Asus ROG SWIFT PG279Q 27in Gaming IPS 165Hz LED LCD w/ G-SYNC, Speakers

MX60226 ROG SWIFT PG279Q 27in Gaming IPS 165Hz LED LCD w/ G-SYNC, Speakers
MX60226 ROG SWIFT PG279Q 27in Gaming IPS 165Hz LED LCD w/ G-SYNC, Speakers MX60226 ROG SWIFT PG279Q 27in Gaming IPS 165Hz LED LCD w/ G-SYNC, Speakers MX60226 ROG SWIFT PG279Q 27in Gaming IPS 165Hz LED LCD w/ G-SYNC, Speakers MX60226 ROG SWIFT PG279Q 27in Gaming IPS 165Hz LED LCD w/ G-SYNC, Speakers

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: 4.9 / 5 With 9 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please only review product(s) you have used or owned.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
  • Review was not provided in exchange for promotional or commercial reimbursement (i.e. monetary, gift cards, free or discounted products).
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
Captcha
  • 1
Sunday, June 21, 2020
By: Derek
From: Saskatoon

Love it!

Strengths:

It's a high end gaming monitor. It's designed specifically for gaming. Low lag, 144hz, 1440p, Gsync = smooth as a baby's butt gaming. I went from a 60hz TV to this and I will never go back. The difference is immense.

Weaknesses:

There is some black crush in darker scenes. Especially noticeable when a game is rendering something dark and lower resolution such as a load screen. It goes away once the game loads and is rendering at 1440p. Viewing angle is very strict. This monitor isn't designed to kick back and watch a movie. It's for gaming. I like it for regular internet viewing though. Once you setup your color/picture profiles its a quick toggle for easy on the eyes reading. Red light on the base could be annoying for some. There isn't a way to disable it. Could easily be covered by a cloth or tape. It says it has speakers and Windows recognizes it but I can't get sound out of it. Not that it matters since I have a nice sound card.

Additional Comments:

Worth every penny if you are using it primarily for games. Especially if you are still stuck on 60hz. The upgrade is astounding, assuming your gpu can handle it. If you are looking for cinematic movie quality however, a gaming monitor may not be the best choice. Great service at the Saskatoon location. Sales person removed it from the box and plugged it in so we could check for faults or damage before purchase.
Sunday, June 14, 2020
By: Bert
From: Victoria

Amazing.

Strengths:

True G-SYNC™, beautiful picture. Could find no ghosting in game and no IPS glow.

Weaknesses:

Making me forget I have a PS4...

Additional Comments:

Replaced an 8 year old 1080p monitor with this one. Absolutely beautiful, I couldn't believe the difference G-SYNC™ makes. Silky smooth on a 1070 GTX with i7 6700k. After calibration (and I didn't need much) looked perfect. I may have lucked out on my panel, I can't find any IPS glow on the screen. Memory Express was great, got it to me very quickly and excellent customer service. A+ all around.
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
By: Gordon
From: Richmond

Wanted to love it, got a bad screen.

Strengths:

Fast Wonderful picture Great viewing angles No ghosting

Weaknesses:

Backlight bleed

Additional Comments:

I was excited when i got this thing home. Hooked it up, and jumped into gaming.....and wow did it blow me away. What a crazy crisp/responsive piece of hardware. Until i realized that the glow in game on the upper right and bottom left of my screen was not a ingame effect. The other two corners had very mild ips bloom, but very acceptable. But the other two, the backlight bleed was terrible. Had to take it back, I just got unlucky on the panel. While a little backlight bleed is normalish....this was an exeptional bad case. Unfortunately there were no others in stock. I cant recommend this monitor enough based on the actual performance of it. But check your screen....if you get a good one = win.
Monday, April 16, 2018
By: Hugh
From: Calgary

The Best 16:9 Gaming Monitor Available

Strengths:

The Combo of Nvidia G-Sync, 1440p resolution and 144Hz / 165Hz (in OC mode) provides the best balance of visual fidelity, smoothness vs GPU horsepower requirements. The IPS panel provides better color accuracy + wider viewing angles then TN. The Monitor's ID nails the balance between Gamer and Professional. The OSD is easy to use via the joystick on the back. Also has an HDMI input for game consoles or other A/V sources. The Flat stand allows objects to be placed on top of it

Weaknesses:

My Panel has some minor backlight bleed on the top right corner. The built-in speakers sound very tinny and actually started distorting really badly when I plugged in my PS4 over HDMI. Price, but if you want one of the best you have to pay to play. No HDR support.

