Asus PCE-AC55BT B1 AC1200 Wireless PCI-E Network Card w/ Bluetooth v4.2

MX70036 PCE-AC55BT B1 AC1200 Wireless PCI-E Network Card w/ Bluetooth v4.2
MX70036 PCE-AC55BT B1 AC1200 Wireless PCI-E Network Card w/ Bluetooth v4.2 MX70036 PCE-AC55BT B1 AC1200 Wireless PCI-E Network Card w/ Bluetooth v4.2

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: 4.2 / 5 With 12 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
Tuesday, January 07, 2020
By: Brian
From: Cochrane

works great out of the box

Strengths:

Simple set up. Works out of the box.

Weaknesses:

N/A

Additional Comments:

It worked without installing drivers in Windows 10 Pro ver. 1909. I installed the latest drivers from ASUS anyways, and they worked too. Range is more than acceptable in my average 2 story where my router is upstairs and the wireless adapter is downstairs.
Monday, September 23, 2019
By: Benjamin
From: Calgary

Decent

Strengths:

Affordable, works well

Weaknesses:

Lasted 1.5 years No longer supported by ASUS

Additional Comments:

Bought it in September, 2017. It started having problems in March 2019. The error was "Default gateway unavailable" which the troubleshooter will fix right away, but not before you've already been disconnected. Googling the problem reveals that ASUS no longer supports this card, so it may be best to try a newer card.
Monday, August 05, 2019
By: Win
From: Edmonton

Works Great

Strengths:

- Strong performance - More affordable than many other alternatives

Weaknesses:

- Antenna is cheap feeling and overly light; easy to lose secure placement

Additional Comments:

Cheap way to add Wi-Fi to a PC. The antenna could have a magnetic base like ASUS's higher end adapters though, so those stick to your computer case at least. This one you got to zip tie to something or stick it so it doesn't go all over the place.
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
By: buzzzsaw
From: Creston BC

ASUS wireless adaptor

Strengths:

Well done Memory Express! 2 Day shipping, very impressed. This little adaptor was a breeze to install. I put it on an older Z77 motherboard for my daughter; she is moving out soon and needed her desktop to be wireless. Internet speed was fairly good. I have over 300Mbs download speeds on my internet, and this adaptor gets 175Mbs downloads on a 15ms Ping! That is pretty good for wireless, I think.

Weaknesses:

Antenna is not magnetic; it is very lightweight. I can see it being knocked over a lot, no big deal though...

Additional Comments:

A great choice for decent performance and easy installations - time will tell how long it lasts...
Friday, December 21, 2018
By: Ben
From: Calgary

Mr

Strengths:

It worked straight out of the box. I installed it into a machine running Linux (Ubuntu) Mint 19, and when I turned it on, it recognized and detected the card automatically and it worked fine. Bluetooth also shows up. Nice. Some wifi cards can be tricky to get working under linux, not this one.

Weaknesses:

It would be nice if the antenna cable was a little longer, but it works. Also, when I installed it, it was not obvious to me that the little cable included was meant to attach the card to a motherboard USB connection. There was no mention of this anywhere. At least a little sticker on the cable bag would have helped. I thought it was a power cable or something, I am guessing this is really pretty much a usb wifi stick mounted on a card, had I known that I may have gone for the cheaper asus usb wifi stick.

Additional Comments:

Great card, worked fine for me out of the box, including under linux.
Thursday, November 22, 2018
By: James P
From: Spruce Grove

Asus AC55BT Wi-Fi Adapter

Strengths:

Strong Signal strengths. Relatively easy installation. BT and 5GHz Using Intel Wi-Fi chipset for the NIC. Kind of nice to see that. I was expecting a Realtek Chip set.

Weaknesses:

The installation instructions were ok, not great. Only real strange thing was the requirement on an internal USB to get the BT adapter going. Cable was provided and pretty much connect to mother board and adapter. Windows 8.1 didn't like the hardware off the bat, but once the install drivers were loaded all was good.

Additional Comments:

I had used a nano USB adapter (Generic No Name). It connected to my Wi-Fi , but the connection was extremely slow. < 1 MB/ Second on my HS connection. Installed the ASUS PCE-AC55BT. Super fast download speeds that were pretty close to my hardwired connection. There are now way more Wi-Fi networks in range on both the 2.4G and 5 G band width. Very happy with the purchase. Good Bang for the Buck and would definitely buy again.
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
By: Josh
From: Edmonton

Works amazing, even for acreage wifi

Strengths:

Magnetic base can attach to the case and ensures it won't slide off.

Weaknesses:

Crappy ASUS software for setup

Additional Comments:

My girlfriend lives on an acreage and her wifi is not the strongest to begin with, but I put this in her gaming PC I built and online gaming has never had any issues whatsoever (other than Discord servers going down but that's not an issue for this). It's able to keep a solid connection, hasn't failed after two months as other people have said, and it just works.
Saturday, August 11, 2018
By: Dave
From: Calgary

Wireless network bluetooth

Strengths:

Highly recommend. Have had one about a year, no problems. Excellent transfer speeds. Almost as fast as having a lan cable plugged in.

Additional Comments:

Well worth the money. Best one on the market in my opinion.
Tuesday, July 17, 2018
By: Jeremy
From: Edmonton

ASUS Wireless Network Card

Strengths:

Works right out of the box on Ubuntu linux, no wrestling with drivers which is tight. I'm a floor above and across the house from my router, still getting just under 1.7Mbps

Weaknesses:

I don't dig having to find a spot for the antenna

Additional Comments:

Pretty good for the price.
Sunday, May 06, 2018
By: Rob
From: Edmonton

Only Lasted 2 Months

Strengths:

While working it worked reasonably well. - Speed was comparable to having ethernet plugged into modem. - Didn't lose connection a single time

Weaknesses:

The product only lasted 2 months. Now I have to make a warranty claim. Warranties with ASUS are ridiculous. ASUS not honouring warranties occurs so often that the Better Business Bureau has an alert about them. Many people report returning products to ASUS under warranty, then never getting anything back or getting back "refurbished" products that don't work. In 2016, ASUS had to make a settlement with the U.S. Federal Trade Commission over product problems.