Gigabyte Aero 15X v8-BK4 w/ Core i7-8750H, 16GB, 512GB M.2 PCIe SSD, 15.6in FHD 144Hz IPS, GTX 1070, Win 10 Home

MX71460 Aero 15X v8-BK4 w/ Core i7-8750H, 16GB, 512GB M.2 PCIe SSD, 15.6in FHD 144Hz IPS, GTX 1070, Win 10 Home
MX71460 Aero 15X v8-BK4 w/ Core i7-8750H, 16GB, 512GB M.2 PCIe SSD, 15.6in FHD 144Hz IPS, GTX 1070, Win 10 Home MX71460 Aero 15X v8-BK4 w/ Core i7-8750H, 16GB, 512GB M.2 PCIe SSD, 15.6in FHD 144Hz IPS, GTX 1070, Win 10 Home MX71460 Aero 15X v8-BK4 w/ Core i7-8750H, 16GB, 512GB M.2 PCIe SSD, 15.6in FHD 144Hz IPS, GTX 1070, Win 10 Home MX71460 Aero 15X v8-BK4 w/ Core i7-8750H, 16GB, 512GB M.2 PCIe SSD, 15.6in FHD 144Hz IPS, GTX 1070, Win 10 Home

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 19 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission

Great Laptop

Submitted on Monday, November 12, 2018
By Jc
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Weaknesses of the product

Additional Comments

Laptop is pretty great; good graphics, great cooling system, great thin bezel screen with 144hz refresh rate, the hard drive is very fast since its a M.2 PCIe SSD, I could get an almost 2 hrs of gaming at high performance. I could play the highest graphics in Dota 2 with 70 fps and a 120 fps at its lowest graphics. The only problem I have is that the fan is very noisy at gaming mode. Definitely not gonna advise to play beside someone who is sleeping. I did had a problem with the mouse cursor getting stuck everytime i open an app, but it comes back to normal when the app loads. But now everything's good. I am very satisfied with my purchase ^_^

good quality

Submitted on Sunday, November 04, 2018
By michael
From richmond

Strengths of the product

Weaknesses of the product

Additional Comments

Heat to barely support the 8th generation i7+m1060, on the max-q1070 is a bit collapsed, after all, is a series of heat + thin body, narrow frame 15 inch notebook and the old 14-inch machine is almost large, cooling The effect is almost normal. Aero is the earliest narrow border game book, the interface is more complete, this generation on the 144Hz screen, it seems that the external version has 4k optional? General expansion, up to 32GB + 2x M.2, the machine is very thin, very business, but not very light, all aluminum alloy, a side is soft, easy to leave traces. The battery life is good, it has improved compared with the previous generation, but the capacity has not changed. It should be adjusted. There is no way for the nose camera. See if you can't accept it. Well, Gigabyte's keyboard is not bad, chocolate-style, feels moderate, the keystroke is normal, the rebound is strong, the feel is relatively brittle, single-point rgb, there are several built-in lighting effects, playability Ok, but the color of the left macro key changes with the light effect, you can't adjust it yourself. The touchpad has nothing to say. In general, the aero 15x is a good machine. The heat dissipation performance is slightly better than the competing product gs65, but it can't open the gap. Everything has its own advantages. Is the price in terms of force majeure compared to the previous generation price increase, the average person can not afford

good quality except the frame on top

Submitted on Sunday, November 04, 2018
By michael
From richmond

Strengths of the product

thin great proformance easy to do open to upgrade ram and ssd

Weaknesses of the product

frame on top is easy to get Scratch

Additional Comments

overall this is a great laptop. you got everything you expect from it. but you better protect the surface.

