AMD Ryzen™ 7 1700 Processor, 3.0GHz w/ 16MB Cache

MX65531 Ryzen™ 7 1700 Processor, 3.0GHz w/ 16MB Cache
MX65531 Ryzen™ 7 1700 Processor, 3.0GHz w/ 16MB Cache MX65531 Ryzen™ 7 1700 Processor, 3.0GHz w/ 16MB Cache

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 10 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
  • 1

Excellent value

Submitted on Sunday, March 18, 2018
By zinixo
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

With RAM at 3200 MHz, rock solid for last two weeks . CPU overclocks to 3.8GHz on air cooling/default voltage. Soon to be water cooled and expect 4 GHz on oc at that time...

Weaknesses of the product

This is just a bit nit picky but the AMD logo on the cooler is mounted sideways, you can however unscrew the 4 screws and give the logo a 1/4 turn and then the logo is mounted correctly.

Additional Comments

Love the CPU, runs very smooth and over-clocks well. Great value. Good to see AMD is back in the game.

Amazing Processor for its value

Submitted on Wednesday, January 17, 2018
By Ryan
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

I purchased this thing in December and so far it's a beast I've seen alot of reviews stating it beats even the 1800x and it does or mine did on a X370 board. hits around 4ghz, but not everyone will from many reviews. its dependant on ram which you need to be picky about. I'm using a custom waterloop and clocked on trials higher then 4ghz but use caution and go through all your settings...

Weaknesses of the product

Haven't seen many weaknesses with this chip.

Additional Comments

very pleased with this processor at less power then my old fx chip so if your looking to Max this out make sure you have a decent X370 Rog strix/hero and good B-die ram and check your qvl if your not sure and uncomfortable going thro all bios to tweak unsupported ram to get to work.

Seems decent enough

Submitted on Wednesday, December 06, 2017
By Roland
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

as good overall as my i7-4790 4GHz Good fan with nice LED lighting included Temps idle in the low 30's C and 52° C under load A steal when on sale

Weaknesses of the product

It's a new platform and I doubt our operating systems and programs take full advantage of it yet.

Additional Comments

Coming from my 4GHz i7 (4790) I really can't tell a difference in single threaded applications and the multi threading on this new one is definitely better. More always is... As an aside, Intel likes to change socket designs frequently whereas AMD tends to try and keep the same one for years, which helps in case of motherboard death. Most won't need more than this for quite some time. Decent product. Welcome Back AMD.

Great bang for buck

Submitted on Tuesday, August 29, 2017
By Mike
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Stock cooler with some (optional) Arctic MX-4 thermal paste works extremely well. Can keep my CPU under 80C @ 3.8ghz (full load) 3D Rendering speeds at that frequency are amazing. Just 6 months ago one needed to spend $1600 for the same rendering performance with an Intel 6900k or a Xeon. Thank you AMD!! Did I mention the stock cooler? Hint: while the thermal paste that AMD gives you isn't bad, spend $10 on some high end stuff if you want to OC - you may not need an aftermarket cooler - and it looks cool

Weaknesses of the product

I think I lost the silicon lottery as no voltage / frequency combo whatsoever even with LLC enabled seems to be 100% stable past 3.8ghz even at non-extreme temperatures. Not really a weakness, but just be aware that not all of them will go to 4.00ghz. I'll try a little harder when I get a high end cooler but I'm not expecting much, if anything more. If all you do is play old games with a 1080ti at 720p and run super pi benchmarks, then you're better off with Intel for those bragging rights.

Additional Comments

If you can get this on special for under $400 it is pretty much a steal. If you need a workhorse CPU for productivity, rendering, "megatasking" or using highly threaded apps, then don't bother wasting your time and money looking at Intel offerings. The 1700 has amazing bang/buck ratio in that department. If gaming is what you do 95% of the time and really need to push the best framerates, a i5 7600 or i7 7700 might be a better fit. That said, this chip games 90-95% as well when OCd with fast ram

Finally something awesome from AMD

Submitted on Thursday, August 24, 2017
By A
From Vancouver

Strengths of the product

8 cores 16 threads! Much faster than the lackluster Bulldozer, and only takes 65 watts. Stock cooler included is adequate for mild overclocks below 1.3Vdc. A better cooler costs a notable amount more just for a few 100Mhz gains, and they don't cool the VRMs as much as a better heatsink would. Very competitive pricing, after years of little improvement and major price hikes from Intel.

