Asus TUF Gaming VG27AQ 27in WQHD 165Hz IPS Gaming LED LCD w/ HAS, Speakers

MX78851 TUF Gaming VG27AQ 27in WQHD 165Hz IPS Gaming LED LCD w/ HAS, Speakers
MX78851 TUF Gaming VG27AQ 27in WQHD 165Hz IPS Gaming LED LCD w/ HAS, Speakers MX78851 TUF Gaming VG27AQ 27in WQHD 165Hz IPS Gaming LED LCD w/ HAS, Speakers MX78851 TUF Gaming VG27AQ 27in WQHD 165Hz IPS Gaming LED LCD w/ HAS, Speakers MX78851 TUF Gaming VG27AQ 27in WQHD 165Hz IPS Gaming LED LCD w/ HAS, Speakers

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: 4.6 / 5 With 7 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
  • 1
Monday, October 05, 2020
By: Charles
From: Calgary

Great IPS Gaming monitor with few issues

Strengths:

Sharp, fast, great uniformity for white and black, freesync and gsync, 144Hz compliant, better Contrast than most IPS displays and $100 less than next best thing.

Weaknesses:

A little tweaking needed on color to get rid of overblown Reds and wierd tint out of the box in line with all the reviews. Slight motion blurr when framerate under 75 but barely noticable (due to G to G performance at lower Hz). Just would be nice if it were set more conservatively out of the box.

Additional Comments:

If you are going to buy this for a moderately lit room, I suggest the following basic calibraion... which is based off averages from 3 review sites and I have to agree. Display Mode (normal) - Racing Mode Brightness - 20 - 30 (depending on room) Contrast - 80 (default) Color Temp - Change to User Mode and change to ... R(90), G(95), B(100) Alternately Just change Color Temp to USER (if you want a bit warmer) and set brightness to something in the 20's depending on room ambient light.
Thursday, December 12, 2019
By: Matthew
From: Ontario

Asus TUF Gaming VG27AQ

Strengths:

-Awesome Spec -Decent Price -Works both with AMD/Nvidia GPUs (adaptive sync) -Can overclock right off the bat to 165Hz (monitor box only states 155hz)

Weaknesses:

-Brightness adjustment doesn't go as low as I would like but its still "good enough" in my case. I like to use the computer without any ambient light at night, which is bad i know, so that's why a lower brightness would be better in my particular case.

Additional Comments:

Awesome gaming monitor at an affordable price with 60-165hz Refresh rate, Adaptive Sync option, and ULMB (ultra low motion blur) feature that can be used at the same time as adaptive sync, which is unique i believe. No other monitor can use Adaptive sync AND ULMB at the same time, so thats great i suppose. That being said, I use my monitor at 144hz or 155hz with ULMB disabled. I only use adaptive sync. I do regular desktop work and the games I play are POE, D2, D3, WOT and this monitor works excellent with those games. Very happy with my purchase.
Thursday, October 31, 2019
By: TechWiz
From: Vancouver

TUF VG27AQ

Strengths:

Cutting Edge Tech finally at an affordable price. Upgraded from a PB278Q (2k60hz) to this VG27AQ and I am super happy.

Weaknesses:

The issues that one reviewer had about dead pixels or duplicate pixels is weird, as I have no such problems. That user must have had bad luck and got a defective panel.

Additional Comments:

Mine works flawlessly on Win 7 64 bit with a GTX 780 using Display Port.
Monday, October 28, 2019
By: Samuel
From: Toronto

VG27AQ Personal Summary

Strengths:

This monitor has great spec and was a great buy after calibrating it to my liking. Its very responsive, very low input-lag, very little ghosting when setup properly and has great colors. The price was not cheap but very good for what you get in my opinion. I also have a PG278Q which was much more expensive 2 years ago, yet i think this one is actually better. Supports both adaptive G-Sync AND Cross-Fire, which is a great plus as it gives flexibility for the future.

Weaknesses:

As mentioned below in another review, the brightness adjustment is limited so I am also running it at zero-brightness setting as well, which is alright. I am using the monitor with Display-Port as only display-port supports all the features in the OSD monitor menu. This isnt a drawback for me as I would never use HDMI over Display-Port anyways, but still.

Additional Comments:

Awesome monitor with state of the art game-oriented tech-features for an affordable price.
Thursday, October 24, 2019
By: Master Chief
From: Edmonton

The new CRT experience.

Strengths:

Work Productivity -readable text while you drag a window around. -good brightness/color. Console Gaming -can setup adaptive sync on XBOX one X @1440p, 120hz.(hdmi 2.0) PC gaming -sharp and easy to track moving enemies. -overclocks to 155hz,160hz,165hz from 144hz (native refresh)

Weaknesses:

OSD menu (issues when monitor is on HDMI input) -When on the HDMI input, using the control stick on the back of the monitor, menu navigation is very slow. I have to hold the nob for a long time, or repeatedly to navigate the montor menus. -When on Displayport input, menu selection is quick and responsive. -Although that is annoying because I often have to switch displayport and hdmi inputs (switch between laptop and desktop), this monitor will actually auto-switch inputs if only 1 input has a device currently turned on.

Additional Comments:

I love this monitor because for the first time both G-Sync and ELMB are enabled together. I used to run CRT monitor a long time ago and I missed the blur free experience. This is a well rounded monitor at a reasonable price. Unexpected benefit on the Xbox one X was icing on the cake. In the future Asus needs to release ELMB SYNC in Ultrawide Curved 34" 21:9 1440p.@$700. I would buy it in an instant.
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
By: Alex
From: Edmonton

ASUS VG27AQ Opinion

Strengths:

This monitor is amazing for the price. I am not gona list the specs but those are very good as you already know. Great colors after calibration and ICC profile application. Great all-rounder monitor for gaming and daily use. I was worried this is a pure "Gaming-Monitor" and would not be good for daily use but the picture is great for non-gaming use as well. I think this is the first monitor that has state of the art technical features that finally have become mainstream and thus dont warrant a $1,000-dollar price tag anymore. If you want to read an in-depth review of the monitor search for "ASUS VG27AQ TFT Review" on google and you will find the review conducted by "TFT Central" which is in my opinion one of the best monitor review websites.

Weaknesses:

Only "weakness" in my eyes is the brightness adjustment range which is limited in my opinion. I use the monitor with the lowest possible brightness setting as I often use the computer with medium to low ambient surrounding light for several hours at a time. That being said the lowest brightness setting works for me and I am happy, even if a little less brightness would be nice-to-have.

Additional Comments:

Awesome Monitor for an affordable price. Asus is currently owning the competition with this price-point and spec.
Saturday, October 12, 2019
By: Dan
From: Calgary

Good Monitor With One Big Drawback

Strengths:

G-sync 1440p IPS ELMB Sync 144hz<

Weaknesses:

group of pixels on the top left corner always display whatever colour is being used on the bottom right. It is very strange and I have never heard of this before. This isn't a problem specific to mine others have been having the same issue.(top_left_pixel_of_my_monitor_is_a_duplicate_of/) this is a issue that should not be present on a monitor at this price.

Additional Comments:

if you are willing to ignore the incorrect group of pixels in the top left then this is a good monitor but it just annoys me enough to return it. This monitor does carry features that no other monitor does at this price range and if it weren't for this defect it would be a 5 star. the only other issue is that it isn't bright enough for HDR despite supporting it however this is a gaming monitor not a monitor for sight seeing.
  • 1