Vantec NexStar TX External 2.5in SATA HDD Enclosure, USB 3.0, Black

MX64164 NexStar TX External 2.5in SATA HDD Enclosure, USB 3.0, Black
MX64164 NexStar TX External 2.5in SATA HDD Enclosure, USB 3.0, Black MX64164 NexStar TX External 2.5in SATA HDD Enclosure, USB 3.0, Black MX64164 NexStar TX External 2.5in SATA HDD Enclosure, USB 3.0, Black

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: 2.8 / 5 With 13 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
Monday, January 18, 2021
By: Peter
From: Calgary

Technician

Additional Comments:

The SATA connector is only surface soldered to the board! It is so fragile and will break the connection easily when installing the hard drive! The mylar is a must to install inside the enclosure to protect the HD from shorting out. If the hard drive only shows up in your device, not file explorer, you'll need to format it in disk management. It works. Because of poor mechanical design, I can only give 2 stars.
Sunday, July 05, 2020
By: Patrick Spencer
From: Whitehorse

DOA

Weaknesses:

Cheaply built

Additional Comments:

Thin, two tiny screws, defective upon arrival.
Sunday, May 17, 2020
By: Will
From: Edmonton

Worked great with Dead Acer laptop’s HD

Strengths:

Bought this as my wife’s laptop died unexpected. We needed to get some important photos and documents off it, but didn’t want to bring it in to a technician. Bought the NexstarTX as it was an inexpensive option. Easily removed the laptop HD and followed the instructions that came with the Nexstar. Simple install and plugged the Nexstar case with the Acer HD into another computer and it worked great. Just like any other plug and play external HD. Transferring between the Nexstar and the new computer seemed alright. Not the fastest external HD I’ve seen, but we only wanted it to access a dead laptop’s HD. Worked as I was hoping it would.

Weaknesses:

It came with stickers and what looks like to be a cushion. The instructions never say what it’s for. I’m assuming the cushion pad is so it keeps the HD more secure in the case, but the instructions never mentioned when or where to place it. I’ll try placing the cushion on once we’re sure all the photos and important documents are off it before tinkering around with it

Additional Comments:

Worked great accessing the HD of a dead Acer laptop. Once the HD was installed, it was plug and play to access the contents. Decent transfer speed for a inexpensive way to salvage files from a dead laptop.
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
By: Jeff
From: Saskatoon

Hard Drive no longer works after 3 days

Strengths:

Worked for a few days

Weaknesses:

Stopped working after a few days

Additional Comments:

After using this enclosure on my hard drive for 3 days, the drive failed to recognize on my computer. I tried putting my hard drive into another enclosure, and it still wouldn't run. It may have been a fluke, but to be on the safe side I cannot recommend this enclosure if you want to keep your data.
Wednesday, August 07, 2019
By: James T
From: Calgary

Bad USB 3.0 cables

Strengths:

Good Price

Weaknesses:

Intermittent connect and disconnecting the enclosures, bad cables.

Additional Comments:

I bought two of these enclosures to be used on the ADATA 1TB SSDs, most of the time the my laptop has trouble with plug and play on SSD drives. It will come on and off intermittently. Fixed the problem by replaced the USB 3.0 cable with a cable from the Seagate 4TB external drive. I suspect both cables came with the enclosures were bad.
Tuesday, March 05, 2019
By: Scott AM
From: Edmonton

Underwhelming

Additional Comments:

There is a reason why this is only $15. In a world of good "tool free" enclosures, it's kind of bizarre to find this thing. It's held together with 2 dinky Phillips screws, about the same size as the ones on your eyeglass frames. The logic board is held to the connector plate with solder only - don't bend it by accident! And the back plate is flimsy plastic. Still, it works fine. And i think it will hold up if you don't plan on changing out drives too often.
Monday, January 14, 2019
By: John
From: Edmonton

Didn't like 1TB WD Blue SSD

Additional Comments:

Perhaps I received a faulty instance of the product. A full format or full drive erase always hung, and never finished (bad sectors, not sure). Ironically, using a different model enclosure (3.5" powered caddy NST-D328S3-BK worked just fine). So I can only conclude my instance was faulty, or it simply isn't compatible with this drive.. even though a much older caddy of the same brand worked fine.
Wednesday, December 26, 2018
By: Darek
From: Calgary

Can't beat the price

Strengths:

Good build quality. Includes a nice leather pouch.

Weaknesses:

None. It's an enclosing for a small hard drive.

Additional Comments:

Bought over 5 of these already and they all work great. Converted each of my laptop hdd's to external drives when I swapped for SSDs.
Monday, August 27, 2018
By: Josh
From: Edmonton

Not the best

Strengths:

- looks nice, i guess

Weaknesses:

- led is so bright you can use it as a flashlight - Bad connection

Additional Comments:

Not the best. Look elsewhere
Friday, May 11, 2018
By: Lok
From: Calgary

Weak adhesive

Strengths:

Works as expected - if the USB cable fits all the way in

Weaknesses:

The HDD adapter board is connected to the cover with weak glue that ended up not holding them together, and thus, with the adapter not right up to the cover openings, the USB cable cannot fit all the way in and the HDD cannot be accessed.