Asus RT-AC3100 Dual Band Wireless Gigabit Router AiMesh

MX59865 RT-AC3100 Dual Band Wireless Gigabit Router AiMesh
MX59865 RT-AC3100 Dual Band Wireless Gigabit Router AiMesh MX59865 RT-AC3100 Dual Band Wireless Gigabit Router AiMesh MX59865 RT-AC3100 Dual Band Wireless Gigabit Router AiMesh MX59865 RT-AC3100 Dual Band Wireless Gigabit Router AiMesh

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 7 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
  • 1
Submitted on Friday, November 22, 2019
By Eugene
From Winnipeg

Strengths of the product

Very powerful, Easy to set up when I first bought it. 30 months ago. First firmware upgrade bricked the router. Luckily I had bought replacement insurance from Memory Express. I had to have it replaced. The second one ran very well, until Asus decided to put out a new firmware that has created issues with Smart Connect.

Weaknesses of the product

Smart connect (a feature that is designed to automatically chose the best connection) was upgraded in the Asus firmware. Asus provided a full page of settings to manipulate with no instruction manual to explain what the settings meant or to assist users. Asus does have a manual but it is clearly written for developers. There is an automatic feature built in to do the switching that used to work well however I find even with automatic turned on there are daily disconnects and daily reboots to reconnect the router to the internet.

Additional Comments

Performance and range are great. However the complexities and issues with the router have me looking at other solutions. The Asus 3100 is going to become a door stop. I certainly would not recommend this router to anyone who is not technologically advanced.

Maybe it was a lemon.

Submitted on Friday, September 21, 2018
By Bryan
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

It was very fast at first. Set up was fairly easy.

Weaknesses of the product

Didn't last long. Seems a bit finicky.

Additional Comments

Didn't even last for two weeks and I had to return and exchange. I've always been a Linksys fan so got the WRT32X AC3200 and holy crap it blew this Asus away. I download a lot of movies and I can't believe the download speeds. Insanely fast. Customer service is always quit helpful. Returned and Exchanged with ease. Maybe it was a lemon but I'm glad it happened so I can get another Linksys.

The WORST Parental Controls.

Submitted on Saturday, September 02, 2017
By Mike
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Nothing special. Performance does not seem to be any better than a router half the price.

Weaknesses of the product

Flakey WIFI. Drops connection to many phones in my house. The WORST Parental Controls I have seen. Only allows 16 MAC Addresses. You have to add each device one at a time by MAC Address. Good luck finding all the MAC Addresses in your house since each device can have 3. (WIFI 2.4ghz, WIFI 5ghz, wired). The default policy is to allow unrestricted access so new MAC Addresses will be unrestricted. Simple as switching the connection from 2.4 to 5ghz. You cannot have a school night or weekend setting

Additional Comments

Did I mention that you can only control 16 MAC Addresses? Every device potentially has 2 or 3 MAC Addresses, so you can only effectively control 4 or 5 devices/computers. What a load of CRAP. I expected much more in a $350 router.

RT-AC3100

Submitted on Tuesday, May 09, 2017
By John
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Excellent signal strength throughout 3200 square foot home. Replaced an RT-AC3200 which I gave to my daughter. the 3100 seems to give better coverage, as I now get good signal strength out in my back yard. Tried the the RT-AC5300 but the footprint of the unit was too big. You get the same performance minus one 5gz radio with the 3100 and its cheaper.

Weaknesses of the product

No smart connect. I know...its only dual band..different technology.

Additional Comments

Great router for the money.

Impressive

Submitted on Saturday, October 22, 2016
By John Waits
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Massive signal strength, rock solid performance, lots of features, easy to set up.

Weaknesses of the product

Expensive, large.

Additional Comments

The router is expensive but you get what you pay for. Performance blows away any previous wireless router I've owned. Replaced 2 access points and a repeater with this single unit, with better signal strength throughout. Very impressive.

Amazing Router

Submitted on Friday, April 08, 2016
By Chris
From Mirror, Alberta

Strengths of the product

The LAN is extremely efficient. While downloading the Router only lowers my total download speed from 24.5Mbits/sec to 24Mbits/sec. My old router would cut it down to a 1/3 of the speed without the router. The home I-cloud feature works great. Add files you want access to at any time any place onto an external Hard Drive, plug it into the router and you can access them even with your android phone even when you are out of WIFI range.

Weaknesses of the product

The WTFast Gamers Private Network is a joke using this router. It supports 8 Beta games, once I signed up says it is only a 14 day trial and then $9.99 US a month.

Additional Comments

I'm very happy with this purchase, I now have access and physical control to my files anywhere, I can stream music and movies to my TV, and phone. The router is very efficient with bandwidth, and I have noticed my wifi devices feel snappier when accessing the internet. Online games have a slightly lower ping compared to my old router. (Cisco/Linksys EA6500)

VERY POWERFUL!

Submitted on Sunday, February 28, 2016
By Computer Tech
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Its fast, has lots of features. The dual core processors actually makes a difference, I have tested having a router with single core and vs dual core you can see the power that the router has! I have never owned a ASUS router before, I always used D-link and Cisco, both which i have had die on me and not last as long. When I got the router it came with a free ASUS repeater and with the router alone i was getting solid coverage, with the repeater i have solid coverage.

Weaknesses of the product

None so far!

Additional Comments

Like i was saying before, this is the first ASUS router that i ever heard and im very happy with this purchase!
  • 1