Seagate 4TB BarraCuda HDD, SATA III w/ 256MB Cache

MX68876 4TB BarraCuda HDD, SATA III w/ 256MB Cache
MX68876 4TB BarraCuda HDD, SATA III w/ 256MB Cache

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: 2.9 / 5 With 14 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
Friday, May 21, 2021
By: Neal
From: EDMONTON

Great value HDD

Strengths:

Low Price, Large Capacity Available,

Weaknesses:

a 5400 RPM drive as listed so not so good for OS or gaming but fine for media storage.

Additional Comments:

A great value drive. I have 2 one for storage and the other as backup.
Friday, April 2, 2021
By: Kyle Lafontaine
From: Ottawa

Store was gravely unaware

Strengths:

4TB Cheap

Weaknesses:

SMR

Additional Comments:

Had to replace a drive so I went to Memory Express and asked for their cheapest non-SMR drive. Was given this drive and assured it was not an SMR drive. It's an SMR drive. I noticed there were issues with it after getting it cloned and set up and have now misplaced the receipt. I don't think I'll be going back to the Ottawa location again and will just stick with Canada Computers.
Tuesday, March 23, 2021
By: George
From: Calgary

Do not buy it

Strengths:

Large capacity

Weaknesses:

I have been using this product for two years. Bought it on sale for the purpose of having a backup drive for my important files, which this drive fails miserably. A large amount of the files I have copied over to this drive become corrupted with no particular reasons. Pictures that are fine on the original hard drive become non-openable or completely black on the Seagate Barracuda. In some cases when I copied over folders from my primary drive into this one for archiving purposes, do not even show up an hour later. A warning: If you have a Windows 7 OS, this drive will only show up as 2TB capacity, which can be fixed with a bit of hassle. But even after that it will be randomly recognized by the OS and sometimes not.

Additional Comments:

All in all, this drive is unpredictable and unreliable for archiving or file back-up purposes. Buy something else.
Friday, March 12, 2021
By: Francesco Pisani
From: Calgary

Big Drive, Small Price, Slow Speed

Strengths:

Our digital media collection has grown to fill up our old 1 TB drive, so this was a needed upgrade. Picked up this 4 TB on sale for $99.99. Can't beat the price for this size.

Weaknesses:

It's only 5400 rpm and it is shingled sectors. Since our usage will be for writing data once and leaving it there forever, this drive is suitable for this. Our home network speed is only 100 Mbps, and this drive has a hard time keeping up with it.

Additional Comments:

Good drive for long-term storage. DO NOT use this drive to actually do any kind of work, it is way too slow for that. A potato can spin faster than this.
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
By: Andrew
From: Edmonton

Avoid, it is an SMR drive! You can do better.

Strengths:

Thin drive.

Weaknesses:

Warning - this is an SMR drive. All Seagate BarraCuda Compute drives except the 1TB are. There are no use cases where this is better than an equivalent CMR drive, and in many cases it is worse, possibly much worse. Get the WD Blue 4TB instead which is CMR, and at the time this is written, the WD is also less expensive! Google SMR vs CMR.

Additional Comments:

Do NOT buy this drive unless you understand what you are getting. This SMR drive will start out normal, but as it fills up and data gets overwritten, it will slow. Get the WD Blue 4TB instead which doesn't have this issue. It is disappointing that the cost savings of SMR drives are not being passed on to consumers.
Wednesday, January 1, 2020
By: Anthony
From: Edmonton

Incredible as always

Strengths:

I've been using Seagate for decades and the pros are reliability, cost to performance/capacity and knowing your data is safe. There are a lot of people using their HDD's like a frisbee or traveling with a disk drive. Back in the 80's and 90's when this was the ONLY option I NEVER traveled with a disk drive. A terrible idea. Too risky. But hd's should be stationary and treated with respect. My 4TB Seagate HDD is now 5 years old and flawless. Zero issues and I will trust it for another 5 years. This is my 20th Seagate HDD and I will buy another 40 throughout my life I'm sure.

Weaknesses:

In decades of using Seagate the only weakness is when a consumer thinks a disk drive is a portable product and the platter loses it's place and the drive fails to read/write or clicking begins to notify the drive is on it's way out. But that is the user's fault.

Additional Comments:

I ONLY buy Seagate for disk drives for the hundreds of people I look after for their computer needs and will continue ONLY suggesting using Seagate. Samsung for SSD. I also suggest to those who have failed their Seagate drives to make sure their chassis are properly grounded and that their PSU's aren't old and on its last leg.
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
By: Curtis
From: Edmonton

Works good for home server

Strengths:

Works good in a 4U server as part of a ZFS pool.

Additional Comments:

Works great so far! Have a number of these are they all work after several months.
Saturday, July 6, 2019
By: Daren
From: New Westminster, BC

Unreliable - died within a year under very light loading.

Strengths:

Reasonably quick sustained read/write for an HDD.

Weaknesses:

Unreliable, died within the first year under very light use-case, as a backup-only drive.

Additional Comments:

Would not recommend, due to very short life-span. Drive death was instantaneous, and was rendered completely unreadable. No early warning signs of symptoms.
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
By: Jason
From: Calgary

Died after 1 year

Strengths:

Works for at least a year

Weaknesses:

Died after a year of lite usage (back storage)

Additional Comments:

Garbage, stopped working after only 1 year of lite usage
Monday, January 14, 2019
By: Dave Branch
From: Calgary Northeast

Didn't last long

Additional Comments:

It worked fine for about 3 months until it didn't. I bought it before there were any reviews. Seagate lets me down again. I don't know about getting IPR for drives anymore, I don't want to hand it back, I want to see it destroyed.