Netgear Orbi Home WiFi Mesh Network Kit w/ AC3000 Tri-Band Mesh Router, Satellite Unit

MX64613 Orbi Home WiFi Mesh Network Kit w/ AC3000 Tri-Band Mesh Router, Satellite Unit
MX64613 Orbi Home WiFi Mesh Network Kit w/ AC3000 Tri-Band Mesh Router, Satellite Unit  MX64613 Orbi Home WiFi Mesh Network Kit w/ AC3000 Tri-Band Mesh Router, Satellite Unit  MX64613 Orbi Home WiFi Mesh Network Kit w/ AC3000 Tri-Band Mesh Router, Satellite Unit  MX64613 Orbi Home WiFi Mesh Network Kit w/ AC3000 Tri-Band Mesh Router, Satellite Unit

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 7 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
  • 1

FANTASTIC

Submitted on Wednesday, March 13, 2019
By Wayne
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Set up was reasonably straightforward although the time lag when making changes, and having them sync to the satellite was a bit unnerving but you get used to it. Also, placing the Satellite unit in the right place is critical. My network speed increased to all locations in the house. I finally get full speed download from the internet, everywhere.

Weaknesses of the product

Expensive.

Additional Comments

I am entirely satisfied with this investment.

One huge fault

Submitted on Tuesday, September 04, 2018
By Jason
From Burnaby

Strengths of the product

Easy setup and I like the looks. Can be visible anywhere in your home and look good.

Weaknesses of the product

#1 weakness is the inability to separate the 5Ghz and 2.4Ghz networks. There is no way to just connect to one or the other so I have 10 2.4Ghz home automation devices which require my phone to be connected to 2.4Ghz to set them up. I can't connect to just the 2.4Ghz network so now none of these devices are connected. I could change the SSID to the old 2.4Ghz network name I suppose but this is a huge fail in my opinion. #2 I find intermittently my wifi is very poor.

Additional Comments

Not recommended if you have the need to connect separately to either 5Ghz or 2.4Ghz network

Captain

Submitted on Sunday, August 19, 2018
By Bob
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

I have been using this for more than a year now. Well... sort of. (more in a minute). The unit is very attractive and seems well built. Set up was straight forward - until the satellite portion was set up.

Weaknesses of the product

I am using the Orbi in a 2000 sq. ft home. The internet arrives in the basement utility room and the base unit is located there. I set the satellite portion on top of a closet in an open, cathedral style room, thinking I would have better coverage on the main level. The distance from the basement to the satellite is probably only 40 to 50 feet, and the satellite is almost directly above (not quite... but close). These two factors may have be a problem for the Orbi. I believe that the satellite portion caused all the problems! None of my WEMO devices could connect (that took hours and hours of frustrating troubleshooting). The end result... after a few days of effort... was to disconnect the satellite. So for the past year I have had a reasonably good wireless router for my house using only the base station. The satellite does nothing. A very, very expensive single router! I'm considering a different system now, but what a waste of money!

Additional Comments

I'm not a fan of the Orbi as a result of my experience. (see weaknesses). I would not recommend it, especially for the price.

Great home solution

Submitted on Saturday, October 07, 2017
By GM
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Our cable comes into the basement and we had weak coverage on second level and dead spots on main level and throughout. 5 people and multiple devices accessing network at any given time: PS4, iPads, iPhones, Apple TV, iMac. Tried various routers to deal with slow speeds, dropped signal, dead spots,etc. Since installing Orbi a month ago, no more dead spots (2000+ square feet), no more buffering, all users are pleased. We even have great coverage outside on our deck now. Easy to setup and manage.

Weaknesses of the product

Expensive.

Additional Comments

Very pleased and recommend as an easy to setup and manage home network.

Orbi not always the answer

Submitted on Tuesday, October 03, 2017
By Shane
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Easy to set up.

Weaknesses of the product

Since day one, the Wi-Fi performance varies wildly minute by minute. My hard wired computer shows full strength on speed test which leads me to believe the signal strength into the house is good. But speed test on the Wi-Fi portion using ORBI's can be 200 Mbps, and one minute later less than 10 Mbps. As with my old router, I rarely get one hour on Netflix without it dropping. BBs show this to be a common problem.

Additional Comments

Wild variations in Wi-Fi strength is a common issue with this ORBI, with no solution available. In fact updating to the latest firmware seems to make things worse. Circumstances delayed my setting this up, so it was too late to return it. Just proves that spending lots of money on something doesn't necessarily solve the problem!

This is the solution for whole home coverage

Submitted on Thursday, April 27, 2017
By Paul
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

I can now have my wifi router in the upper corner of my 2 story 4 bedroom home and get a signal strong enough to use my Vive virtual reality setup in the basement on the opposite side of the house. That's all I ever asked! This is the first device that could deliver. I tried everything from power outlet adapters to larger antennas to the most expensive stand alone router and nothing worked like this Orbi. I can stream Netflix in 2 rooms and still run the Vive in the basement - fantastic!

Weaknesses of the product

None I have found yet.

Additional Comments

If you need coverage over your whole house and you can't get it with a conventional router - get this!

Great Mesh Router

Submitted on Wednesday, March 29, 2017
By Dee
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

- It is a AC3200 router. - for backhaul, it doesn't support wire backhaul as Linksys and Google but the performance is great on wireless backhaul. For ref: Google OnHub supports wire backhaul but you need to set it up with the wireless backhaul first then plug it in which is really take time to do. Linksys VOLP does wire backhaul but only supports serial backhaul which doesn't work for me. - Bridge Mode - Good for Telus customer so I can use the Telus Internet for DHCP and Orbi as Bridge.

Weaknesses of the product

- No wire backhaul - Not cheap

Additional Comments

if you have large house and on Telus, this is the solution for you if you want to keep the Telus internet for DHCP for TV and improve the wifi performance.
  • 1