Seagate 8TB Backup Plus Hub Desktop HDD w/ Integrated USB 3.0 Hub

MX64024 8TB Backup Plus Hub Desktop HDD w/ Integrated USB 3.0 Hub
MX64024 8TB Backup Plus Hub Desktop HDD w/ Integrated USB 3.0 Hub MX64024 8TB Backup Plus Hub Desktop HDD w/ Integrated USB 3.0 Hub MX64024 8TB Backup Plus Hub Desktop HDD w/ Integrated USB 3.0 Hub MX64024 8TB Backup Plus Hub Desktop HDD w/ Integrated USB 3.0 Hub

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: 3.3 / 5 With 11 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
Friday, June 05, 2020
By: Jayson
From: Winnipeg

Unreliable

Strengths:

Portable capacity

Weaknesses:

Failure-prone drives used.

Additional Comments:

We bought two of these to copy about 15 TB of backup files The first drive began failing at about 70% capacity. A full SeaTools scan showed the drive as healthy while a chkdsk surface scan showed multiple bad blocks. A Partition Master Pro scan showed numerous bad blocks with new ones being mapped out regularly. The second drive lasted about five weeks before performance dropped sharply. We performed another full scan and again the vendor diagnostic show the drive as healthy while third party tools showed excessive re-writes and failing blocks. The enclosures are nice but the HDD's inside are very poor quality.
Saturday, May 23, 2020
By: Marc
From: Devon, Alberta

Great hard drive

Strengths:

Large capacity - using it specifically for video/audio file storage and I save my files directly to the drive. I've been using it now for over two years on my Mac, with no problems.

Weaknesses:

none so far.

Additional Comments:

This has been a great investment. I love the hub.... allows me to piggy back other hard drives minimizing the need to purchase a separate USB hub.
Friday, January 03, 2020
By: Trevor M
From: Edmonton

Followup after 1 year

Strengths:

Vast storage, quiet running, runs cool

Weaknesses:

Drive failed after 1 year almost exactly to the day after I started using it. I moved the drive to a new location and it now fails to power up. No light, no noise, nothing. Luckily, the internal Seagate 8Tb HDD is fine and after moving it to my computer I have access to all my data again The fault lies within the SATA to USB board with the case. What a waste of over $200 on something Seagate can't even get to last over a year.

Additional Comments:

I'm sure many of these drives are still working away with no problems but this failure is rather disappointing considering the little use it's seen If you're looking to get backup storage maybe think about getting a RAID array or do manual backups in several locations. These external drives are build down to a price and are not a great storage solution for sensitive data
Thursday, December 20, 2018
By: TrevorM
From: Edmonton

So far, so good

Strengths:

Vast storage space for all my audio & video media. Runs silent aside from the few clicking noises when reading or writing data. On continuously and runs cool. I suspect it goes into sleep mode when not being accessed but it seems to only take a couple of seconds to wake up. It's never had me waiting for the drive to wake up

Weaknesses:

None so far

Additional Comments:

I have this drive coupled to my ASUS router as a network hub that I run all my media streaming boxes from, works flawless. The previous 1Tb Seagate drive I used before would sometimes go offline at random times, not this one. Will take me a long time to fill this drive up, should carry me through the next few years at least
Monday, August 13, 2018
By: Artem
From: Richmond

good and fast

Strengths:

lots of space for blurays and hd movies and game files

Weaknesses:

none

Additional Comments:

not sure what these other clowns on here are doing wrong but this is my third drive of the same kind and i find it amazing. i read write and copy using this drive all the time and play blueray movies off it and it never lags or freezes. have to plug to a usb 3.0 to have it running properly and get 150mb copy speed. its usb and plug powered so gets lots of power unlike the slim drives
Friday, July 20, 2018
By: Kelley
From: Calgary

Still a great drive

Strengths:

- Fast - Spacious - USB 3.0 hub

Weaknesses:

Haven't found any

Additional Comments:

I've been using this drive for abut a year and a half, and have not encountered any of the problems outlined here. The drive has worked flawlessly, and I still have not used even half the capacity.
Monday, June 25, 2018
By: Derek
From: Calgary

Not worth buying

Strengths:

Thought it would be a good price at $240 for 8 TB. Which works out to $30/TB

Weaknesses:

it Tried plugging into Windows 7 PC. Did not recognize at all. Plugged it into a Windows 10 laptop. finally recognized. Setup folds and began using. Failed to recognize after a while on the Win 10 laptop machine. Called Seagate support and said to reload drivers, etc. but they did not offer a working solution. Just going to return for RMA and try to get a different product as a replacement. Do not want to deal with this product anymore Bought it a couple of months ago and did not get the replacement warranty from MemExpress. but still would not want to use a replacement anymore

Additional Comments:

Not worth buying. Failed drive on 2 machines, and did not get acceptable product support from Seagate.
Thursday, June 21, 2018
By: Justin
From: Edmonton

Slow write speeds, awesome seagate unreliability

Strengths:

-Lots of space for cheap especially when it goes on sale -USB hub!

Weaknesses:

-Get around 20MBps write speeds on a NTFS partition. Apparently the drive will work faster internally according to some reports but I didn't have a chance to test that. -Drive died after almost full of backups. Purchased Boxing day 2018, toasted June 2018. Only powered up for about 10 days total. Drive will not spin up. Pulled out of enclosure and tried in test rig but still nogo.

Additional Comments:

For the capacity and price when on sale this is hard to beat, but beware. You should have a backup of your backup and preferably using a different drive manufacturer if you intend to use this at all. (Internal drive is a Barracuda Compute - ST8000DM004 FYI)
Friday, March 23, 2018
By: E Merth
From: Calgary

Kind of Meh: Amended Comment

Strengths:

Capacity Price Read speed

Weaknesses:

Write speed is low.

Additional Comments:

2.5 stars on balance. If you call it archival storage then 4 stars.
Tuesday, February 06, 2018
By: E
From: Merth

Kind of Meh

Strengths:

Capacity. Low price.

Weaknesses:

Small file writes slow down after a while. It dropped to around 10 files/second with average file size around 100KB. Software used was Linux "cp" program. Large files are OK.

Additional Comments:

I'd like to give it 2.5 stars. For media storage or big-data style dump storage I suppose it is OK. For backup of small files it is slow.