AMD Ryzen™ 5 2600 Processor, 3.4GHz w/ 19MB Cache

MX71224 Ryzen™ 5 2600 Processor, 3.4GHz w/ 19MB Cache
MX71224 Ryzen™ 5 2600 Processor, 3.4GHz w/ 19MB Cache MX71224 Ryzen™ 5 2600 Processor, 3.4GHz w/ 19MB Cache

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 8 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
  • 1

If you are thinking I should buy a i5-8400 over a Ryzen 5 2600... don't do it

Submitted on Monday, April 15, 2019
By David Swanson
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

I purchased acouple of Ryzen 5 2600's last Sept in 2018. I kept going back and forth between the 2600, the 2600x, the i5-8400 and even the i7-8700. I watched so many reviews with so much data it just became confusing. I finally made my decision when the Ryzen 5 2600 went down in price. I use 3200mhz ram, M.2 hard drives, MSI pro carbon MB and a stock cooler. I did an overclock to 4,100mhz without any of my voltages being increased. I compared my builds as I try different speeds and parts. I'm happy to report that both my Ryzen 5 2600's test at the very high end in all the categories. (and yes my test numbers are higher than the i5-8400) This is such a pleasant surprise because all I did was a very simple bios overclock. The Ryzen 5 2600 is super snappy and a joy to game and surf with.

Weaknesses of the product

ROCK SOLID There are none in the 6 months I've been using them!

Additional Comments

I had not bought an AMD cpu since the Athlon Thunderbird 1400 and that was in 2001. I'm glad they stuck around because they have a winner here. At this point it seems to me AMD is trying to get there reputation back by selling their Ryzens at great prices. I'm without a doubt an AMD guy again, and it makes me happy that there is once again tough competition for Intel. The 3rd gen Ryzens will rock the world.

The Value King!

Submitted on Thursday, April 04, 2019
By Greg C
From Sherwood Park

Strengths of the product

Extremely powerful CPU considering its price point, especially when on sale. The value vs performance is too hard to pass up.

Weaknesses of the product

Haven't found any, didn't use stock cooler so can't comment on that.

Additional Comments

The value can't be beat, AMD is no longer behind Intel!

Best price/performance CPU

Submitted on Sunday, March 24, 2019
By Dacmyth
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Price Value Comes with a heatsink

Weaknesses of the product

none

Additional Comments

What a great value chip! I love it. I think I also won the silicon lottery. Running stable at 4.2Ghz with 1.38V, ~40C idle and ~70C under loads. Further and longer duration testing required to determine absolute stability but stable right now. Running with a DR Pro4 cooler.

WOW

Submitted on Thursday, January 24, 2019
By Tyler
From Winnipeg

Strengths of the product

Fast right out of the box. Includes Stock Air Cooler. Can be overclocked, no issues with Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 ram.

Weaknesses of the product

Bug in some software may report unusually high temperatures.

Additional Comments

This Processor is so gooood especially at its current sale pricing. Definitely a noticeable performance increase over my 7th Gen i5 and i7. The fact this CPU is so low in price but offers so much more in performance is definitely the best value you can get, "Best bang for buck". The additional Air cooler included along with a free game makes this so much more worth the switch from Intel. While the 2600x may over clock a little higher this CPU can almost match it, it simply beats Intels 7th gen hands down and is on par if not higher then Intels current stock. Get this CPU if you want to save some cash but not lose out on performance. Some monitoring software like HWmonitor or Speccy may report unusual high temps, this is just a bug in how they perceive AMD's Ryzen temperatures. Core Temp or Ryzen Master are pretty good for reporting actual temps. Also make sure you download from AMD the chipset drivers as they include a special Ryzen power plan setting since Windows balanced power plan settings may hinder Ryzen's performance.

Amazing CPU, better then Intel i5-8400

Submitted on Friday, November 02, 2018
By z
From Winnipeg

Strengths of the product

Fast, very fast in daily use. You can running so many things and CPU usage will be under 20%. Gaming is solid with this CPU and my GeForce 1060 3GB. Very cool CPU, the TEMP is very low. Im using Arctic Freezer 33 CO

Weaknesses of the product

none for the cost. I got mine on SALE.

Additional Comments

Excellent with Windows and Programs. Fast. Smooth. Very low Temp, doesn't get hot. Gaming is solid. Probably will be able to do gaming and streaming and CPU usage will be 30% . Amazing 6 cores CPU and great for heavy loads. Im even using the Stock setting, i never overclock. If you get it on sale you will be happy. This CPU is so fast with stock settings Non-OC and my GeForce 1060 with 3GB CAN'T handle the CPU anymore, i need Video Card upgrade now, something like Geforce 1070,1080 or 2070.

Solid chip for 1080p video encoding!

Submitted on Tuesday, July 24, 2018
By Josh
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Runs ridiculously fast when encoding 1080p footage (~85fps on Handbrake h.264 fast preset for 1080@30). That is primarily what I use it for as I do lot's of video production, but it is also great for running virtual machines. Temperatures are amazing even with the stock cooler; I did a stress test with Prime-95 and I got a max temp of 85*C on the stock cooler with very little noise.

Weaknesses of the product

Ubuntu 18.04 doesn't play nice with it, but I feel like that's more of an Ubuntu issue.

Additional Comments

Overall a very good chip. I can't provide any info on gaming because I don't use that computer for gaming (I have a separate one for that). Temperatures are great and it is a perfect budget workstation chip. I haven't encoded directly from Adobe Premiere Pro CC, I only encode with Handbrake on this chip (again, I have a separate rig for editing) but encode times are very fast.

I'm very happy with it.

Submitted on Friday, June 15, 2018
By Levi
From Aldersyde

Strengths of the product

It's a good processor and the fan is virtually silent. I can run CS-GO on highest settings and it won't drop a single frame.

Weaknesses of the product

So far, I haven't found any problems with it. I would highly recommend to anyone building a starter PC.

Additional Comments

I'm very happy with the product. The only thing I thought I should mention, is that it does not come with integrated graphics. Any sites you may find that say differently (like I did) are wrong, and you do need a separate graphics card in order for it to work properly.

not a big improvement on ryzen 1600

Submitted on Saturday, April 21, 2018
By eric b
From montreal canada

Strengths of the product

price performance

Weaknesses of the product

weak improvement compared to ryzen 1600

Additional Comments

this cpu performs very well in single and multi core operations and is sold at an affordable price. the problem with it is the fact the it is not a big improvement compared to the previous ryzen cpu. we could compare this 2600 to the 1600 and they are about the same. the 2600 is about 10% faster but with about the same specifications for about 10% higher price. it is not worth it to upgrade for the 2600 if you already own a 1600 or better. otherwise it is a good buy.
  • 1