MSI MAG341CQ 34in Ultrawide Curved LED LCD w/ FreeSync

MX74087 MAG341CQ 34in Ultrawide Curved LED LCD w/ FreeSync
MX74087 MAG341CQ 34in Ultrawide Curved LED LCD w/ FreeSync MX74087 MAG341CQ 34in Ultrawide Curved LED LCD w/ FreeSync MX74087 MAG341CQ 34in Ultrawide Curved LED LCD w/ FreeSync MX74087 MAG341CQ 34in Ultrawide Curved LED LCD w/ FreeSync

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: 4.4 / 5 With 11 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
Wednesday, April 01, 2020
By: Justin
From: Winnipeg

Mr.

Strengths:

Awesome price! 100HZ refresh rate! Cheapest real estate you can buy! This unit has an excellent setup menu, easy to use.

Weaknesses:

No VESA unless you buy an adaptor.

Additional Comments:

Worth every dollar.
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
By: Diego
From: Calgary

Best Monitor For This Price

Strengths:

Great price for what it offers. 100hz refresh rate. Good colors. Free sync compatible with G-sync. Immersive game experience with the ultra-wide screen. Also great for programming and multi-tasking.

Weaknesses:

I believe the worst point of this monitor is the 8 ms response time, which causes ghosting on dark areas, especially in fast games. No adjustable stand and not compatible with common VESA mounts. Need some tweaking out of the box to get the right colors (No big deal). Not many games support the 3,440 x 1,440 native resolution. But it's getting better. (You can still play at lower resolutions with side black bars).

Additional Comments:

I did a extensive research on 34in monitors in this price range and this is by far the best option you can find right now. If you plan to game with a 3,440 x 1,440 resolution, be sure you have a powerful video card (At least a GTX 1070). Some people reported hearing some crackling noises when the monitor turns on. I notice this noise when I powered it on for the first time, but didn't notice it ever since.
Saturday, December 07, 2019
By: Patrick
From: Ontario, canada

Excellent monitor

Strengths:

Ultra wide, curved display, 3,440 x 1,440 resolution. G-Sync compatible. Easy to set up. If you have a computer and video card able to push out this resolution, then you will love it. Great in games, superb picture quality. It's the best monitor I had the chance to use so far. I recommend it to everyone.

Weaknesses:

Stand doesn't move up or down.

Additional Comments:

For the price, it's the best 34in monitor you can get.
Monday, December 02, 2019
By: Lyndon
From: Calgary

Price is good for what it offer. Gsync Compatible

Strengths:

Price to performance. GSYNC compatible via FreeSync.

Weaknesses:

8ms response time.

Additional Comments:

Price is good for 3,440 x 1,40 (Ultrawide) curved and 100hz. Best I could find, everything else in the same spec is $300 to $400 more. GSYNC compatible via freesync.
Monday, November 04, 2019
By: Kurt
From: Manitoba

Great for the Price

Strengths:

Looks good, works well, easy to physically set up.

Weaknesses:

Configuration isn't the easiest. Colour was very washed out until adjusting digital vibrancy in the nvidia control panel.

Additional Comments:

Great for the price, have no issues with it once configured and that was 20 minutes of googling. Only had for about a week though so can't speak for longevity.
Monday, September 09, 2019
By: Andrew K
From: Edmonton

Great monitor

Strengths:

Was very Impressed with the image quality for a 34" ultawide at this price point.

Weaknesses:

VESA mount bracket was not included but is available separately

Additional Comments:

I would recommend this monitor as a good value for the price.
Thursday, July 11, 2019
By: Mark
From: Maple Ridge

The best 34" Ultra Wide Screen monitor at it's price

Strengths:

Great colors Good response rate (5ms) 3440x1440 is amazing for multi-tasking Sleek design MInimal back light bleeding 100HZ refresh rate is good considering how big resolution it is Supports picture in picture, or side by side Very affordable (its competition are all above 1k) Free Sync (which is also supported by newer Nvidia cards)

Weaknesses:

No up and down movement on monitor stand No usb No built-in speakers A little bit of ghosting

Additional Comments:

