Seagate 2TB FireCuda 2.5in SSHD SATA III w/ 8GB Nand Flash, 128MB Cache

MX65926 2TB FireCuda 2.5in SSHD SATA III w/ 8GB Nand Flash, 128MB Cache
MX65926 2TB FireCuda 2.5in SSHD SATA III w/ 8GB Nand Flash, 128MB Cache MX65926 2TB FireCuda 2.5in SSHD SATA III w/ 8GB Nand Flash, 128MB Cache MX65926 2TB FireCuda 2.5in SSHD SATA III w/ 8GB Nand Flash, 128MB Cache

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 10 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
  • 1

Great drive for short term, temporary storage of data

Submitted on Saturday, October 12, 2019
By Ashley
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

For data stored in the cache, fast transfers and low access times. It's slim, and quiet

Weaknesses of the product

Your data will corrupt eventually Drive died and wouldn't show up in the bios after an unexpected shutdown. Unreliable

Additional Comments

I've always loved Seagate drives, and have had a lot with only a few failures. This drive was initially installed in a PS4 Pro. It would start out fast, then slow down, eventually corrupting the data until you had to rebuild the database. Eventually swapped drive for a non SSHD drive, and installed this drive in my laptop alongside a mSATA SSD. Windows would require frequent CHKDSK and find corrupt files. Almost every time I opened steam it would have to repair game files. Eventually I had a unexpected poweroff and the drive will no longer even show in the BIOS. It's a great drive when it works. However in my experience on multiple platforms and OSes, it is very unreliable. Ensure any data sotred on it is thoroughly backed up, and be prepared to format it and restore the data every couple of months. Stick with the 9.5mm 2TB non-SSHD drives. Basically the same speed and super reliable.

Fast drive, but get the extended warranty

Submitted on Thursday, September 26, 2019
By Brad
From Leduc

Strengths of the product

I have both the 2.5" and the 3.5" version of this drive in two different gaming systems as the secondary drive (primary is SSD). In experimenting with these drives I found that they can be problematic as a system drive in Windows with certain system setups where it will result in 100% drive access/usage almost all the time. When I added an SSD as the system disk and changed this FireCuda to be the secondary files disk for game files the system was MUCH happier with normal drive access/usage. The FireCuda drives load games much faster than a normal Barracuda or WD Blue drive.

Weaknesses of the product

I've owned 2 of the 2.5" versions of this drive. The first one failed around the 1 year mark, but that one endured a period of the 100% drive usage that probably drastically reduced it's life expectancy. The second drive still sees daily gaming after 3 years, and is starting to throw increasing failed sector errors. I'm now outside the warranty window, but I will probably get another FireCuda to when my current one dies.

Additional Comments

These are a great upgrade from a standard hard drive, but I would not recommend it as a system disk, and good backup practices of essential files are always important. I would also highly recommend getting the extended IPR warranty from ME as it will make any warranty issues as painless as possible.

Great drives...

Submitted on Wednesday, April 03, 2019
By Joe
From Winnipeg

Strengths of the product

Put one in my PS4 Pro a year ago and it's been absolutely rock solid and reliable.

Weaknesses of the product

Additional Comments

Highly recommended!

Great drive, failure rates are exaggerated.

Submitted on Tuesday, October 09, 2018
By Mike
From Winnipeg

Strengths of the product

Massive reduction in load times on frequently accessed data, great for gaming if you have a "main" game that is texture heavy such as Ghost Recon, or if your OS is on this drive and not on a standalone SSD.

Weaknesses of the product

Typical HDD access speeds for content not in the SSD section, you may find content get cycled out of this space if you are not using that content frequently.

Additional Comments

Drive works great, performs great when content cycled into SSD space. Owned one since launch, no issues to report.

High Failure Rate

Submitted on Tuesday, October 09, 2018
By Derek
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Fast

Weaknesses of the product

Bad Drives! Don't last long.

Additional Comments

Had one in my PS4 and it lasted less than a year. About 7 weeks before it died my games started to stutter. Save your money and time and buy a true ssd, so don't have to reinstall a new drive and download your games again.

Yikes!

Submitted on Friday, August 03, 2018
By Tim
From Winnipeg

Strengths of the product

Initial price per GB

Weaknesses of the product

Ultimate price you pay (total loss of all your data)

Additional Comments

These units have extremely poor quality NAND and cache controllers. NAND failures on all within weeks of purchase and when they go they take the entire 1TB physical disk offline with them by either slowly writing corrupted data over all your files or just corrupting the entire volume structure rendering your data unreadable.

Official Reply from Memory Express:

Tim we appreciate the time you took to review your Seagate 2TB HDD. However, we feel that "NAND failures on all within weeks of purchase" is an untrue statement for the 700+ of these 2TB drives we have sold to customers since their arrival.

This is the 5th review for this 2TB drive on our site. Each review does talk about drive failure, and that looks bad at first, but knowing we have sold over 700 of these drives. This works out to a 1 or 2% failure rate which is low for any Hard Drive from any Manufacturer.

It would be a different issue if this was the 5th bad review on a slow moving item like a $2,000 Gaming Monitor and we had only sold 10 of them...

In your case, if your drive failed within "weeks of purchase", please take it back to your local MemX Store in Winnipeg, for our traditional 30 Day DOA Return. If you purchased IPR with that drive, the process is even easier; for the lifetime of your IPR coverage...



Bad drives

Submitted on Monday, June 25, 2018
By Terence
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

price

Weaknesses of the product

2 of 2 dead after very little use. seems a common problem, steer clear of these POS drives!

Additional Comments

don't buy, you will lose data and regret it!

Short lifespan and no significant benefits

Submitted on Sunday, May 20, 2018
By Steve
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

The price

Weaknesses of the product

Died within 8 months after purchase. I was using it in my PS4 Pro after switching from a Samsung Spinpoint (which still works). There was no significant speed boosts in load times during games and the PS4's UI on the homescreen became more sluggish after switching to this drive. The drive also seemed to go into a resting state every few minutes, which slowed the console down even more.

Additional Comments

I would not recommend the Firecuda at all due to its short lifespan and lackluster performance. Either go with a regular HDD or spend a bit more on an actual SSD (which is what I ended up doing).

bad quality and low reliability of this device

Submitted on Sunday, February 11, 2018
By Oleg Gritsev
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

good price for SSHD drive fast speed, like, for hard drives

Weaknesses of the product

usually, stop working after 3-4 month. in my case from 10 drives - 3 stopped working in 4 months. Some time problem with Hybrid on this hard drive. some files can disappear suddenly.

Additional Comments

recommend use only like OS system hard drive for the fast boot operation Do not save critical data on Seagate!

All performance, no reliability

Submitted on Thursday, December 07, 2017
By Rob
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Very fast boot times, similar to SSD in my use Low cost for capacity and performance large capacity low height allows installation in most products. quiet low power consumption

Weaknesses of the product

poor longevity infant failures

Additional Comments

There's really nothing quite like having capacity AND speed all in one! If it were better made, this would be a fantastic product. If it were reliable it would be worth twice the price. Unfortunately, as it is, I've had THREE out of THREE of these drives FAIL very quickly. All purchased summer of 2017. 2 drives failed within the first day of use! 1 lasted a few months before starting to malfunction. It would buzz and click for 5 to 10 seconds or more before accessing. I can't recommend it
  • 1