Intel Core™ i7-8700K Processor, 3.7GHz w/ 12MB Cache

MX68284 Core™ i7-8700K Processor, 3.7GHz w/ 12MB Cache
MX68284 Core™ i7-8700K Processor, 3.7GHz w/ 12MB Cache MX68284 Core™ i7-8700K Processor, 3.7GHz w/ 12MB Cache MX68284 Core™ i7-8700K Processor, 3.7GHz w/ 12MB Cache MX68284 Core™ i7-8700K Processor, 3.7GHz w/ 12MB Cache

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 9 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
  • 1

Good CPU

Submitted on Saturday, November 03, 2018
By Bruce
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Fast! PC gamers will have peace of mind owning this chip i waited a year and even waited for 9th gen. Seeing the results i decided 8th gen was for me.

Weaknesses of the product

This would less like hot cakes if the price was 400 dollars. Getting call of duty black ops 4 was kinda of annoying to obtain.

Additional Comments

I went from a i7 2600k to ryzen 7 1700. That was a huge leap but i was not happy with the ryzen chip for gaming. I decided to go back to intel and i have not regretted it. PC gamers know intel is made for gaming.

Current gen gaming champion

Submitted on Wednesday, August 15, 2018
By Collin
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Best of the best in terms of gaming as of this review writing. I have this CPU on a ROG Maximus X Code paired to a ROG Strix GTX 1080Ti and run 3,440 x 1,440 resolution on a ROG PG348Q.

Weaknesses of the product

Thermals. Not as good an overclocker as reviews led to believe. With the stock TIM mine hit a brick wall at 4.9GHz, requiring more voltage than the stock TIM Intel uses between the die and IHS. I didn't even have mine for a week before I ordered a delidding tool. When I got the IHS off, the TIM on the die was crusty and mostly solidified.

Additional Comments

Delidding and using liquid metal between the die and IHS dropped my temperatures 25°C at 4.9GHz and allowed me to up it a little further to 5.0GHz. Considering the state of the TIM when I delidded mine, I would hate to see what it would look like after a year or two in a system.

Awesome Product

Submitted on Monday, April 30, 2018
By burning_Sage
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

I jumped from 4 cores to 6 Cores / 12 threads (virtual cores included) This product is awesome. I found no need to overclock so the processor doesn't heat up with a Hype 212 Evo

Weaknesses of the product

I had to buy a new power supply. At first everything worked until I ran Unreal Engine. So for best performance, save yourself time and upgrade to a 750w PSU.

Additional Comments

I love this Intel product. Remember, cheap is expensive. Go for the best and you will last a long time.

Core™ i7-8700K

Submitted on Friday, April 27, 2018
By Kirby House
From Steinbach Manitoba

Strengths of the product

ummmm 8th Gen Core™ i7-8700K 3.7GHz 6 Cores / 12 Threads, 12MB Cache

Weaknesses of the product

I don't overclock, so heat is not an issue. If I wanted more powerful I'd start with more powerful. I pay what I can afford to get the best I can afford. I guess the fact that its Overclock able is nice I just don't do it. Keeps the temps down :)

Additional Comments

Watched many MANY benchmark comparison videos from testers I trust and this seemed like a great option. So far it seems to run all my games like they are nothing and the speed of my desktop tasks are ridiculous. Again Memory Express having stock of what I read / watched reviews on as being a great product. "Hey I made my Proc go way faster than it was intended and now its hot. How come?" lol

Solid chip after overclocking, but runs hot.

Submitted on Monday, December 11, 2017
By Grant
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

-Beast single core chip, especially with an overclock. I have mine running 4.9GHz at around 1.296Vdc without tuning it lower yet, and can run it stable at 5.0GHz around 1.35Vdc. Your results definitely may vary. -6 cores over the previous generation's 4.

Weaknesses of the product

-Very poorly regulated thermals; spikes up to 5 ~ 15° C over your stable temps for a second, which may result in thermal throttling. This is due to a paste based TIM rather than solder being used as the interface between the CPU and metal plate (or IHS) on the chip. -More expensive than the initial launch of the 6700K & 7700K, both when it comes to the chip and motherboard selection.

Additional Comments

While this thing overclocks quite well and is on par with the 7700K with 2 additional cores, it runs pretty hot and is susceptible to temperature spikes. When running AIDA64 and ASUS' Realbench to test for stability, with an NH-D15 running with 2 fans at stock, NT-H1 compound, and loads of fans strapped to my case @ ~20° C ambient, my cores got to around 70 ~ 75° C stable, with spikes up to 80 ~ 85° C depending on the test. Given these are stress tests, normal operation won't be this hot...

Great performance, runs hot.

Submitted on Monday, November 27, 2017
By Tyler
From Winnipeg

Strengths of the product

-Fastest single core performance available -Overclocks well -Crushes an i7 3930K / 5930K with ease

Weaknesses of the product

These are not cool CPU's. People are listing low idle temps like it's a big deal. Even at stock clocks with a decent liquid cooler, expect 65 ~ 70° C under stress. Start throwing more voltage at it while overclocking past 4.6Ghz and even good liquid coolers will jump into the upper 70s ~ 80s. This is caused by Intel using poor TIM rather than soldering the heat spreader. Delliding solves the problem, but voids warranty...

Additional Comments

It's performance is stellar, but it loses a point for Intel cheaping out with TIM. Get a good cooler. If you want to OC into the 4.8 ~ 5.0Ghz area, get a VERY good cooler.

Fast and Hot

Submitted on Sunday, November 26, 2017
By Chris
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Blistering fast

Weaknesses of the product

Runs HOT - thank Intel for their IHS design with sub-par TIM paste between die and shroud. My friend and I found that some must have worse application than others. At stock clock, I had two cores running 20° C consistently hotter than the rest, my chip would register 95° C when stressed tested, his would hit 80° C consistently across all cores, both running 280mm AIOs. Launch availability, but this doesn't seem to be as much of an issue now

Additional Comments

Well-worth upgrade from my existing 2600k when gaming on a GTX 1070. It is quite unfortunate that Intel turns some enthusiasts into voiding their warrantiy in order to control temperatures and achieve their overclocking goals.

i7-8700K Processor Heaven

Submitted on Wednesday, November 15, 2017
By Grant
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Fast running 6 core processor at cool temperatures (25 C with fans on and 30 C with pump only) Use it mainly for photography that has handled the processing with ease.

Weaknesses of the product

None except maybe availability at launch.

Additional Comments

Running this processor on a Gigabyte Z370XP SLI motherboard, Plextor NVMe, Kingston HyperX Memory and SSD drives all cooled by a Corsair H100i v2. Have not been more pleased with a systems and it performance.

i7-8700K Processor

Submitted on Wednesday, November 01, 2017
By Nathan
From Blackfalds

Strengths of the product

Runs decent temps with Cooler Master Seidon with a push pull silencio fp 120 pwm fans stock clocked getting 24° C.

Weaknesses of the product

None

Additional Comments

Great CPU
  • 1