ADATA Ultimate SU650 Solid State Drive, 2.5in, SATA III, 240GB

MX73730 Ultimate SU650 Solid State Drive, 2.5in, SATA III, 240GB
MX73730 Ultimate SU650 Solid State Drive, 2.5in, SATA III, 240GB

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 13 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission

Died within 2 months.

Submitted on Monday, April 15, 2019
By A B
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

It’s cheap

Weaknesses of the product

It’s cheap.

Additional Comments

Died within 2 months. RMA is a gross process. Ended up buying a Kingston. The guys at memory Express told me they have had countless numbers of these die. Read the reviews after mine dies.

Works great, most of the time

Submitted on Saturday, March 30, 2019
By Robert Lefeaux
From Surrey

Strengths of the product

It works just fine. It's an average sata ssd. Great price (almost always on sale). I get about ten seconds boot up to login screen then it's instant to desktop after that.

Weaknesses of the product

Once or twice a week when I turn my computer on in the morning I get a black screen telling me to insert a bootable drive and the message just repeats if I hit a key. Im assuming this means its not recognizing this ssd as a boot drive, but if I power down and turn it on again it works. I have no issues during the day. It never crashes or powers off or anything.

Additional Comments

Other than having to restart a couple times a week, it's working fine. It's a minor inconvenience that I can live with, especially since it was so cheap, until a Samsung nvme one goes on sale. Just to be safe, I did pick up the IPR for it as it was only ten bucks.

Poor quality

Submitted on Monday, March 18, 2019
By Catalin
From Pincourt

Strengths of the product

Weaknesses of the product

It dies without any warning. Bought one in April 2018 and it died this March. The worst support ever : you need to open a ticket. 24hrs later someone will respond indicating the form to fill in order to have an RMA. You send the filled form back and 24hrs later (again) you receive the RMA. Then you have to send it in California. Rhey don't have advanced RMA, so you need to wait for them to receive the defective unit, to check it and to decide to ever send you back a good unit. In-out you might be in the limbo for at least 2 weeks.

Additional Comments

Don't buy

Affordable with zero reliability

Submitted on Sunday, March 17, 2019
By Yngvar
From Calgary, AB

Strengths of the product

Cheap - Price

Weaknesses of the product

Poor quality. I bought this on December 24, 2018. It died today - March 17, 2019. I was playing a video game and it just crashed. After a couple of minutes of checking the hardwares by disconnecting and reconnecting as trial of error, I found out this almost new SSD failed on me. My PC would basically get stuck on motherboard screen on boot-up. If I disconnect this SSD, it would work fine. I tried this 3 times so I'm sure! Poor customer support - slow.

Additional Comments

Don't but it. For any kind of storage, anything unreliable is useless.

Saw The Failure Rate, Rolled The Dice, And Lost...

Submitted on Thursday, March 14, 2019
By Lucas
From Winnipeg

Strengths of the product

It sorta stored data? Sometimes? Sometimes not...

Weaknesses of the product

40-60% Failure rates.

Additional Comments

I bought these knowing they were timebombs, and boy did they deliver on that. From the start. I was going to softRAID 1 them for some safety in use. First thing I did was attempt to update the firmware using the ADATA tool, both identical drives had totally different starting firmwares and the update tool claimed they were BOTH up-to-date. Ok.... Then I checked the health status, one disk, (far earlier serial-number wise for some odd reason) read that this new drive had already written 14 THOUSAND terabytes of data. The newer disk serially read none as it should. Then I started using them.... The high data count disk reports fine in DriveDX ongoing, for now... The other 'newer' disk however started racking up the SMART Program Fails and continues to do so. Hampering writes to the system at times. Don't buy this. Please. It's a trap, These have to be factory rejects or RMA repacks. Spend a few bucks more on a more reputable brand.

Tried to save money: mistake!

Submitted on Tuesday, March 12, 2019
By Martin
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

For the short time it worked it was crazy fast…

Weaknesses of the product

… after not quite 3 months it flat out just stopped working.

Additional Comments

It is a good thing we run daily backups and bought the extended warranty. Even though I read the reviews, I was sure we would be one of the lucky ones… but don't be fooled like I was. Sure enough, when she quit, no amount of tech expertise could locate the drive, let alone bring it back to life. ASK for advice at the counter and spend a little more for peace of mind.

Absolute garbage!

Submitted on Saturday, March 09, 2019
By Terry
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

No strengths at all

Weaknesses of the product

Bought 2 of these when they were on sale. BOTH died completely within 2 months. Wouldn't recognize in any Pc at all.

Additional Comments

Stay away!

Regretful purchase

Submitted on Thursday, March 07, 2019
By Kyle
From winnipeg

Strengths of the product

When it was working it was great! good speeds and basically no load times. thought it would be a good SSD

Weaknesses of the product

Have gone through 2 of these SSD, they crash with no warning what so ever. Played a game, worked fine, come back an hour later and its not even discoverable on my disk management. would not recommend this product to my worst enemy. Memory express however has been more than helpful with getting me set back up with an SSD so no complaints what so ever to Customer service.

Additional Comments

Great customer service from Memory Express........ Poor product. wouldnt recommend pay the extra bucks for a reputable brand name

Failed after 2 weeks

Submitted on Thursday, January 10, 2019
By Dave
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

When it was functional, it worked as advertised

Weaknesses of the product

Reliability

Additional Comments

Price was reasonable so I bought one to install in laptop. After 2 weeks it failed. I had run the ADATA diagnostics the previous day and it indicated everything was fully functional. For it to fail so completely without even providing a warning was a big disappointment. Kudos to Memory Express for confirming it was 'dead' and refunding.

Works as it should

Submitted on Tuesday, January 08, 2019
By Mike
From St. Albert

Strengths of the product

Quick and affordable Doesn't work on Mac...Mac is special

Weaknesses of the product

None.

Additional Comments

It's a good speed SSD. For those that are label concious this is not for you. For those that want an SSD and if it craters don't really care, this is for you. If you don't back up to the cloud or your personal NAS perhaps look else where as all drives will fail and maybe this one will sooner than later but that is life...sometimes, Murphy always wins. For my laptop this is perfect. Installed a fresh copy of Win10 and we are off to the races. 0 issues.