AMD Ryzen™ 5 3600 Processor, 3.6GHz w/ 35MB Cache

MX77406 Ryzen™ 5 3600 Processor, 3.6GHz w/ 35MB Cache
MX77406 Ryzen™ 5 3600 Processor, 3.6GHz w/ 35MB Cache MX77406 Ryzen™ 5 3600 Processor, 3.6GHz w/ 35MB Cache MX77406 Ryzen™ 5 3600 Processor, 3.6GHz w/ 35MB Cache

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 8 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
  • 1

Great price performance

Submitted on Friday, July 17, 2020
By Ronnie
From North Vancouver

Strengths of the product

Excellent price Excellent performance

Weaknesses of the product

OEM Cooler is Average

Additional Comments

Very happy with this buy, such a monster for the price. I did need to replace the fan with a better tower cooler, but otherwise this has been an awesome buy. I also built a 3670X based PC for Video and rendering, where the extra performance is helpful, but for a nicely performing Work/Gaming crossover, this processor is AWESOME!

Cpu is great

Submitted on Friday, July 10, 2020
By Adrian
From Brandon

Strengths of the product

Not going to comment on performance, like others have said its great.

Weaknesses of the product

Would not recommend sticking with the stock cooler. I understand temps are subjective and should be taken with a grain of salt however... case open, case closed in a highly air conditioned basement has quite high idle temps. With moderate use temps weren't unreasonable but for longterm I would avoid using this cooler.

Additional Comments

Make the necessary changes to the budget to allow for a Cooler Master 212 Series CPU Cooler, or better.

Must buy - the little engine that could

Submitted on Sunday, July 05, 2020
By Jondalar
From saskatoon

Strengths of the product

This CPU hits the sweet spot for the price to power ratio, and You may even see a GPU boost because of better PCI support on the motherboards. I would say go with a 500 series motherboards as they will support PCI-express 4.0.

Weaknesses of the product

RAM compatibility can be an issue, and on the 400 series motherboards, you may need a bios update to get it to work (memory express team can take care of that for you at time of purchase!) so get it Quick Mounted by them.

Additional Comments

Great for both budget builds as well as main workstations.

The little CPU that can - David slays Goliath.

Submitted on Sunday, May 03, 2020
By Daren
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Finally, Intel-like single-core performance (perhaps slightly better IPC). Price. Easy drop-in upgrade for 300 and 400 series motherboards.

Weaknesses of the product

Can't reach Intel clockspeeds (but this is okay given the Ryzen 3000 series' drastic improvement in IPC over Ryzen 1000 and 2000). The included cooler is anemic (I didn't use it). Very likely requires BIOS updates to work on older 300 and 400 series boards - not a weakness, but a reminder.

Additional Comments

This replaced an R5 1600, and it's noticeably quicker in all respects. It "just worked" in my older ASUS X370 board. Benchmarks yield a 20-30% overall improvement over the 1600. Single core performance is finally up to (and slightly better) than Intel, which is the great leap of the Ryzen 3000 over its predecessors. If you've got a 300 or 400 series motherboard, make sure you've flashed it to the latest BIOS, then drop this thing in and go. Recommended.

Golden CPU

Submitted on Sunday, March 15, 2020
By Austin
From Winnipeg

Strengths of the product

This chip is a beast in all applications and the price to performance is unbeatable. I upgraded from R5 1600 to the R5 3600 and the performance is excellent especially in gaming.

Weaknesses of the product

None

Additional Comments

This chip provides excellent performance and will last me years. Thermals are good and any hiccups I was experiencing with my last chip are gone. AMD has really hit it out of the park with this chip.

EXCELLENT PRODUCT

Submitted on Saturday, February 01, 2020
By Isaac Yao
From Edmonton South

Strengths of the product

It has a excellent balance of price to performance ratio.

Weaknesses of the product

Additional Comments

It also has incredible performance at this price point.
Submitted on Monday, August 19, 2019
By TomS
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Phenomenal performance for the $$

Weaknesses of the product

Additional Comments

This CPU is currently (Aug 2019) the best value $ for performance CPU on the market. AMD Ryzen 5 3600 6-Core Processor Average CPU Mark: 20027
CPU Mark per CAD = 71.53
Overall Rank: 59
CPU First Seen on Charts: Q2 2019
Class: Desktop Socket: AM4
Clockspeed: 3.6 GHz
Turbo Speed: 4.2 GHz
No of Cores: 6 (2 logical cores per physical)
Typical TDP: 65 W
Single Thread Rating: 2820
Samples: 598

R1600 to R3600 X370 Mobo

Submitted on Monday, July 22, 2019
By ChaosTao
From Manitoba

Strengths of the product

Faster (stock clock 3.6 / 4.2GHz boost) Can be overclocked Works with most AM4 mobo's Price/Performance Zen 2 Frames Per Second boost Boot time Resolves some previous Ryzen driver issues

Weaknesses of the product

Some heat monitoring issues Some driver issues Creates new Ryzen OS driver issues Requires BIOS beta firmware update

Additional Comments

This chip is a beast! After the required firmware update everything from booting up to opening programs, files or folders has seen improvement. Any skipping or stuttering that I had noticed with the r1600 during general operation and in games has been rendered practically insignificant. The improvements to this chip are many in comparison; - I no longer have to use a PCI-E USB expansion card (in fact, I cant) for my Oculus Rift 3 sensor setup - I am currently managing a manually set 4.325GHz OC @ 1.336v, 63.5º C full load, 43º C idle. Practically 3600X boost speed, so far so good! - 20 fps boost in games (normal and VR) - Runs well on a cheap MSI Gaming Plus x370 motherboard (with a beta BIOS update, check your AM4 mobo manufacturers website) - Cheap and easy upgrade - GTX 1080 cards and up should no longer see bottlenecks - Ram overclocked exactly as it did with r1600; rated for 2666MHz OC'd to 3200MHz 18-18-18-35 **Note- There is currently issues with heat monitoring on 3 series boards, I had to download Ryzen Master to monitor and test the temps... I am not using the stock cooler for my chip, I have a Thermal Take Floe Ring 280mm AIO which keeps it nice and cool. Apparently this chip runs quite hot without aftermarket cooling so with the savings from not having to buy a mobo perhaps invest in one (if you don't already have anyways) Plug and play Frames per second and overall experience boost at an excellent price! Highly recommended!! Don't forget to buy thermal paste :)
  • 1