Asus PCE-AC55BT B1 AC1200 Wireless PCI-E Network Card w/ Bluetooth v4.2

MX70036 PCE-AC55BT B1 AC1200 Wireless PCI-E Network Card w/ Bluetooth v4.2
MX70036 PCE-AC55BT B1 AC1200 Wireless PCI-E Network Card w/ Bluetooth v4.2 MX70036 PCE-AC55BT B1 AC1200 Wireless PCI-E Network Card w/ Bluetooth v4.2

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 12 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission

works great out of the box

Submitted on Tuesday, January 07, 2020
By Brian
From Cochrane

Strengths of the product

Simple set up. Works out of the box.

Weaknesses of the product

N/A

Additional Comments

It worked without installing drivers in Windows 10 Pro ver. 1909. I installed the latest drivers from ASUS anyways, and they worked too. Range is more than acceptable in my average 2 story where my router is upstairs and the wireless adapter is downstairs.

Decent

Submitted on Monday, September 23, 2019
By Benjamin
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Affordable, works well

Weaknesses of the product

Lasted 1.5 years No longer supported by ASUS

Additional Comments

Bought it in September, 2017. It started having problems in March 2019. The error was "Default gateway unavailable" which the troubleshooter will fix right away, but not before you've already been disconnected. Googling the problem reveals that ASUS no longer supports this card, so it may be best to try a newer card.

Works Great

Submitted on Monday, August 05, 2019
By Win
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

- Strong performance - More affordable than many other alternatives

Weaknesses of the product

- Antenna is cheap feeling and overly light; easy to lose secure placement

Additional Comments

Cheap way to add Wi-Fi to a PC. The antenna could have a magnetic base like ASUS's higher end adapters though, so those stick to your computer case at least. This one you got to zip tie to something or stick it so it doesn't go all over the place.

ASUS wireless adaptor

Submitted on Wednesday, June 26, 2019
By buzzzsaw
From Creston BC

Strengths of the product

Well done Memory Express! 2 Day shipping, very impressed. This little adaptor was a breeze to install. I put it on an older Z77 motherboard for my daughter; she is moving out soon and needed her desktop to be wireless. Internet speed was fairly good. I have over 300Mbs download speeds on my internet, and this adaptor gets 175Mbs downloads on a 15ms Ping! That is pretty good for wireless, I think.

Weaknesses of the product

Antenna is not magnetic; it is very lightweight. I can see it being knocked over a lot, no big deal though...

Additional Comments

A great choice for decent performance and easy installations - time will tell how long it lasts...
Submitted on Friday, December 21, 2018
By Ben
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

It worked straight out of the box. I installed it into a machine running Linux (Ubuntu) Mint 19, and when I turned it on, it recognized and detected the card automatically and it worked fine. Bluetooth also shows up. Nice. Some wifi cards can be tricky to get working under linux, not this one.

Weaknesses of the product

It would be nice if the antenna cable was a little longer, but it works. Also, when I installed it, it was not obvious to me that the little cable included was meant to attach the card to a motherboard USB connection. There was no mention of this anywhere. At least a little sticker on the cable bag would have helped. I thought it was a power cable or something, I am guessing this is really pretty much a usb wifi stick mounted on a card, had I known that I may have gone for the cheaper asus usb wifi stick.

Additional Comments

Great card, worked fine for me out of the box, including under linux.

Asus AC55BT Wi-Fi Adapter

Submitted on Thursday, November 22, 2018
By James P
From Spruce Grove

Strengths of the product

Strong Signal strengths. Relatively easy installation. BT and 5GHz Using Intel Wi-Fi chipset for the NIC. Kind of nice to see that. I was expecting a Realtek Chip set.

Weaknesses of the product

The installation instructions were ok, not great. Only real strange thing was the requirement on an internal USB to get the BT adapter going. Cable was provided and pretty much connect to mother board and adapter. Windows 8.1 didn't like the hardware off the bat, but once the install drivers were loaded all was good.

Additional Comments

I had used a nano USB adapter (Generic No Name). It connected to my Wi-Fi , but the connection was extremely slow. < 1 MB/ Second on my HS connection. Installed the ASUS PCE-AC55BT. Super fast download speeds that were pretty close to my hardwired connection. There are now way more Wi-Fi networks in range on both the 2.4G and 5 G band width. Very happy with the purchase. Good Bang for the Buck and would definitely buy again.

Works amazing, even for acreage wifi

Submitted on Wednesday, November 14, 2018
By Josh
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Magnetic base can attach to the case and ensures it won't slide off.

Weaknesses of the product

Crappy ASUS software for setup

Additional Comments

My girlfriend lives on an acreage and her wifi is not the strongest to begin with, but I put this in her gaming PC I built and online gaming has never had any issues whatsoever (other than Discord servers going down but that's not an issue for this). It's able to keep a solid connection, hasn't failed after two months as other people have said, and it just works.

Wireless network bluetooth

Submitted on Saturday, August 11, 2018
By Dave
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Highly recommend. Have had one about a year, no problems. Excellent transfer speeds. Almost as fast as having a lan cable plugged in.

Weaknesses of the product

Additional Comments

Well worth the money. Best one on the market in my opinion.

ASUS Wireless Network Card

Submitted on Tuesday, July 17, 2018
By Jeremy
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Works right out of the box on Ubuntu linux, no wrestling with drivers which is tight. I'm a floor above and across the house from my router, still getting just under 1.7Mbps

Weaknesses of the product

I don't dig having to find a spot for the antenna

Additional Comments

Pretty good for the price.

Only Lasted 2 Months

Submitted on Sunday, May 06, 2018
By Rob
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

While working it worked reasonably well. - Speed was comparable to having ethernet plugged into modem. - Didn't lose connection a single time

Weaknesses of the product

The product only lasted 2 months. Now I have to make a warranty claim. Warranties with ASUS are ridiculous. ASUS not honouring warranties occurs so often that the Better Business Bureau has an alert about them. Many people report returning products to ASUS under warranty, then never getting anything back or getting back "refurbished" products that don't work. In 2016, ASUS had to make a settlement with the U.S. Federal Trade Commission over product problems.

Additional Comments