Samsung U28E590D 28in 4K UHD LED LCD w/ FreeSync

MX59871 U28E590D 28in 4K UHD LED LCD w/ FreeSync
MX59871 U28E590D 28in 4K UHD LED LCD w/ FreeSync MX59871 U28E590D 28in 4K UHD LED LCD w/ FreeSync MX59871 U28E590D 28in 4K UHD LED LCD w/ FreeSync MX59871 U28E590D 28in 4K UHD LED LCD w/ FreeSync

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 8 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
  • 1

After 2+ years of dual 4K - Excellent

Submitted on Thursday, December 20, 2018
By Josh V
From Calgary, AB

Strengths of the product

-Good quality (i have had two of these for 2 years now with only 2 dead pixels on one of them, not even very noticeable) -Price

Weaknesses of the product

-This monitor is a more sensitive to viewing angle. Even sitting straight in front of it, some the same color can look a little different on different parts of the monitor, mostly vertically. -I think it only does 60 Hz on the DVI port and HDMI port #2 (HDMI port #1 is only 30Hz) which is counter intuitive and nowhere does it tell you.

Additional Comments

Highly recommend. its nicer to have one of these than dual 1080p unless you want to see things bigger and see multiple things at the same time. If you're a graphic designer/extremely color sensitive then maybe go for the LG or something else. For most people this will be just fine. Note: I dont use these for high FPS gaming so I can't really comment on the performance for that, but I can definitely notice the 60 Hz is much nicer than the 30 Hz.

Good monitor for the price

Submitted on Tuesday, April 17, 2018
By Nathan
From Olds

Strengths of the product

- 4k@60Hz (for 2 out of the 3 inputs, anyway) - 1ms response time - Reasonably accurate colour display - Excellent for programming + multimedia - Good for gaming (60Hz Freesync) - Fantastic value

Weaknesses of the product

- Coil/capacitor whine at some display modes and while turning on and off. Mostly not noticeable while displaying 4k@60Hz. - Stand is a little flimsy and requires a very flat surface - if this bothers you, invest in a VESA mount (contrary to a previous reviewer, it does indeed have a 75x75 VESA mount). - 1 of the HDMI (HDMI1) inputs is HDMI 1.4, which drops down to 30Hz at 4k (the DP and HDMI2 port are both 4k@60Hz capable)

Additional Comments

Good monitor, price can't be beat. There are some compromises that I think are acceptable, given the price.

4K@60hz Console Gaming Compatible

Submitted on Thursday, November 16, 2017
By Kris
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

- 4K UHD @ 60Hz HDMI (port 2 only) - 4K Console gaming compatible (one of only 2 or 3 on the market that are actually compatible with 1ms) - 1ms response time - Large crystal clear display - Game mode - One multi-direction button for all adjustments/on-off/input selection

Weaknesses of the product

- Adjustment menus a little limited - Green color slightly skewed

Additional Comments

As 4K UHD has recently begun to hit the console market, there has been an extreme lack of variety of 4K 1ms monitors that ACTUALLY supports 4K and there is little confirming information on the web what is factually compatible. The problem is that almost all HDMI only output at 30hz and the consoles cannot upscale to 4K instead revert down to 24hz (which looks absolutely terrible). Monitors often falsely advertise and can only get 4K @ 60hz for DisplayPort. As far as I can tell, there are only 2 monitors currently on the market with 4K@60hz HDMI and 1ms response time; the Samsung U28E590D and the Samsung LU28H750. I can confirm: this model (U28E590D) WILL run HDMI 4K @ 60hz in the HDMI “2” port on both Xbox One X and S. Please note its predecessor,the U28D590D is NOT 4K compatible @ 60hz and will not work for 4K console gaming. In summary, for a console gamer trying to tap into 4K resolution with 1ms response time, I am 100% satisfied with this monitor and highly recommend it to anyone else trying to do the same. 5 Stars.

