Razer Basilisk X HyperSpeed Wireless Optical Gaming Mouse, Black

MX79508 Basilisk X HyperSpeed Wireless Optical Gaming Mouse, Black
MX79508 Basilisk X HyperSpeed Wireless Optical Gaming Mouse, Black MX79508 Basilisk X HyperSpeed Wireless Optical Gaming Mouse, Black MX79508 Basilisk X HyperSpeed Wireless Optical Gaming Mouse, Black MX79508 Basilisk X HyperSpeed Wireless Optical Gaming Mouse, Black

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: 3.7 / 5 With 7 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
  • 1
Wednesday, August 18, 2021
By: Cyler
From: Victoria

Great Mouse

Strengths:

Seamless Connection with Bluetooth and 2.4GHz, and easy to switch between Customization is good Ergonomics are good (I use a palm grip) No LED Good battery life, especially for one AA Well balanced and light.

Weaknesses:

Personally, I'm not a fan of the "pointed" style of the buttons, but I prefer a less "gamer" aesthetic. A few hiccups with bluetooth mode (see below), but I'm not sure if that's just Bluetooth and/or windows issues.

Additional Comments:

I bought this mouse to serve as my mouse for gaming and also my daily driver at work about 10 months ago. It has worked great for me. I leave the 2.4 dongle in my computer, and just use bluetooth for my work laptop. I don't play many FPS, and certainly not competitively, so I can't really speak to the high-level performance, but for the games I play, the mouse has performed great. The battery life has been excellent, and I haven't experienced any connection issues, except the one below. I have experienced some stuttering in bluetooth mode, when I connect my bluetooth headphones and use them as a headset after connecting my mouse, on my Lenovo work laptop. Simply turning the mouse on and off fixes the issue, so it's easy and quick to solve. I'm not sure why this happens, and I am hesitant to blame the mouse itself, however I thought it was worth mentioning.
Saturday, February 6, 2021
By: Nick
From: Winnipeg

First and LAST wireless mouse

Strengths:

When it connects, Woohoo, it's a mouse. Battery life is the only thing i can say anything good about. On my third battery(Duracell) in around 6 months of use.

Weaknesses:

Randomly disconnects, and won't reconnect. Then you have to PLUG IN A DIFFERENT MOUSE JUST TO DEAL WITH IT. Absolute PAIN to deal with the software. Nothing fantastic about the feel of the mouse either. The side buttons are only semi-customizable. Who even wants a one button DPI switch? It's very small and that should definitely be taken into consideration.

Additional Comments:

I'd rather have a corded mouse that actually works, this thing's a piece of trash and its absolutely useless when it doesn't connect. With proper cable management the wired mouse ends up being FAR less of a hassle than trying to figure out why your $80 mouse isn't even moving. Unless you want to have a second mouse on standby, STEER CLEAR!
Monday, November 16, 2020
By: Mike
From: Calgary

Underwhelming after 6 months

Strengths:

Good tracking. Good textures. Nice weight and balance. Thumb buttons are a nice size and positioned well. Nice clicky action all around.

Weaknesses:

The wireless range on 2.4GHz (using the dongle) is about 3 feet. It locks up randomly from time to time, most often while gaming. Sometimes it just stops completely and you have to reset it before it'll start working again. The software to program this thing is garbage. You can delete it, but it will ask to reinstall itself every time you plug your mouse in or reboot. The single button DPI selector doesn't offer very good options by default.

Additional Comments:

If you're looking for a serious gaming mouse, keep looking.
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
By: Haseeb
From: Calgary

Amazing

Strengths:

Wireless but feels Wired Sleek Very Ergonomic High-Quality feel Bang for the Buck

Weaknesses:

Lack of Lighting

Additional Comments:

Amazing mouse for its price. Sleek looking even without any lighting and you can get a high-performance mouse without breaking the bank. Doesn't even feel like its wireless because of the hyperfast 2.4 GHz connection. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
By: Tristan Lopez
From: Calgary, AB Canada

Perfect Mouse!!

Strengths:

Mouse has a mate finish and very good piece of rubber on the side. Mouse never feels greasy/sweaty. Always feels comfortable. I really don't like the Razer logo/colors and my entire setup is all asus... But this mouse won me over for it's very low key dark logo. It's just a really good looking dark mouse. No logos/rgb = Beautiful/long lasting AA battery.

Weaknesses:

I have no complaints at all. It's a fantastic mouse!!

Additional Comments:

Highly recommended. Feels worth the money!
Sunday, June 7, 2020
By: Rebecca
From: Calgary

Very comfortable, discrete aesthetic, connects to BT fast

Additional Comments:

Although it says this mouse is for medium/large hands, this mouse is very comfortable for me. I have pretty small hands and prefer my hand to be relatively flat on the mouse without my fingers going over the front. The look of this mouse is discrete enough to bring to work/school, which is what I was looking for in a premium wireless mouse. The texture on the sides of the mouse feels amazing. It is easy to set up and connects to BT very fast. I have not noticed any connectivity issues or lag. Once I put in the battery, the mouse got substantially heavier (I prefer my mice on the lighter side) but for a wireless mouse of this size, it is not bad. Although I like the fact that this mouse has a fairly discrete aesthetic, in my opinion this design looks quite masculine. It would be nice to see more mouse options from Razer, where the design is not too flashy but has some subtle feminine design details or more neutral look. Overall, I think this is a very comfortable premium wireless mouse that feels nice and does what it is supposed to do.
Monday, June 1, 2020
By: Chase
From: Edmonton

Good wireless gaming mouse, but no Chroma

Strengths:

The Basilisk X HyperSpeed is a good choice as a wireless gaming mouse. Its on the lighter side of the mid weight class. Hand fits naturally on the mouse. Connects by 2.4GHz or Bluetooth 5, and the USB receiver is really small. Mouse has a dedicated button to change the DPI.

Weaknesses:

No Razer Chroma, you need to spend over $200 on the Basilisk Ultimate (two entirely different class of products). Build feels kind of cheap. Unlike Razer's other mice that have two dedicated buttons for DPI (increase and decrease) the Basilisk X HyperSpeed only has one. You will have to cycle through all of the DPI settings from lowest to highest. Mouse isn't rechargeable, takes one AA battery.

Additional Comments:

If you hold your mouse with a "claw grip" this mouse might not be for you. Otherwise for the price it's great.
  • 1