Before I bought this monitor, I did a week of research on finding the one I need..I was mainly looking for something to replace my old 27" monitor but with more real estate to work with. I read there were some problems with popping noise when you open and close the monitor but I haven't heard anything of the sort. I also read there was some ghosting which I find very minimal. Keep in my mind my last monitor was a 1ms 144hz 27" 1080p monitor. That was great for fast paced games but in terms of using it as a workstation, it just doesn't cut it. Now, with this monitor my productivity has significantly increased since I have so much more space to work with. It's noticeable in games too that support the wide-screen features. For example, you have more field of vision on the left and right side when you play CSGO, which gives you a slight upper hand. The colors and darker shades really stand out too. Watching darker movies is really noticeable if a monitor has problems with handling the shades but with this one, I haven't had any problems. There is a small issue with not having a stand where you can move up and down. It does have a bit of tilt but since I prefer my monitor closer to the base, this doesn't affect me. I have found they sell custom mounts on amazon if you want to mount this monitor on the wall. In summary, there really isn't a better monitor out there if you're looking for a 34" with fast response time and color accuracy while at 1440p unless you're willing to dish out over a thousand dollars. This is the clear favorite for a budget alternative.
Sunday, February 17, 2019
By: John B
From: Calgary

Solid monitor for the price. Delivers solid on the main selling points.

Strengths:

-Perfect size for 3440x1440 resolution -100hz is a perfect compromise; very noticeable moving up from 60/75hz -Curved panel -Clean look -Picture in picture functionality -Affordable price

Weaknesses:

-Minimal calibration settings, namely contrast / gamma -No speakers (not that many people use them)

Additional Comments:

Im going to give this monitor a 4.5/5. I want to do a 4/5 but it saved me alot of money considering other monitors sold at this native resolution, and after tinkering with the settings for a little while Im finally quite happy with how its been performing. I use my PC mainly for gaming. Beyond that its used occasionally for video/photo viewing/editing and watching movies. This monitor has complemented all of those activities like I hoped it would. I can see alot more on screen compared to my 2560x1080 ultrawide and the curved panel makes for an immersive entertainment experience. I do think my old LG 29UM59-P had a little more quality to the picture but its nothing significant worth complaining about, especially as it can be up to preference since I set my own display settings (high contrast). I havent noticed anything in regards to the slower response time. It was something I was worried about but it wasnt obvious at all to me when I first started using it. No instances of ghosting yet. The stand is your typical fixed ergonomic type with only a slight ability to adjust the tilt angle of the display up and down. This can limit use in certain environments, and its also missing a VESA mount option. If youre looking to mount it on the wall, you will have to acquire one from an aftermarket seller. One of the pleasant surprises was finding out this monitor is G-Sync compatible because of its adaptive sync feature. It itsn't obvious as to how to set it up, but google can help with that. This was a feature that made me feel alot happier about the purchase. It also does tick like an engine when warming/cooling from heat expansion. It was very noticeable at first but since using it for a few days, it no longer is bothersome, or im just used to it. I would recommend this for anyone looking to get up to 1440p 21:9. MSI has outdone themselves with this monitor, filling a hole in the market. My GTX 1080 is doing okay pushing it though. If I had anything less it might have impacted performance enough to make me want to upgrade my GPU.
Monday, January 07, 2019
By: Keith
From: Alberta

Excellent Monitor overall

Strengths:

Big, beautiful display, colors seem to be ok out of the box but I think some tuning will be needed to get it right for me. 3440x1440 resolution on the WUQHD display is awesome! I wouldn't want any less on a screen this big. 100Hz refresh is great... I know some will preach 144Hz, but I honestly can't see any difference between this and another at 144Hz Text is crisp and easy to read, makes everyday use a dream and I find it's very good for gaming as well. Price is very good for what you get. (I got it a bit cheaper on Black Friday,,,) Solidly built, feels great when I put the stand together, seems like quality materials.

Weaknesses:

8ms Response time is on the slow side, but I haven't noticed any problem with it for gaming and certainly none for daily use. No VESA mount, but I did see an adapter available if that's a requirement for you. No height adjustment on the stand but it does have tilt. The height is actually perfect for me so I had no issue with it. Lacks some fancy features, but you'll pay for them if you have to have them.

Additional Comments:

I have to respectfully disagree with reviews that mention ghosting... I have seen ZERO issues with ghosting while playing. I don't play most of the games mentioned so perhaps there is an issue with specific titles (I have none with Skyrim however) or perhaps other reviewers are running lower end video cards / PC's and blaming the monitor for inadequate hardware, I'm not sure... I have not noticed any crackling noises that I saw mentioned elsewhere either, the monitor has been perfect for the 1st week of use I've had with it.
Thursday, December 27, 2018
By: Martin
From: Calgary

Ideal for gaming/browsing

Strengths:

big and nice,

Weaknesses:

pricey,i know its still cheaper than rog or other top of the range screens.

Additional Comments:

no ghosting whatsoever (dying light, thats darkest what i have), nice crisp image, bf5 make my gtx1060 red hot:), the witcher 3 looks amazing, no popping sounds like reviews on other sites, still no regrets of buying.