Phenomenal monitor

Submitted on Tuesday, March 14, 2017
By Steen
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Beautiful picture and video quality. Fast response rate. Runs smooth without issues. Although others have mentioned the stand being flimsy/poor quality I personally have had no issues with it. Bright screen. Crisp clean image due to the nature of 4k.

Weaknesses of the product

After experimenting with 4k, 1080p will forever look bad in comparison. Stand is large and takes up lots of space but is worth it for the quality. I would recommend a 1080 or 1080ti but nothing less than a 1070 if you want a stable fps in most games, my 1070 FTW runs 90% of games amazingly but has issues hitting a stable 60fps on games like battlefield 1 and one other game which I can't remember the name of. If you aren't doing extensive gaming and want it for other things a 970 will suffice.

Additional Comments

Great monitor and I would highly recommend it to anyone who either has the GPU to support it on most games or for anyone who wants it for other purposes. Standard/ moderately thick bezel if you want to run multi displays.

Pretty but Meh

Submitted on Friday, December 30, 2016
By Zach
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

This is without a doubt a very pretty monitor. The 4k is pleasant on the eyes and it worked well with my 980ti in my rig, gaming is glorious. Movies look amazing with a compatible device.

Weaknesses of the product

My main issue with this monitor is that the viewing angle needs to be near perfect for the image to look normal. I began to notice a bit of brightness flickering but i believe this may be due to the settings i was playing with. I game on my PC so my main problem was the 60hz. I normally use a 144hz 1080 monitor so after a few matches of counter strike I had decided to return this monitor. The stand could also be better and content besides gaming is lacking if you are only using a PC.

Additional Comments

It was not for me. If someone was just wants good looking movies or a large landscape for productivity. This could be for you. If you value high speed gaming and precision. You might be best to look elsewhere. 4K movies only available through an appropriate device. Currently PC's will not stream 4k movies and they do not have ways to play blue-ray in PCs.

Phenomenal

Submitted on Monday, August 01, 2016
By Nick
From Winnipeg

Strengths of the product

Display wise, these monitors are fantastic. Response rate, Color, Clarity. The bezel size is a reasonable 1cm. (for multi monitor) The headphone port on the back (audio split from HDMI/DP Feed) can be rather useful.

Weaknesses of the product

The T-Shaped base system that Samsung has moved to on this model is rather flimsy, Requires specific positioning to keep it from rocking/twisting. The constant menu popups/alerts when running lower resolution than 4k can get annoying. I wasn't able to find a way to disable them. The rocker/button menu system is really clunky.

Additional Comments

To correct another reviewer, These monitors DO have VESA capability (75x75mm Type D) All 3 I currently have are working well, no signs of dead pixels or discoloration. For people considering this monitor for semi-outdated hardware, Check your individual GPU for compatibility, My original DP1.2 card was unable to support the higher MHz / Transfer Rate required to run at 4k 60fps (despite the fact that DP1.2 is rated at that resolution).

Once you go 4k you will be forever annoyed at 1080

Submitted on Friday, January 22, 2016
By Gram
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

-4k in a computer (vs TV) your face is right next to the screen and you can easly see each pixel. -cheaper than 4x 1080's with thin bezel. -DP offers 60Hz refresh rate. -small/low profile (light) build. -Good response time for games.

Weaknesses of the product

-Not VISA mount. -Built in mount has not adjustability. -The blacks are so bright they are almost gray. -The plugs stick straight out the back and feels flimsy. -The screen activity timeout does not timeout if the content does not change for a set time. -No G-sync option.

Additional Comments

Cheap as you can get right now for 4k so good considering the market in early 2016. A good example of 4k is in WoW you can read a player's names when they are about 10 meters away but farther and the text becomes unreadable, with 4k this does not happen. When working with things like Visual Studio you can have multiple windows tiled up for debugging and running at the same time and read all of them at once

Excellent.

Submitted on Tuesday, January 12, 2016
By J M
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Great for PS4, Macbook Pro, and more!

Weaknesses of the product

Additional Comments

Great UHD LED monitor.
  • 1