Intel 660p Series M.2 PCIe Solid State Drive, 1TB

MX74174 660p Series M.2 PCIe Solid State Drive, 1TB
MX74174 660p Series M.2 PCIe Solid State Drive, 1TB

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 8 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
  • 1

Bargain Speed!

Submitted on Thursday, September 05, 2019
By Scott
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

High speed Great value (especially when on sale) Intel is a reputable brand

Weaknesses of the product

Disables 2 SATA ports on motherboard

Additional Comments

I got this recently for a new home build. It was on sale, and there was nothing else near the price point. I'm using it with MSI B450 A pro motherboard. Setting up was straightforward, and ran Crystaldiskmark: Read/write speed was 1700MB/s, more than 4x faster than my Sandisk SSD. The only downside I have so far is the M.2 drive disables SATA ports 5 and 6, leaving only 4 ports. There is better/faster stuff out there, but I think this is the ideal bang for buck drive for casual users.

It's cheap, lots of storage space for a M2

Submitted on Sunday, August 04, 2019
By Roland
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Faster than a SSD cheap! Intel product w/ good warranty

Weaknesses of the product

lower endurance not as fast as other M2 Drives

Additional Comments

The main thing to look at when buying this drive is endurance. It has a third of the endurance as some of the top end M2s. That's not a issue for most everyday use. I've owned a 1TB SSD for 2 years and as my main drive it's only got 4TB written.. Most of you will get 7-10 years before this becomes a concern. Speed tests suggest it's 3x faster than a normal SSD but I am not sure if that can be trusted. I didn't notice any improvement over the 2.5in 860 evo I own, and didn't notice much of anything testing out a much faster x4 970 M2. Their all good just some are better than others.

Works very well!

Submitted on Tuesday, July 02, 2019
By Sam
From calgary

Strengths of the product

Very cheap and works well

Weaknesses of the product

I’ve had no issues so far, installed os and my games onto the drive and it works wonderfully.

Additional Comments

I recommend this drive just because of the value

Excellent Value, Works Great!

Submitted on Thursday, June 13, 2019
By Alec
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Good price vs performance balance without breaking the bank Good load times Speed is better than any HDD Had zero issues setting it up (put it in the case, formatted, done)

Weaknesses of the product

None really for me? Technically it's slower than other, more expensive SSDs

Additional Comments

Wanted a reliable, inexpensive larger SSD to improve load times for my games. Works great! Games that used to take 5-10 minutes to load are now up and running in like 45 seconds-2 min. There are faster drives out there, but this one is a good balance of speed, capacity, and price.

DOA

Submitted on Tuesday, May 28, 2019
By Cory
From Brooks

Strengths of the product

Price

Weaknesses of the product

Caused computer to continually lock up at random, requiring a hard reboot.

Additional Comments

I spent hours trying to figure out what was causing my system to lock up, entire system was brand new. Eventually I determined it was this SSD causing all my issues.

DOA

Submitted on Wednesday, May 22, 2019
By Shawn
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Price

Weaknesses of the product

Defective, windows install corruption, blue screens of death.

Additional Comments

Dead on arrival. Installed in the motherboard, installed Windows 10, then the problems started from there. Blue screens of death, lots of corruption on the drive, all within the first 24 hours. I'm packing it up and refunding it for a different brand. It wasted an entire weekend as I troubleshooted the problems and ruled out the motherboard, ram, cpu, psu, etc.

Great Performance at great price (when on sale!)

Submitted on Monday, April 08, 2019
By Martin
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

* 1 TB of capacity at blazing speed * The Form Factor is outstanding - this is SMALL! (22 x 80mm)

Weaknesses of the product

* Does not come with the required hardware (M.2 spacer + screw). Really!?!

Additional Comments

I would not recommend it at full price, but when on sale it becomes very attractive for 1 TB of storage using NVMe performance. INTEL never let me down with any of their products I bought so hopefully this will be still the case here. I still don't get the fact that the hardware is not included for installation... Be advised before buying, make sure you have the M.2 spacers + screws on your motherboard already, otherwise good luck to find some at decent price.

Good bang for buck (with a couple of considerations)

Submitted on Monday, February 25, 2019
By Andrew C
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Inexpensive NVMe performance at SATA III prices (when on sale). Great for secondary storage.

Weaknesses of the product

Low endurance (200 TBW). About half the raw read/write performance compared to premium solutions. I would not recommend it as a primary boot drive due to it's low endurance.

Additional Comments

This NVMe gum drive has about double SATA III read and write performance for about the same price. It isn't the fastest NVMe drive out there (by a long shot) but is an excellent choice for secondary storage if on sale...for example, filling out that second M.2 slot that's on many recent motherboards. I would not recommend it as a primary boot drive due to it's low endurance. Get it on sale and you won't be disappointed.
  • 1