Weaknesses of the product

Some research and budget increases required to get an optimal build. Infinity Fabric requires fast RAM to get performance closer to Intel i5s and i7s, but the RAM shortage is making fast and high capacity chips expensive. Limited selection of AM4 motherboards with good VRM cooling to maintain a long lifespan when overclocking or running an 6 or 8 core chip. Overclocking limits also depend on AGESA firmware, although that is improving.

Additional Comments

Running Ryzen 1700 on stock heatsink OC'd and slightly OV'd to 3.725Ghz at 1.275Vdc. Tested to ensure Prime95 completes its first test, without WHEA warnings in the Event Viewer. Cinebench R15 Score = 1659

Amazing Value!

Submitted on Thursday, August 03, 2017
By Brian
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

4.05GHz with Noctua D-15 cooler and B-350 board. Max temps hitting 67c in Prime95 after 15 minutes. Being able to overclock to 1700x and 1800x speeds with appropriate cooling really makes this a high value processor. This will do absolutely everything I need it to do from gaming, to video editing, to general workstation tasks.

Weaknesses of the product

I was an early adopter and there were bugs that needed to be worked out and tweaks that needed to be done. Some stability issues early on, but that seems to have been sorted out with bios updates.

Additional Comments

With the latest bios updates this processor is more stable than ever and gaming fps has improved as well. Combine that with reduced pricing (versus price at launch) and you've got a great processor for those that need gaming and content creation capability.

0604 Bios update

Submitted on Thursday, April 13, 2017
By Simon
From Vancouver

Strengths of the product

RAM now running 2933. 3.85Ghz stable (30 minutes of Prime95)

Weaknesses of the product

3.9Ghz crashes out after 15 minutes of Prime95. Motherboard RGB lighting seems to have taken a dump, ASUS aware and working on it, so hopefully be fixed in the next bios. Annoying but doesn't impact performance.

Additional Comments

Ryzen is still a work in progress, but don't be put off - this is an awesome chip. Currently testing 3.875Ghz but diminishing returns, especially on the stock cooler. I wanted the best I could get a price equal to or less than the 7700K, and this has worked out amazingly.

3.8Ghz on stock Wraith cooler

Submitted on Tuesday, April 11, 2017
By Simon
From Vancouver

Strengths of the product

3.8Ghz stable overclock (well, 1 hour of Prime95 with no issues) with the stock cooler and the Asus Prime X370-Pro mobo. 3200 RAM running at 2666 - faster than stock DDR4 speeds. Runs cool and quiet, even at load.

Weaknesses of the product

Will boot into Windows at 4.0Ghz but won't run anything. 3.85Ghz will crash out of Prime95 after about 10 minutes, so for me 3.8Ghz is it with the stock cooler. 3200 RAM running at 2666 - won't hit 3200 yet. IPC/clock speed compared to i7 7700K.

Additional Comments

Bought for Battlefield 1 multiplayer as that likes the extra cores/threads. The i7 7700K is faster in IPC and clock speed, and about the same price, so pick one or the other and be happy. AM4 platform looks like it will be around for a while, so there may be some extra 'future proofing' there. Think of this as a 4790K with twice the cores/threads, and you have a pretty good idea of what you're getting. This with the GTX 1070 kills BF1 multiplayer now - I'm very happy with it! :-)

Good buy

Submitted on Wednesday, March 22, 2017
By EMerth
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Using either an Asus Prime X370-PRO or an Asus Crosshair Hero it overclocked at stock voltages to 3.7 GHz. Have not tried higher yet. At 3.6 GHz 16 threads of Prime95 using the stock heatsink it did not throttle. It is not a $1499 Intel 8 core CPU.

Weaknesses of the product

Windows 7 does not support the USB in either the 1700 or the X370: getting WIndows 7 installed required some creativity.

Additional Comments

Buy it.

Amazing.

Submitted on Tuesday, March 21, 2017
By Tano
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Very good. Stock cooler is enough for 3.7 GHz turbo. Overclocked to 4.0 with Noctua u14s keeps 63 max after more then 30 min benchmark. Games are running perfect and all benchmarks are top notch.

Weaknesses of the product

None

Additional Comments

Worth buying. Easy to overclock.
  • 1