ADATA Ultimate SU650 Solid State Drive, 2.5in, SATA III, 120GB

MX73729 Ultimate SU650 Solid State Drive, 2.5in, SATA III, 120GB
MX73729 Ultimate SU650 Solid State Drive, 2.5in, SATA III, 120GB

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 8 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
  • 1

ADATA SDD

Submitted on Saturday, March 16, 2019
By Borgy
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Cheap

Weaknesses of the product

Unreliable.

Additional Comments

Bought 2 SSD’s only one works after 6 months Can not install windows on it, and keeps crashing the PC even with just data on as a storage drive.

great budget drive

Submitted on Wednesday, March 06, 2019
By sparkycivic
From Brandon

Strengths of the product

It's been a few months now, drive still works fine. It's so light and tiny, you can literally velcro it to the bottom/side/cage of your pc. It's damn fast compared to all the spinning disks I've used. It doesn't generate any heat, really, but it's getting airflow from a case lid fan. Windows 10 boot went from two minutes logged-in all settled at desktop, down to all of 20 seconds with no more activity showing sitting on desktop, taskmanager open. Windows updates... seconds, not minutes! Authoring DVD movie to ISO file: 5 seconds to save file compared to over 1 minute. I'm hesitant to save valuble data to ssd as a newbie having heard about loss from other people reviewing various brands, so I still store my files on spinning disk. At this price, I can afford to keep a backup of the ssd on a partition of my spinning disk, and instantly restore to a new ssd!

Weaknesses of the product

The software that is provided for converting your old drive, relies on a registration to a third party software company, and my code didn't work. I got that software by another means, but it didn't even work well (I was asking it to do an unusual scenario). I just ended up using another of my favorite drive backup / clone solution.

Additional Comments

WHY ARE YOU STILL BOOTING TO A SPINNING DISK?! Don't throw away your pc because it's slow to boot, it's probably just waiting for data to / from your disk all the time. Feed it data faster, get on with life, get this SSD!

Do not buy this drive

Submitted on Friday, February 01, 2019
By Curtis
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Inexpensive entry into SSD

Weaknesses of the product

Dies quickly and without warning

Additional Comments

I have had several of these drives fail without warning and although they are covered under warranty I would not purchase this model again. There are other inexpensive alternatives on the market now. Go with those.

Fast Inexpensive SSD drive

Submitted on Thursday, January 24, 2019
By Mark Anthony
From Winnipeg

Strengths of the product

Cheap, Fast

Weaknesses of the product

Third party software for moving an image from one drive to the other. Have to register etc. I used Macrium Reflect Free Edition instead as I'm already used to imaging my computer with that software.

Additional Comments

Can't go wrong for the price. Installed mine and my boot up is 10 seconds and I'm only running it on a motherboard with Sata II. Can't imagine how much faster it would be if it was hooked into Sata III. So for me it only runs at half the potential speed and is still faster than an HDD. So far it works beautifully. I notice improvements in displaying files, boot up, opening programs, to web surfing. By the way, if the drive doesn't show up in your bios, which it didn't for me, you have to unconnect the other harddrives and boot with just the SSD for the bios to pick it up as the boot drive. Then plug the other drives back in. My Bios is an older version. Your's might pick it up fine.

Died after a Couple Months!

Submitted on Thursday, December 27, 2018
By Noah
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Its cheap, and fast

Weaknesses of the product

I purchased it in September of 2018, only to have it die on me in December. I lost all of my work in 3D design and was forced to restart several of my projects. I was told that RMA from the manufacturer would be 3 months, so i ended up just buying a new drive.

Additional Comments

If you are buying this, make sure you get IPR :)

Good but unreliable

Submitted on Friday, December 21, 2018
By Chris
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Fast Easy install Drive clone software included

Weaknesses of the product

Unreliable

Additional Comments

Installed easily but died just before the 2 month mark. I submitted an RMA however they required me to pay for return shipping to the US which was half what I paid for the drive. Would not recommend; spend the extra 5 bucks for a better brand.

Good value

Submitted on Wednesday, November 07, 2018
By Win
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Cheap, quick

Weaknesses of the product

Additional Comments

Bought this for a dinosaur of a PC in the office to breathe some life into it. Quick little thing and definitely not a regrettable upgrade from a spindle drive.

Very fast time saver

Submitted on Tuesday, October 09, 2018
By David Swanson
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

I’m using this drive as a media / movie drive. I copied a 3.5 gig movie from my laptop to this drive. I did it 3 times and timed it each time with my phone stopwatch. Every time it was under 10 secs. I was using a 256 gig USB 3.0 thumb drive in the past but it didn’t have the same speed and it failed after 6 months if use I also bought a USB 3.0 external case for $15 from MemX so for under $50 I was set!

Weaknesses of the product

Additional Comments

This is a good drive. I use it on both my MacBook Pro and my Windows machines.
A lot of drive for the price!
  • 1