Qnap TS-451+ High Performance 4-Bay Cloud NAS w/ Remote Control

MX60239 TS-451+ High Performance 4-Bay Cloud NAS w/ Remote Control
MX60239 TS-451+ High Performance 4-Bay Cloud NAS w/ Remote Control MX60239 TS-451+ High Performance 4-Bay Cloud NAS w/ Remote Control MX60239 TS-451+ High Performance 4-Bay Cloud NAS w/ Remote Control MX60239 TS-451+ High Performance 4-Bay Cloud NAS w/ Remote Control

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 12 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission

Not as advertised...

Submitted on Friday, January 10, 2020
By Milt
From Parkland County

Strengths of the product

Regular Updates Good File Storage

Weaknesses of the product

HDMI port is essentially useless. QNAP no longer offers Kodi or Plex as options. The removed both. Celeron processor for transcoding and playing H265 compressed video is useless.

Additional Comments

A good quality media player with a less expensive file storage system is a better route to take.

Not as advertised...

Submitted on Monday, January 06, 2020
By Milt
From Parkland County

Strengths of the product

Good File Storage. Regular Firmware Updates.

Weaknesses of the product

If you are buying this to play video content out of the HDMI port, don't bother. They dropped the Kodi app a while ago and late 2019 they dumped the Plex app after firmware update 4.4.1. Only two apps that are left are crap. Celeron processors for Video transcoding and H.265 playback.....forget it. That's a joke. Buy a real media player. Support is email based. Replies come 1 to 3 days later.

Additional Comments

Don't spend the extra $$ for the HDMI port and all the other video playback promises.

Ok for raw storage but not much else

Submitted on Saturday, October 26, 2019
By James
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

ok features was okay for what I originally bought it for....too bad they broke some of features with updates

Weaknesses of the product

Weak CPU that pins utilization when asked to perform a task Frequent updates that probably arent meant for this specific NAS (e.g. distributed across multiple models) and therefore makes THIS model run worse Long boot time Support from QNAP is H-O-R-R-I-B-L-E... Snapshot/Shadowcopy broke because of one of their updates and after 6 months of having an open ticket, they are 'still investigating'

Additional Comments

I was originally with the NAS but after multiple updates and now one of the core features that I bought it for NO LONGER WORKS (Snapshot/Shadowcopy) it is nothing more than a bunch of disk Told QNAP due to their TERRIBLE SUPPORT that I wouldnt buy another from them.. SYNOLOGY is my next purchase

Great NAS

Submitted on Thursday, November 29, 2018
By Bill
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Good features. Easy to use. Frequent updates (QNAP seems really good at security updates) The QNAP os is based on linux and you can run it pretty much as a regular linux server if you want. The app selection is good although I don't really use very many. Has built-in survaillance camera applcation that works well. This would be an excellent server for a small office, has many business oreiented apps. Works great as a file server for my PCs. Cloud access is good, the built-in file manager will connect to most cloud drives (google, ms dropbox etc)

Weaknesses of the product

Boot times are long (I only reboot when I do firmware updates which is about once a month). This guy does to virtualization but it's best to keep the loads small (stick to containers if you can and load up the memory: it says 8 GB max but it takes 16, which I have installed)

Additional Comments

I've had this NAS fo quite a while now. Never had any problems at all. It's set up as my media center using it's HDMI port. I installed Kodi and it works great. Would be great for a small business office.

Great Home Storage/Media Server

Submitted on Tuesday, December 12, 2017
By Greg
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

I've had my 451+ for over a year and love it, I upgraded the memory to 16GB right away and installed 4 Seagate 6TB NAS drives in a Raid 6 setup. I only read the manual for just the initial setup and have just figured everything else out on my own. I spend many months reading reviews on various website for many different manufactures and models but kept coming back to this one so I bit the bullet and bought it. I set a static IP on it and setup port forwarding for remote access/streaming.

Weaknesses of the product

My 4x 6TB drives setup for Raid 6 only gives me just over 8TB of storage.

Additional Comments

Do your own research before buying anything and take bad reviews with a grain of salt.

Good for NAS only

Submitted on Saturday, November 04, 2017
By Clayton
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Nice and compact. Quiet. Easy to install new drives. Frequent firmware updates.

Weaknesses of the product

Almost all the app are half baked garbage. Reboots before and after firmware updates take quite some time. Not for the average user. I was surprised at how much reading had to be done just to get it running. Apps are difficult to navigate and workflow is puzzling. I regret this purchase. Miss the days where I had my WHS.

Additional Comments

Only buy this if you intend to use it as an NAS and/or backup solution. All the almost all the apps are total garbage. Was looking forward to using the various apps but they are all half baked. I really wanted to use the photo station app to share pictures and videos of vacations and such. It's fine if you only want to share a dozen or so pictures and open a massive security breach for your NAS, I will note that the security camera app appears to be useful so at least there is that.

Great potential

Submitted on Friday, June 23, 2017
By Larry King
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

The product features are way ahead of anyone else. Lots of storage space offered, that is a huge bonus. Considering the price I do love the concept and all the cool apps that they employee with the product I mean you have a remote that is awesome.

Weaknesses of the product

Sometimes the you have to reboot the device cause it gets locked up.

Additional Comments

The only thing I can say is that with all that cool leading edge apps and addons there is a price to pay. The unit will fail so please have a back of a backup Stuff that are critical have a hard copy, DVD or other storage. I have personally given up on these devices now. Until they mature to a level that has a proven track of good QA. It is a great device with a lot of potential. It might work great for you. I wouldn't say don't buy it because yours might work flawless for years to come.

Great peace of mind

Submitted on Sunday, September 04, 2016
By Jeff
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Quiet. Good web interface. Tons of features. Simple to set up and use as a home network drive. Many official apps available, and many unofficial ones too.

Weaknesses of the product

One of my drives (4 TB Hitachi) kept getting hot when Smart Fan was enabled. But, I changed the fan setting to Low, and haven't had any issues since.

Additional Comments

I got tired of single hard drives dying and scared that I'd lose important files. This is my first NAS and I'm very pleased with my choice. QNAP is a trusted brand and when bought on sale, the 451+ can be had at a good price.

Full of bugs

Submitted on Monday, August 15, 2016
By Sahamchi
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

They have said enough of their strengths. Don't believe most of them though.

Weaknesses of the product

Every update brings a new set of problems. Your settings gone. Can not trust the system at all. Mine got 4 GB of memory. Don't believe their advertisements. A linux based full of bug unstable NAS. It ruins your network too.

Additional Comments

Does not worth the hassle. Don't buy.

Impressive performance and features

Submitted on Thursday, May 26, 2016
By Fiss
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

* Speed * OS / Apps suite is pretty comprehensive

Weaknesses of the product

* None so far * Wishlist for future designs: SD slot?

Additional Comments

Replacing a 2 Bay Shuttle NAS, I was originally hesitant to go from a basic media NAS to a full fledged server-capable design out of fear of software bloat slowing the system down. These fears were totally unfounded, however, as the performance is excellent. The features allow it to replace a Media Center PC, though I am using it strictly for file / backup / media sharing. A bit overkill, but the backup software suite is more than worth the extra cost and complexity. 1 week in, no regrets.