Western Digital Blue Series 3D NAND SATA III 2.5in Solid State Drive, 500GB

MX68857 Blue Series 3D NAND SATA III 2.5in Solid State Drive, 500GB
MX68857 Blue Series 3D NAND SATA III 2.5in Solid State Drive, 500GB MX68857 Blue Series 3D NAND SATA III 2.5in Solid State Drive, 500GB MX68857 Blue Series 3D NAND SATA III 2.5in Solid State Drive, 500GB

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: 4.0 / 5 With 11 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
Wednesday, July 08, 2020
By: Pete
From: Canmore

Reliable. Low Power Consumption.

Strengths:

- Western Digital brand name - Low power consumption compared to traditional platter hard drive - Reliable

Additional Comments:

Good hard drive for the price when on sale. Mechanical hard drives fail, solid state drives (over the same period of time), do not fail. I have a few of these hard drives and I haven't had any issues whatsoever.
Monday, March 09, 2020
By: cory
From: edmonton

disappointing

Weaknesses:

Price, faulty product

Additional Comments:

What a piece of junk. Bought this and had it for about 2 months then CPU wouldn't read it. I tried everything and found out it was a fatal error...nothing I could do.....all files on WD SSD gone! Will stay away from this company in future.
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
By: Brad
From: Calgary

Works great until it doesn't

Strengths:

Installing this drive turned my ageing lap top into a like new machine, with a fresh install of Windows 10. Great bang for the buck.

Weaknesses:

Then one day, when it was most needed, the lap top just stopped seeing the drive. Did the requisite troubleshooting still no joy. This drive is heading back to WD for a RMA.

Additional Comments:

Worked great for 4 months, then just died altogether.
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
By: Bill
From: Winnipeg

IT Manager

Strengths:

My main desktop was starting to REALLY slow down after 4 years, starting as Windows 8.1 and upgraded to 10 along the way. Boot times were in excess of 7 minutes until fully usable. I put this drive in, cloned it within an hour with WD Acronis (free from WD) and WOW!! I am fully booted and ready to rock in about 45 seconds and everything is snappy and responsive. $85 VERY well spent!!

Weaknesses:

None whatsoever.

Additional Comments:

One thing I noticed while trying to do a clone on a laptop is to make sure you know whether the BIOS supports GPT or MBR. I cloned the laptop with GPT and it won't even boot. Had to dump the drive, reinitialize with MBR and now it works perfectly. Hopefully that tidbit saves someone an hour or so of time.
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
By: Ben
From: CALGARY

Excellent for speeding up an older laptop

Strengths:

My wife's laptop was beginning to crawl under Windows 10. So I got one of these SSD drives, and used Clonezilla to clone the old drive to this SSD drive (that took about 25 min using another machine). I installed it into the laptop, and it worked fine, exactly like the old drive, except significantly faster. The systems starts up much faster than before and is significantly more responsive. The machine is usable again thanks to this drive.

Additional Comments:

So this drive makes an excellent upgrade for an existing slow laptop. I would recommend it to anyone. I usually get Samsung as maybe they have a better reputation, but I have had no problems with this one and in general it has similar ratings if you look at multiple sites.
Saturday, December 15, 2018
By: Allan
From: Winnipeg

Computer cannot find the ssd after I’ve formatted it

Strengths:

Haven’t been able to use it.

Weaknesses:

When trying to install windows 10. My computer hasn’t been able to find the ssd even after partitioning it and formatting. Somehow my monitor isn’t working.
Monday, October 29, 2018
By: Win
From: Edmonton

Good value

Additional Comments:

Best $110 you can spend to make a quick little PC. Used this for a new semi-budget PC build in the office for administrative work (payroll, word, excel, light CAD work, Photoshop, etc.). HDTune and other tester software measures this drive at 370MB/s, despite running multiple tests. Still quick enough for what I bought it for anyway. The Samsung 500GB units used to be my drives of choice until they decided to take a jump in price. Now I will be going to these.
Wednesday, August 29, 2018
By: Don
From: Edmonton

IT Consultant

Strengths:

Fast and reliable so far. Same performance as the Samsung's and cheaper.

Weaknesses:

The cloning software needs a patch in order to see it in an external enclosure (laptops). It also reboots into a partition in order to clone and has multiple problems doing it. All you need to clone the Samsung and Intel versions is to install the software and clone.

Additional Comments:

I'd stick to the Samsung or Intel versions, unless you are technically proficient or have time to kill.
Monday, April 02, 2018
By: Arthur
From: Calgary

WD Blue Series 500GB SSD

Strengths:

Fast, reliable, and great per GB cost, performance is similar to Samsung SSD's

Weaknesses:

None

Additional Comments:

I bought this SSD back in March of 2017 and it has been running on my desktop flawlessly since. Performance seems to be on par with the Samsung SSD i have installed on my other system with similar specs but cost is slightly cheaper. I see that as of 4/2/2018 the price is down, I would high recommend getting this drive when shopping for a SSD.
Monday, March 19, 2018
By: Tom
From: Calgary

Would also buy it again

Strengths:

This is the second one of these I have bought. One for my 17 inch MacBook Pro and one for my 13 inch MacBook Pro. The one in the 17 inch machine has been in for at least 2 years and 0 problems. The 13 was basically an install and it worked. No issues at all.

Additional Comments:

Great drive, works perfectly. Big difference to performance of machine.