product, not something you believe you should have received when you bought the product. Many people don't read the entire review or any of the reviews, they look at the number of stars and your review doesn't accurately reflect the product, just your feeling towards Memory Express / AMD for not receiving a game.
Friday, June 18, 2021
By: Justin
From: Ontario

False Advertising in Promo

Additional Comments:

CPU works how it should no flaws there tends to run warm but tuning voltage fixes. When i ordered on release Farcry6 was advertised for free to be included. Contacted both AMD and memexpress to make sure id get my key as shipping delay would cause it to happen after redemption period. Both AMD and Memory express gave me the run around and told me too bad. Terrible experience with AMD.
Monday, May 24, 2021
By: colin
From: Victoria

Worth every penny.

Strengths:

Great CPU, runs hot but with a good high end cooler, works amazing.

Weaknesses:

Don't have any just the computer games crazy.

Additional Comments:

Might as well, go big or go home.
Saturday, May 15, 2021
By: David
From: Edmonton

Best Overall CPU

Strengths:

incredible single and multi core performance. good power efficiency and thermals. great all around chip for both gaming and workstations

Weaknesses:

asking price in Canada is $100 over MSRP

Additional Comments:

Don't settle for a Ryzen 5 or 7 when the Ryzen 9 5900X is clearly the right choice.
Friday, April 2, 2021
By: P.T.T
From: calgary

Too good.

Strengths:

Price per compute Am4 TDP

Weaknesses:

I don't know how I got one. AMD will never make this pricing mistake again.

Additional Comments:

Its too good. If they don't release a 300$ R9 5000 SKU this might go down as the best compute per dollar for quite a while.
Wednesday, March 24, 2021
By: Simon
From: Quebec

The multicore sweetspot delivers in spades

Strengths:

Very strong performance all around, be it gaming compiling or running VM , nothing seems to bother this one, it is basically the no compromises processor. Memory overclocking capabilities far exceeded my first generation Ryzen chip the 5900x replaced. Not only did xmp profile work right away, I was able to make it go further than advertised. Not that hot for a 12 core chips, a good air cooler is enough to keep it well under control, power draw is well within acceptable range as well.

Weaknesses:

Make sure your BIOS is up to date No included cooler

Additional Comments:

If you are looking for a no compromises made processor, this is the one you are looking for. If you decide to enable PBO, make sure to at least limit the voltage a bit, as it can go a bit too hard at default PBO settings.
Friday, February 19, 2021
By: Rhys
From: Prince George

Best CPU I have dreamed about

Strengths:

Cant stop thinking about it

Weaknesses:

Still don't have a physical chip

Additional Comments:

One day I will have this chip.
  • 1