Additional Comments:

If you are looking for the best available 16:9 monitor for gaming (and don't care about HDR support) the ROG Swift PG279Q is the display to get. The price may be high but monitors should be viewed as a long term purchase, and a good monitor will last you though many PC builds and provide many years of enjoyment. Grab that IPR plan for some piece of mind and enjoy.
Monday, September 4, 2017
By: Chase
From: Edmonton

Amazing!

Strengths:

NVIDIA G-Sync is absolutely amazing with a 165hz refresh rate. Low response time and great picture. The IPS panel is better than the PG278Q's TN panel.

Weaknesses:

A bit of backlight bleed on games when the screen is black, but that doesn't take away from the experience. You may notice it slightly on games that are set during the night.

Additional Comments:

Although newer ASUS ROG Swift monitors are coming out this year, don't let that stop you from picking one of these up. Grab the IPR Replacement Plan too.
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
By: Alex
From: Winnipeg

Worth every penny

Strengths:

Fantastic stand design and build quality Image quality is unreal 1440p and 144hz is fantastic IPS colors with imperceptible lag Best OSD I've ever used

Weaknesses:

Backlight bleed on black screens (yes it's very noticeable) If you have a shallow desk, the stand will put the monitor in your face. Right in it. Speakers; why did they put speakers in it. You don't spend a grand on a monitor and use monitor speakers lol That's honestly it. I just spent 5 minutes trying to think of more in an attempt to be an overly negative forum warrior... but I failed.

Additional Comments:

If you have a video card to push a 1440p/144hz monitor then you're already accustomed to high prices. This is the best 27" gaming monitor you can get so just ignore the price. I chose this over the one of the predators because the predator's stand is flimsy and can't decide if it's supposed to be ugly or tacky. Hint: it's both. The physical build quality of the PG279Q is excellent with almost no display shake. It's also somewhat classy with a nice touch of subtle red led lighting.
Thursday, March 31, 2016
By: Chris
From: Edmonton South

Amazing.

Strengths:

Well if you're spending this much I think you know the advantages. 1440p Gaming, 165 Hz (using DP). GSync, smooth. Best monitor I've purchased, upgraded from a 1080p Dell. Looked good both using a 750 ti, 980 ti.

Weaknesses:

Backlight bleed, only happens when screen is black, doesnt bother me while Gaming.

Additional Comments:

if you dont care about backlight bleed. I'd recommend this, otherwise wait for a newer version.
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
By: Aaron
From: Calgary

The Ultimate Gaming Monitor

Strengths:

- Amazing picture quality - Excellent viewing angle compared to TN panels - Low response time - High refresh rate - G-SYNC - Solid design and build quality (slim bezel, highly adjustable -- adjustments are smooth compared to Acer model, which has an ugly design compared to this one, in my opinion) - HDMI port is a bonus, but does not support G-SYNC or refresh rate above 60Hz. Good for hooking up a PS4 or XBOX.

Weaknesses:

- Backlight bleed is noticeable when screen is mostly/completely black. - Price point is high but you get what you pay for. - Can't say I am able to notice a difference going from a 144Hz to a 165Hz refresh rate. Maybe with a side-by-side comparison? Unfortunately I can only afford one. All the same, I can't ever go back to 60Hz, as it's nowhere near as smooth.

Additional Comments:

Best of all worlds. Beautiful picture, vibrant colours and excellent viewing angle when compared to its predecessor (PG278Q with TN panel), while still maintaining an impressive 4ms response time. If you're invested in a solid gaming rig, don't sell yourself short on the display. It makes all the difference. If you are considering the previous model or another monitor in the same price range, the additional cost is well worth it.
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
By: Alex
From: Calgary

Unbelievable monitor!

Strengths:

So the pros are the amazing picture quality, 165Hz is stunning and absolutely noticeable, IPS panel really is beautiful - came from the PG278Q and I was really surprised at just how much better it was. Of course the design of the whole thing is great too, plus I like the anti-glare on this one so much better - it kind of has a bit of a reflection compared to the PG278Q, kind of hard to describe.

Weaknesses:

The price itself is definitely high, and to performance ratio is definitely not that great either but I think anyone interested in this monitor already knows what they're getting into. There is definitely some backlight bleed that I'm not too pleased with but I kind of expected the round 1 shipment to have some type of isses. My solution for that is 4-year in-store warranty, a monitor is one of the few things that I would say NEVER avoid the in-store warranty. My 278Q died after 1 year and 2 months

Additional Comments:

All in all I would highly recommend this monitor to any and all enthusiasts out there. I'm giving 5-star even though mine has backlight bleed in 2 different spots because I think it's understandable with the first batch.
  • 1