Intel 660p Series M.2 PCI-E Solid State Drive, 1TB

MX74174 660p Series M.2 PCI-E Solid State Drive, 1TB
MX74174 660p Series M.2 PCI-E Solid State Drive, 1TB

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: 3.4 / 5 With 12 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please only review product(s) you have used or owned.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
  • Review was not provided in exchange for promotional or commercial reimbursement (i.e. monetary, gift cards, free or discounted products).
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
Captcha
Sunday, October 25, 2020
By: James
From: Vancouver

Perfect value for gaming and day to day use.

Strengths:

- Expected SSD start up speeds - Great price

Weaknesses:

- Aesthetics

Additional Comments:

After 10 months of day to day use and gaming, the SSD performed as expected without any problems. This is a good price for 1TB ssd used for gaming and normal use. The only thing that might put you off is the green PCB.
Monday, June 15, 2020
By: Cole
From: Edmonton

Okay value, poor sequential speeds

Strengths:

Good price for 1TB in an small M.2 form factor

Weaknesses:

Slows down dramatically when reading or writing large files or for a sustained period of time

Additional Comments:

I've had this drive for a few months and did some testing on it today. When testing the drive with larger files (sustained sequential read/write) it slows down quite a lot. On a 1GB test file read and write were both ~1600MB/s. But on a 16GB test file read was ~900MB/s and write was ~160MB/s. I would recommend making this a secondary drive and getting a more premium primary drive if you can afford it.
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
By: Christopher
From: CALGARY

Customer

Strengths:

price

Weaknesses:

very slow extended read/write speeds complete system lockup due to ssd bottleneck several blue screens very slow installing large programs

Additional Comments:

Although the specs on this drive seem good, real world use is very different. I have owned this drive for about 4 months now and I can't really say anything good about it. The price is good, but when the performance drops below that of a 7,200 rpm hdd, the price seems high. If you are a person that does not plan on copying large files, or installing large games, then this drive will be fine for you, however if you plan on really using this drive like i have, then you will be very disappointed. It looked to good to be true, and it was. I have checked all bios settings several times, PCI-E 3.0 X4. Benchmark test show impressive results, but this drive really is a potato.
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
By: Wes
From: Vancouver

Problems

Strengths:

Good speed, and great value if you're lucky enough to get one that works well.

Weaknesses:

Lock up issues, blue screen, corrupted windows.

Additional Comments:

It can be seen as a good purchase if it works, but unfortunately as others have mentioned, mine has similar issues. After starting to use this SSD, the PC began to hang up for 5 seconds at a time, randomly while gaming. This had never happened before. A few blue screens later, windows was completely corrupt. Had to reformat, do a fresh install of windows and it still occasionally freezes temporarily, but hasn't completely failed since then.
Thursday, September 5, 2019
By: Scott
From: Edmonton

Bargain Speed!

Strengths:

High speed Great value (especially when on sale) Intel is a reputable brand

Weaknesses:

Disables 2 SATA ports on motherboard

Additional Comments:

I got this recently for a new home build. It was on sale, and there was nothing else near the price point. I'm using it with MSI B450 A pro motherboard. Setting up was straightforward, and ran Crystaldiskmark: Read/write speed was 1700MB/s, more than 4x faster than my Sandisk SSD. The only downside I have so far is the M.2 drive disables SATA ports 5 and 6, leaving only 4 ports. There is better/faster stuff out there, but I think this is the ideal bang for buck drive for casual users.
Sunday, August 4, 2019
By: Roland
From: Calgary

It's cheap, lots of storage space for a M2

Strengths:

Faster than a SSD cheap! Intel product w/ good warranty

Weaknesses:

lower endurance not as fast as other M2 Drives

Additional Comments:

The main thing to look at when buying this drive is endurance. It has a third of the endurance as some of the top end M2s. That's not a issue for most everyday use. I've owned a 1TB SSD for 2 years and as my main drive it's only got 4TB written.. Most of you will get 7-10 years before this becomes a concern. Speed tests suggest it's 3x faster than a normal SSD but I am not sure if that can be trusted. I didn't notice any improvement over the 2.5in 860 evo I own, and didn't notice much of anything testing out a much faster x4 970 M2. Their all good just some are better than others.
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
By: Sam
From: calgary

Works very well!

Strengths:

Very cheap and works well

Weaknesses:

I’ve had no issues so far, installed os and my games onto the drive and it works wonderfully.

Additional Comments:

I recommend this drive just because of the value
Thursday, June 13, 2019
By: Alec
From: Calgary

Excellent Value, Works Great!

Strengths:

Good price vs performance balance without breaking the bank Good load times Speed is better than any HDD Had zero issues setting it up (put it in the case, formatted, done)

Weaknesses:

None really for me? Technically it's slower than other, more expensive SSDs

Additional Comments:

Wanted a reliable, inexpensive larger SSD to improve load times for my games. Works great! Games that used to take 5-10 minutes to load are now up and running in like 45 seconds-2 min. There are faster drives out there, but this one is a good balance of speed, capacity, and price.
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
By: Cory
From: Brooks

DOA

Strengths:

Price

Weaknesses:

Caused computer to continually lock up at random, requiring a hard reboot.

Additional Comments:

I spent hours trying to figure out what was causing my system to lock up, entire system was brand new. Eventually I determined it was this SSD causing all my issues.
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
By: Shawn
From: Calgary

DOA

Strengths:

Price

Weaknesses:

Defective, windows install corruption, blue screens of death.

Additional Comments:

Dead on arrival. Installed in the motherboard, installed Windows 10, then the problems started from there. Blue screens of death, lots of corruption on the drive, all within the first 24 hours. I'm packing it up and refunding it for a different brand. It wasted an entire weekend as I troubleshooted the problems and ruled out the motherboard, ram, cpu, psu, etc.