Vantec NexStar TX External 2.5in SATA HDD Enclosure, USB 3.0, Black

MX64164 NexStar TX External 2.5in SATA HDD Enclosure, USB 3.0, Black
MX64164 NexStar TX External 2.5in SATA HDD Enclosure, USB 3.0, Black MX64164 NexStar TX External 2.5in SATA HDD Enclosure, USB 3.0, Black MX64164 NexStar TX External 2.5in SATA HDD Enclosure, USB 3.0, Black

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 8 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
  • 1

Underwhelming

Submitted on Tuesday, March 05, 2019
By Scott AM
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Weaknesses of the product

Additional Comments

There is a reason why this is only $15. In a world of good "tool free" enclosures, it's kind of bizarre to find this thing. It's held together with 2 dinky Phillips screws, about the same size as the ones on your eyeglass frames. The logic board is held to the connector plate with solder only - don't bend it by accident! And the back plate is flimsy plastic. Still, it works fine. And i think it will hold up if you don't plan on changing out drives too often.

Didn't like 1TB WD Blue SSD

Submitted on Monday, January 14, 2019
By John
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Weaknesses of the product

Additional Comments

Perhaps I received a faulty instance of the product. A full format or full drive erase always hung, and never finished (bad sectors, not sure). Ironically, using a different model enclosure (3.5" powered caddy NST-D328S3-BK worked just fine). So I can only conclude my instance was faulty, or it simply isn't compatible with this drive.. even though a much older caddy of the same brand worked fine.

Can't beat the price

Submitted on Wednesday, December 26, 2018
By Darek
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Good build quality. Includes a nice leather pouch.

Weaknesses of the product

None. It's an enclosing for a small hard drive.

Additional Comments

Bought over 5 of these already and they all work great. Converted each of my laptop hdd's to external drives when I swapped for SSDs.

Not the best

Submitted on Monday, August 27, 2018
By Josh
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

- looks nice, i guess

Weaknesses of the product

- led is so bright you can use it as a flashlight - Bad connection

Additional Comments

Not the best. Look elsewhere

Weak adhesive

Submitted on Friday, May 11, 2018
By Lok
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Works as expected - if the USB cable fits all the way in

Weaknesses of the product

The HDD adapter board is connected to the cover with weak glue that ended up not holding them together, and thus, with the adapter not right up to the cover openings, the USB cable cannot fit all the way in and the HDD cannot be accessed.

Additional Comments

Great, but lacks information

Submitted on Thursday, October 05, 2017
By Tyler
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Works as advertised

Weaknesses of the product

Not much guidance for installation. You will find an information sheet in the box, but it will not explain how to use the plastic sheet and the tiny adhesive foam piece. It may be common sense for some people like me, but not for others. Here is what you do: the case is enclosed at one end, remove that end by sticking the screwdriver into the holes on the sides,insert the plastic piece inside, it needs to stick inside the case to prevent the hard drive from shorting out, make sure that when you insert the hard drive into the enclosure that the circuitry is covered entirely by the plastic sheet. Stick the tiny foam piece on the plastic end that you remove from the beginning.

Additional Comments

Great price, does its job well.

Submitted on Thursday, June 01, 2017
By Terry J
From Edmonton, AB

Strengths of the product

I needed to check an SSD that would no longer boot. Plugged it into my laptops USB 2.0, and there were all my files! I wasn't totally sure it would work, but for only $15 I figured I'd try it.

Weaknesses of the product

None really, sure the read LED it bright but at least you know it's there.

Additional Comments

Easily turn any 2.5in drive into an exterial drive. Or just use the SATA to USB adaptor for testing drives.

Awesome Enclosure

Submitted on Wednesday, February 22, 2017
By Steve
From Crowsnest Pass

Strengths of the product

HDDs Stay cool, nice design, nice length USB Cord (not too long or short), fast transfer speeds, vinyl protective cover for case. Price.

Weaknesses of the product

Bright LED

Additional Comments

All in all very good enclosure for the price. mine has been running for a week straight 24/7 on my router for video storage/streaming. fast read/write speeds, HDDs stay surprisingly cool, The LED is quite bright but a piece of tape will fix that quick. I have three of them in use with 750GB 7200 rpm HDDs with no problems at all. I Highly Recommend These Enclosures
  • 1