Seagate 8TB Backup Plus Hub Desktop HDD w/ Integrated USB 3.0 Hub

MX64024 8TB Backup Plus Hub Desktop HDD w/ Integrated USB 3.0 Hub
MX64024 8TB Backup Plus Hub Desktop HDD w/ Integrated USB 3.0 Hub MX64024 8TB Backup Plus Hub Desktop HDD w/ Integrated USB 3.0 Hub MX64024 8TB Backup Plus Hub Desktop HDD w/ Integrated USB 3.0 Hub MX64024 8TB Backup Plus Hub Desktop HDD w/ Integrated USB 3.0 Hub

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 7 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
  • 1

good and fast

Submitted on Monday, August 13, 2018
By Artem
From Richmond

Strengths of the product

lots of space for blurays and hd movies and game files

Weaknesses of the product

none

Additional Comments

not sure what these other clowns on here are doing wrong but this is my third drive of the same kind and i find it amazing. i read write and copy using this drive all the time and play blueray movies off it and it never lags or freezes. have to plug to a usb 3.0 to have it running properly and get 150mb copy speed. its usb and plug powered so gets lots of power unlike the slim drives

Still a great drive

Submitted on Friday, July 20, 2018
By Kelley
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

- Fast - Spacious - USB 3.0 hub

Weaknesses of the product

Haven't found any

Additional Comments

I've been using this drive for abut a year and a half, and have not encountered any of the problems outlined here. The drive has worked flawlessly, and I still have not used even half the capacity.

Not worth buying

Submitted on Monday, June 25, 2018
By Derek
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Thought it would be a good price at $240 for 8 TB. Which works out to $30/TB

Weaknesses of the product

it Tried plugging into Windows 7 PC. Did not recognize at all. Plugged it into a Windows 10 laptop. finally recognized. Setup folds and began using. Failed to recognize after a while on the Win 10 laptop machine. Called Seagate support and said to reload drivers, etc. but they did not offer a working solution. Just going to return for RMA and try to get a different product as a replacement. Do not want to deal with this product anymore Bought it a couple of months ago and did not get the replacement warranty from MemExpress. but still would not want to use a replacement anymore

Additional Comments

Not worth buying. Failed drive on 2 machines, and did not get acceptable product support from Seagate.

Slow write speeds, awesome seagate unreliability

Submitted on Thursday, June 21, 2018
By Justin
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

-Lots of space for cheap especially when it goes on sale -USB hub!

Weaknesses of the product

-Get around 20MBps write speeds on a NTFS partition. Apparently the drive will work faster internally according to some reports but I didn't have a chance to test that. -Drive died after almost full of backups. Purchased Boxing day 2018, toasted June 2018. Only powered up for about 10 days total. Drive will not spin up. Pulled out of enclosure and tried in test rig but still nogo.

Additional Comments

For the capacity and price when on sale this is hard to beat, but beware. You should have a backup of your backup and preferably using a different drive manufacturer if you intend to use this at all. (Internal drive is a Barracuda Compute - ST8000DM004 FYI)

Kind of Meh: Amended Comment

Submitted on Friday, March 23, 2018
By E Merth
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Capacity Price Read speed

Weaknesses of the product

Write speed is low.

Additional Comments

2.5 stars on balance. If you call it archival storage then 4 stars.

Kind of Meh

Submitted on Tuesday, February 06, 2018
By E
From Merth

Strengths of the product

Capacity. Low price.

Weaknesses of the product

Small file writes slow down after a while. It dropped to around 10 files/second with average file size around 100KB. Software used was Linux "cp" program. Large files are OK.

Additional Comments

I'd like to give it 2.5 stars. For media storage or big-data style dump storage I suppose it is OK. For backup of small files it is slow.

Good drive

Submitted on Sunday, July 23, 2017
By Kelley
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

- Very fast - Really, really high capacity - The USB hub is very handy, I mostly use it to charge my phone

Weaknesses of the product

It has 16 heads which makes for a fairly heavy motor assembly, so it does make noise at times - but not much

Additional Comments

I've been using this drive for about two months, and so far it has performed flawlessly. It is very fast - I typically get 150 MB/s on average. The capacity is the real star of this drive, though. I have every DVD rip, video, photo, music file, and document that I have on it and still have almost 5.5TB free. The USB hub is very good - it's fast and has lots of power for charging devices. It has been a very good drive so far and I would recommend it.
  • 1