Welcome Guest
Announcements:
4
0 items ($0.00) in your cart
  • MX65531 Ryzen™ 7 1700 Processor, 3.0GHz w/ 16MB Cache
  • MX65531 Ryzen™ 7 1700 Processor, 3.0GHz w/ 16MB Cache

Ryzen™ 7 1700 Processor, 3.0GHz w/ 16MB Cache

From 8 Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 8 Customer Reviews

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
All Reviews are screened for appropriate content and therefore may take 3-4 business days before displayed on our site.

Your review has been submitted successfully

Before your review is posted on our site it must first be approved by one of our editors, this usually takes 3-4 business days.

Post A Review
  • 1

Seems decent enough

12/6/2017 5:06:02 PM
Roland from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
as good overall as my i7-4790 4GHz Good fan with nice LED lighting included Temps idle in the low 30's C and 52° C under load A steal when on sale
Weaknesses:
It's a new platform and I doubt our operating systems and programs take full advantage of it yet.
Summary:
Coming from my 4GHz i7 (4790) I really can't tell a difference in single threaded applications and the multi threading on this new one is definitely better. More always is... As an aside, Intel likes to change socket designs frequently whereas AMD tends to try and keep the same one for years, which helps in case of motherboard death. Most won't need more than this for quite some time. Decent product. Welcome Back AMD.

Great bang for buck

8/29/2017 8:00:44 PM
Mike from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
Stock cooler with some (optional) Arctic MX-4 thermal paste works extremely well. Can keep my CPU under 80C @ 3.8ghz (full load) 3D Rendering speeds at that frequency are amazing. Just 6 months ago one needed to spend $1600 for the same rendering performance with an Intel 6900k or a Xeon. Thank you AMD!! Did I mention the stock cooler? Hint: while the thermal paste that AMD gives you isn't bad, spend $10 on some high end stuff if you want to OC - you may not need an aftermarket cooler - and it looks cool
Weaknesses:
I think I lost the silicon lottery as no voltage / frequency combo whatsoever even with LLC enabled seems to be 100% stable past 3.8ghz even at non-extreme temperatures. Not really a weakness, but just be aware that not all of them will go to 4.00ghz. I'll try a little harder when I get a high end cooler but I'm not expecting much, if anything more. If all you do is play old games with a 1080ti at 720p and run super pi benchmarks, then you're better off with Intel for those bragging rights.
Summary:
If you can get this on special for under $400 it is pretty much a steal. If you need a workhorse CPU for productivity, rendering, "megatasking" or using highly threaded apps, then don't bother wasting your time and money looking at Intel offerings. The 1700 has amazing bang/buck ratio in that department. If gaming is what you do 95% of the time and really need to push the best framerates, a i5 7600 or i7 7700 might be a better fit. That said, this chip games 90-95% as well when OCd with fast ram

Finally something awesome from AMD

8/24/2017 10:35:18 PM
A from Vancouver writes:
Strengths:
8 cores 16 threads! Much faster than the lackluster Bulldozer, and only takes 65 watts. Stock cooler included is adequate for mild overclocks below 1.3Vdc. A better cooler costs a notable amount more just for a few 100Mhz gains, and they don't cool the VRMs as much as a better heatsink would. Very competitive pricing, after years of little improvement and major price hikes from Intel.
Weaknesses:
Some research and budget increases required to get an optimal build. Infinity Fabric requires fast RAM to get performance closer to Intel i5s and i7s, but the RAM shortage is making fast and high capacity chips expensive. Limited selection of AM4 motherboards with good VRM cooling to maintain a long lifespan when overclocking or running an 6 or 8 core chip. Overclocking limits also depend on AGESA firmware, although that is improving.
Summary:
Running Ryzen 1700 on stock heatsink OC'd and slightly OV'd to 3.725Ghz at 1.275Vdc. Tested to ensure Prime95 completes its first test, without WHEA warnings in the Event Viewer. Cinebench R15 Score = 1659

Amazing Value!

8/3/2017 9:54:01 PM
Brian from Edmonton writes:
Strengths:
4.05GHz with Noctua D-15 cooler and B-350 board. Max temps hitting 67c in Prime95 after 15 minutes. Being able to overclock to 1700x and 1800x speeds with appropriate cooling really makes this a high value processor. This will do absolutely everything I need it to do from gaming, to video editing, to general workstation tasks.
Weaknesses:
I was an early adopter and there were bugs that needed to be worked out and tweaks that needed to be done. Some stability issues early on, but that seems to have been sorted out with bios updates.
Summary:
With the latest bios updates this processor is more stable than ever and gaming fps has improved as well. Combine that with reduced pricing (versus price at launch) and you've got a great processor for those that need gaming and content creation capability.

0604 Bios update

4/13/2017 2:12:51 PM
Simon from Vancouver writes:
Strengths:
RAM now running 2933. 3.85Ghz stable (30 minutes of Prime95)
Weaknesses:
3.9Ghz crashes out after 15 minutes of Prime95. Motherboard RGB lighting seems to have taken a dump, ASUS aware and working on it, so hopefully be fixed in the next bios. Annoying but doesn't impact performance.
Summary:
Ryzen is still a work in progress, but don't be put off - this is an awesome chip. Currently testing 3.875Ghz but diminishing returns, especially on the stock cooler. I wanted the best I could get a price equal to or less than the 7700K, and this has worked out amazingly.

3.8Ghz on stock Wraith cooler

4/11/2017 2:29:28 PM
Simon from Vancouver writes:
Strengths:
3.8Ghz stable overclock (well, 1 hour of Prime95 with no issues) with the stock cooler and the Asus Prime X370-Pro mobo. 3200 RAM running at 2666 - faster than stock DDR4 speeds. Runs cool and quiet, even at load.
Weaknesses:
Will boot into Windows at 4.0Ghz but won't run anything. 3.85Ghz will crash out of Prime95 after about 10 minutes, so for me 3.8Ghz is it with the stock cooler. 3200 RAM running at 2666 - won't hit 3200 yet. IPC/clock speed compared to i7 7700K.
Summary:
Bought for Battlefield 1 multiplayer as that likes the extra cores/threads. The i7 7700K is faster in IPC and clock speed, and about the same price, so pick one or the other and be happy. AM4 platform looks like it will be around for a while, so there may be some extra 'future proofing' there. Think of this as a 4790K with twice the cores/threads, and you have a pretty good idea of what you're getting. This with the GTX 1070 kills BF1 multiplayer now - I'm very happy with it! :-)

Good buy

3/22/2017 3:26:02 PM
EMerth from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
Using either an Asus Prime X370-PRO or an Asus Crosshair Hero it overclocked at stock voltages to 3.7 GHz. Have not tried higher yet. At 3.6 GHz 16 threads of Prime95 using the stock heatsink it did not throttle. It is not a $1499 Intel 8 core CPU.
Weaknesses:
Windows 7 does not support the USB in either the 1700 or the X370: getting WIndows 7 installed required some creativity.
Summary:
Buy it.

Amazing.

3/21/2017 9:49:26 AM
Tano from Edmonton writes:
Strengths:
Very good. Stock cooler is enough for 3.7 GHz turbo. Overclocked to 4.0 with Noctua u14s keeps 63 max after more then 30 min benchmark. Games are running perfect and all benchmarks are top notch.
Weaknesses:
None
Summary:
Worth buying. Easy to overclock.
  • 1