Asus RT-AC86U AC2900 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router

MX68383 RT-AC86U AC2900 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router
MX68383 RT-AC86U AC2900 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router MX68383 RT-AC86U AC2900 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router MX68383 RT-AC86U AC2900 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: 3.1 / 5 With 8 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
  • 1
Sunday, August 02, 2020
By: Quinn
From: Calgary

Solid.

Strengths:

Quite fast, good range, relatively easy to use and setup.

Weaknesses:

Haven't found any yet.

Additional Comments:

Does what it should, and does it well. If you have an Astro A50 wireless headset the default channels for the wifi will interfere. Here is a screenshot with the correct channels. I wouldn't at all blame Asus for this annoyance and tbf it was easy to fix.
Sunday, June 28, 2020
By: Steve
From: Winnipeg

Don't believe the bad reviews

Strengths:

This is the direct replacement for the RT-AC68U which was one the best routers our there for many years. I run both the AC68U and the AC86U, and they work very well together. These routers also have matured firmware, so you aren't going to be the victim of 'bleeding edge' firmware problems that plague the majority of high end routers. As with any router, there's bound lemons, but overall this is a more than capable quality router.

Weaknesses:

None

Additional Comments:

I flashed mine with custom Merlin firmware and installed my VPN software directly to the router. Now its a dedicated VPN router. This router offers best bang for the buck performance and reliability If you can get this router cheap enough, don't hesitate buying it. If you're worried about potentially getting a lemon, buy IPR and never look back. Instant product replacement is more than a warranty or insurance, its reliability assurance.
Sunday, June 14, 2020
By: Steve
From: Edmonton

Garbage

Strengths:

I had one replaced - it took 3 months to show up after shipping it to ASUS and they deemed it non-repairable. I had an old spare that got me through. The replacement is unreliable.

Weaknesses:

It works then it drops then it works then it drops be it wired, 2.4 or 5

Additional Comments:

Look Elsewhere.
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
By: Brent Rogers
From: Calgary

Not usable with Google Home devices

Weaknesses:

First one I got nothing would connect to the wireless. Second one phone, tablet, wireless and wired desktops, and laptops connected with excellent speed through most of the house. However, I could not get my Google Home's or Chromecastes to connect at all.

Additional Comments:

Find for normal devices, but unusable for IoT devices.
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
By: Marty889
From: Calgary, AB

Great router

Strengths:

I had an older wireless router that was dying a slow death. I finally had enough and decided to get this, even though it was more money than I was initially looking at. I am so happy I did. It works throughout my entire house, and I no longer have to use a Wifi repeater anymore.

Additional Comments:

It handles all of the wired network connections, including one running to my Plex server great. And we can have several devices now connected all running smoothly. It's one of those things that I should have picked this up earlier.
Wednesday, April 01, 2020
By: Peter
From: Calgary, Alberta

I thought it was good, until I bought a Netgear (Orbing Mesh)...

Strengths:

Stays up consistently (but the Netgear is still better on this front too) Better than my older AirPort Extreme USB port for NAS like services

Weaknesses:

Speed, it simply is not reliable for speed both wired and wireless

Additional Comments:

I decided for the new house, after finding the first router to be disappointing, to try a mesh router system there. I did the research which had me settle on the Netgear Orbi RBK50. After the installation that included performance testing room by room with the older and the Netgear system I was really impressed by the speed. That house and the older house are both being serviced with 300Mb service and are configured with the provider modem set into bridge mode and then connected right to the router. The new house, Netgear, gave me over 300Mbps consistently! More over, after a few months of operation (no restarts) it continues to run at +300Mbps. Then I decided to test the performance of the Asus and was surprised that I was only getting ~90Mbps almost everywhere. I restarted the unit and BOOM, I got +300Mbps. Days later, down to 90 again. Restarted, still at 90ish, or less. The really sad part is that I am getting that performance both wireless and wired at the router. I then tested the ISP modem, 330Mbps so they are not the culprit. Two start, one because it works and another because it has NAS capability.
Friday, December 06, 2019
By: John .S.
From: Edmonton

NOT WORT IT...

Strengths:

Looks Great

Weaknesses:

Well where do we start... Wireless connection issues.. Right off the bat for the 1st hour works great then the 2.4 & 5GHz bands both decide not to work Drops connection... Always have to reboot

Additional Comments:

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY... Buy something else....
Tuesday, March 05, 2019
By: John
From: Edmonton

RT AC86U

Strengths:

Im a bit of a router junkie. Bought this as a media bridge and as a backup to my AiMesh system. Wireless backups of Macs and PC's are flawless to connected HDD to this unit in bridge mode. Form factor is perfect for where it is stored

Weaknesses:

None.

Additional Comments:

Get in on sale and you won't be disappointed.
  • 1