Intel PRO/1000 GT Desktop Adapter, Retail Box

MX7843 PRO/1000 GT Desktop Adapter, Retail Box
MX7843 PRO/1000 GT Desktop Adapter, Retail Box MX7843 PRO/1000 GT Desktop Adapter, Retail Box

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 10 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
  • 1

Great with FreeBSD

Submitted on Saturday, August 13, 2016
By James
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Works great with pfSense 2.3.2 and Shaw Business Fiber Internet. I have used three of these cards now with no issues.

Weaknesses of the product

Only one port on each card.

Additional Comments

It seems like all the negative reviews about this product have been from 64bit Windows users stuck using Microsoft products. I would recommend this card to any Linux user or any Linux/FreeBSD firewall distribution user.

Works on Linux (Ubuntu Server)

Submitted on Wednesday, February 01, 2012
By Aaron
From Winnipeg

Strengths of the product

Worked out of the box Fast, around 25MBps (with Gigabit Switch) Wake on LAN Reliable

Weaknesses of the product

Bit Pricey, but worth it...

Additional Comments

Replaced another NIC with this one, because it stopped working after a week, works out of the box, after configuring the network settings of the server, I couldn't make the WOL function work because my motherboard maybe didn't support it. Over all it's a good purchase, I did regret buying for a moment but I'm very satisfied with the performance of this card.

freeNAS 8 + freeBSD8.2 good to go

Submitted on Tuesday, August 09, 2011
By Ryan
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Worked out of the box
Stable connection
Good speed

Weaknesses of the product

A bit pricey for what it is and what I use it for

Additional Comments

I exchanged my D-Link for this one since freeBSD refused to load the driver for the D-Link (could just be my limited experience with freeBSD). The Intel card worked like a charm. It's a little on the high side of what I'd like to pay for a PCI NIC, but then again it works.

Does the job, somewhat

Submitted on Monday, July 18, 2011
By Param
From Winnipeg

Strengths of the product

Had to buy this card because my onboard LAN was not compatible with Windows 7. Installed, worked like a charm, good transfer speeds

Weaknesses of the product

After some online gaming, the Internet would slow down to a crawl. Resetting the router did the job, but only happened with this computer, all other wired devices work fine.

Additional Comments

Pretty good for a PCI card, but expected better overall performance from an Intel device on an Intel Mobo.

Unsupported NIC

Submitted on Thursday, March 10, 2011
By Matt
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Works great with Win XP. I cant fault this card with this version of windows . It worked flawless and faster than onboard networking by far.

Weaknesses of the product

AS PER INTEL website this card will not be updated for drivers for Windows 7 64 bit. It does work on my computer but will not configure gigabit speeds under Win 7 64 bit. Never Has never will . Same is true running WHS. It works but is really noticable when transferring large files.

Additional Comments

Time to invest in an updated NIC that is FULLY supported with respect to drivers if you run Win 7 64 bit.

Problems with static IP and Windows 7 Ultimate

Submitted on Tuesday, August 17, 2010
By Jim Blake
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

It worked fine with DHCP (dynamic) IP address,

Weaknesses of the product

Doesn't work with static IP.

Additional Comments

I couldn't get it to work with a pre-assigned IP address. It would work for a while but after a reboot it would forget the default gateway. Web searches showed that this is a common problem and Intel doesn't officially support Win7.

Rock Solid

Submitted on Friday, February 19, 2010
By Saul
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

- Compatable, works with Windows 7 64bit. Didn't even have to install drivers manually.

Weaknesses of the product

- Maybe a little expensive, but I guess you get what you pay for.

Additional Comments

Purchased this card to do away with problems I've been having with a flakey integrated solution. Took a mere few minutes to have my system back up and running again stable.

Uninstalled motherboard network drivers, rebooted and entered BIOS to turn off integrated network ports, turned off computer and installed the Intel card, rebooted the computer and let windows automatically install the drivers for me and connect to my network. No intervention required on my part. Simple.

Intel Pro Card

Submitted on Tuesday, January 26, 2010
By J Welson
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Works with all systems. Not sure what other reviewer was doing, but it works well in 2008r2 32 and 64 bit. This is the most compatible card out there and stock drivers work on it. Works great in freebsd.

Weaknesses of the product

price

Additional Comments

buy this card for compatibility if other cards fail.
"friends don't let friends buy realtek cards", so this passes...

Not Windows 7 x64/Server 2008 R2 Compatible!

Submitted on Wednesday, December 16, 2009
By Adam
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

None

Weaknesses of the product

Says it is compatible with Windows 7 x64 and Server 2008 R2, but DOES NOT WORK. When I used it on the systems, it would install and seem to work correctly, but would not pickup an IP Address from my DHCP server, nor would it work with a static IP. Driver is from CD Only, no updates provided.

Additional Comments

Tested on 2 Windows Server 2008 R2 Enterpise boxes with both DHCP and Static IPs. Neather worked.
Tested on my Windows 7 Ultimate x64 with the same results.

Best Nic for home Labs...

Submitted on Tuesday, December 01, 2009
By Rod
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Works with VMWare ESX, Microsoft 2008/vista/7

Weaknesses of the product

Nothing really...maybe price could be lower.

Additional Comments

  • 1