Really great laptop if you take the time to tweak it

Submitted on Saturday, October 27, 2018
By Émile L-L
From Laval, QC

Strengths of the product

Great battery life Powerful hardware Nice build quality and design Upgradability Good trackpad (with the precision drivers)

Weaknesses of the product

Fingerprint magnet Mediocre speakers at best Needs a lot of tweaking out of the box

Additional Comments

I started by doing a fresh install of windows and the needed drivers (Smart Update does a good job with drivers) because the default windows install was pretty bad. Coming from a Macbook the trackpad felt a bit rough, but after installing the windows precisions drivers instead of the elan ones it feels almost as good as the macbook’s and I can use the laptop without a mouse comfortably. The laptop gets really hot while gaming so I wouldn’t recommend keeping it on your lap for a gaming session. The keyboard temperature does stay comfortable while gaming so it’s not a problem. The 144hz screen looks really great and feels really smooth in games. I really like the clicky feeling of the keys. The webcam placement is not great, but for the tiny bezels it’s worth it, and I don’t really use it that often. The available slots for another stick of ram and another M.2 ssd is really nice. I will definitely be putting another 16gb in it and maybe another ssd in the near future. It's a 4.5/5 for me. For the price the speakers really need to be better and the out of the box experience could be better.

Great Hardware, Needs Work Out of The Box

Submitted on Monday, September 24, 2018
By Aleks S.
From Edmonton, AB

Strengths of the product

High end 2018 graphics Sturdy build Small bezel, 144hz screen Tons of ports Easy to upgrade

Weaknesses of the product

Webcam placement Left shift key glows dim Double typing + some keys not registering Usb ports can be annoying to plug in Backlight bleed

Additional Comments

Picked this up after going through 3 faulty ASUS ROG STRIX SCAR Editions at another company. Out of the box the Aero 15x comes with an awful lot of bloatware and requires a bit of user work before it can operate like it should. Having said this, I am still very pleased with my purchase now that it's working as intended! Even though there is a bit of lower backlight bleed on the 144hz screen, games have never looked smoother and I have not had a critical issue with the device yet. The keyboard is alright, sometimes keys are inputted an extra time and my J key barely worked at first, but since making the laptop stable and breaking in the keyboard I have had less issues. As others have stated, the key things you need to do to make the laptop stable are: - Let windows fully update - Use SmartUpdate that comes loaded on the Aero to ensure you have the latest drivers. Not everything needs updating so look at driver numbers before installing. - Install the latest bios F05 using SmartUpdate - Using Nvidia.com, update to the latest GPU driver - Go to Intels website and use their update tool to identify and download driver updates to the iGPU, Wireless NIC and a few other things I can’t remember at the moment. The tool will highlight everything for you. If you're on the fence between this and the new Razer Blade 15, I would recommend this as a cheaper option if you are willing to put in a bit of work and accept some of these issues.

great for the price

Submitted on Saturday, September 15, 2018
By Sorin Balaj-Coroiu
From Port Coquitlam

Strengths of the product

high end, best graphics

Weaknesses of the product

Additional Comments

Very impressed, recommend it

A Thin Gaming Laptop Done Right.

Submitted on Saturday, August 25, 2018
By Rishabh K.
From Vancouver

Strengths of the product

The design in my opinion is phenomenal. Usually gaming laptops have a very obnoxious look to them, but the Aero has a very plain look which makes it appropriate to use in the workplace. Moreover, the thin bezels on the screen allow for a very enjoyable viewing experience. The screen has great colour accuracy, which paired with a 144 hz refresh rate makes the screen even more appealing. The viewing angles are also extremely good. The performance of this laptop is outstanding, I was playing Dark Souls 3 flawlessly at over 60 fps on Ultra settings with no hiccups what so ever. The keyboard is very good as well, I could easily type for hours on this machine. Moreover, the RGB back lighting on the keyboard is great, each key can be individually changed to the color of your liking giving you immense customizability. The battery on the Aero in my opinion is the most impressive feature of the laptop, for a thin gaming laptop it easily lasts 8 hours doing regular work.

Weaknesses of the product

The aero has few weaknesses however the biggest one in my opinion is the trackpad. The default ELAN drivers on the Aero make it annoying to use because of the lack of gestures and good precision tracking. Luckily, this can easily be fixed through installing windows precision drivers for the trackpad. Another issue with the Aero 15x is that it's a fingerprint magnet. Only after a day of using it I got finger prints over a lot of the laptop. Thankfully the fingerprints are easy to wipe off with a tissue. The device can also get very hot while gaming, so it should be placed on a table if you are going to be gaming. Finally, the camera placement on the Aero is very awkward. It has the 'up your nose' angle which can be an issue if you video chat very often.

Additional Comments

Overall however, the Aero 15x is a thin and light gaming laptop done right. It has very few faults and most of those faults do have workarounds. If you are looking to buy a thin and light gaming laptop, I'd say this is the best option.

Exceptional product, and in my opinion the best laptop ever made

Submitted on Friday, August 10, 2018
By Ethan S.
From Edmonton, Alberta

Strengths of the product

The Aero 15X v8 provides strong performance for it's slim form factor and lightweight build. I am constantly getting 100+ FPS on High in most games thanks to its GTX 1070 Max-Q GPU. The i7-8750H CPU keeps the experience fast and speedy from its high clock speeds, and allowing you to have many programs open at once due to packing 6 cores. The 94Wh battery is also a huge benefit for using it as a daily driver away from home, averaging around 7 hours and 30 minutes in mixed scenarios during my usage. This laptop also packs an amazing display, excellent picture quality overall. The touchpad and keyboard are also a pleasure to use.

Weaknesses of the product

Unfortunately this laptop has quite a bogged down version of Windows filled with lots of bloat. A notable issue from this is that I found myself running into stutters quite often, but updating the drivers for the iGPU past the recommended version for the laptop seemed to fix it.

Additional Comments

Gigabyte struck engineering gold with their new Aero 15X v8, thanks to the raw specs, desktop-like I/O, beautiful display, and satisfying keyboard/touchpad it packs under its unassuming, thin and lightweight hood. It has become my new go-to computer for both on-the-go and at home, replacing my high-end desktop due to how good this product is.

Perfect for Design Students

Submitted on Friday, August 10, 2018
By Benjamin L.
From Winnipeg

Strengths of the product

It has enough power all my gaming needs and enough ram and screen specs for my schooling all in one at a semi-reasonable price. The small weight and size are perfect for using at school.

Weaknesses of the product

It only has air flow on the bottom and by the screen. I would have preferred if it had more on the sides. I will be getting kickstands to elevate the angle for more air flow.

Additional Comments

Just got one and it is working fabulously. It's is the perfect laptop for digital media design course I am taking in fall! thanks, Memory express for installing my additional ram for me!

Fantastic hardware, questionable software

Submitted on Wednesday, August 08, 2018
By Sanford L
From Richmond

Strengths of the product

This laptop boasts everything I would ever want in a laptop. Powerful hardware, a fast IPS panel, and an all day battery life. With the 1070 Max-Q, it can run any game I throw at it at 1080p, at very high framerates. The battery life is fantastic, more than I could ever expect from a laptop with such hardware. The build quality is also quality, and I personally love the looks. The keyboard is excellent, with a good tactile response.

Weaknesses of the product

The stock Windows install is abysmal. Lots of bloatware and doesn't seem to run as smoothly as it should. Was better after a reinstall and updated drivers. The keyboard's right shift key doesn't have proper back lighting. Even after undervolting, the CPU still throttles when there is a GPU load, but this isn't a huge surprise given the form factor. Nvidia optimus still has its flaws, which causes the laptop to freeze for about 0.5 seconds every so often as it switches between Intel and Nvidia graphics. It is completely often and can occur just from opening a new tab on firefox. I don't know why I get random lock ups with this computer, I hope it will go away with time. The included Fusion software which controls the keyboard lighting is a huge CPU and memory hog, which frustrates me. Smart Manager isn't bad, I quite enjoy it, but you cannot remove its UI, which gets annoying.

Additional Comments

A fantastic laptop boasting amazing hardware. However, a windows reinstall is required if you want this laptop to run at its full capability. Driver updates are also necessary and undervolting the CPU is highly recommended. Get this laptop if you are willing to tinker around with it. I personally did not like the stock experience, however after tinkering around with it, it has become my laptop of choice.