Asus USB-AC55-B1 Dual Band Wireless-AC1300 USB 3.0 Wi-Fi Adapter

MX58850 USB-AC55-B1 Dual Band Wireless-AC1300 USB 3.0 Wi-Fi Adapter
MX58850 USB-AC55-B1 Dual Band Wireless-AC1300 USB 3.0 Wi-Fi Adapter MX58850 USB-AC55-B1 Dual Band Wireless-AC1300 USB 3.0 Wi-Fi Adapter MX58850 USB-AC55-B1 Dual Band Wireless-AC1300 USB 3.0 Wi-Fi Adapter

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: 3.6 / 5 With 7 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
  • 1
Friday, November 01, 2019
By: Anthony
From: Vancouver

Mr

Strengths:

• very fast, running on 5GHz wifi network and USB 3.0 with no issues • no problems running on windows, easy install • runs good on Linux (kernel 5.0.21) • small form factor is very convenient

Weaknesses:

• Bit pricey • The cap doesn't connect to the stick so you need to keep it safe somewhere you won't lose it • Poor documentation instructions on Linux install • Linux install.sh script that's included for easy install didn't work at all for me.

Additional Comments:

Overall this adapter gets the job done very well. I'm using it on a mining rig with Linux OS and there's absolutely no degradation of internet speed or performance of the rig. This adapter will give you the flexibility to have internet wherever you need in your home. Installing the adapter on Windows is super easy however, on Linux it's a bit of a nightmare. Documentation instructions are very poor and the install.sh script that's included didn't work at all for me. I ended up installing the device drivers and configuring the hardware manually. The adapter has been running great since.
Tuesday, September 19, 2017
By: aurel
From: calgary

Very fast and easy to use

Strengths:

On Shaw 150 Mbps I get on my old laptop 148 Mbps speed faster than my old ethernet board with 100 Mbps limit.

Weaknesses:

Works only with Windows 7, 8 and 8.1. Pricy...

Additional Comments:

I have a very fast router DLink and works very well with this Asus.
Tuesday, April 11, 2017
By: Spaz
From: Calgary, AB

Why is everyone so mad?

Strengths:

- It streams well, Netflix is our main use - It's nice to look at - Easy install - Dual band compatible

Weaknesses:

- Microwave disrupts the signal sometimes, I think this may be normal with wireless cards - Nowhere to put the cap when wifi card is plugged in

Additional Comments:

I'm not sure why so many people are upset with this product, we use it on a daily and haven't had any real issues with it. Perhaps a better wifi router is required with those users who are having issues?
Saturday, February 04, 2017
By: David
From: Calgary

Garbage

Strengths:

Easy to install, works for Facebook. (But that is about it)

Weaknesses:

Can't hold a constant connection, barley get through a youtube video. Don't even try playing a game on it. Te4sted with both USB 2.0 and 3.0, as well as 2.4 broadband and 5G.

Additional Comments:

It just doesn't work. after trying a bunch of USB wireless cards, got to say they just DON'T WORK.
Wednesday, September 07, 2016
By: Daniel
From: Edmonton

Awesome, but USB 3.0 functionality...

Strengths:

Upgraded from an older Asus adapter to this, am happy to say my download speeds have increased by more than double!

Weaknesses:

The USB 3.0 support is absolute garbage. Took a few minutes just to load a single webpage...

Additional Comments:

Does the job well if you don't plan to use USB 3.0!
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
By: Anonymous
From: Calgary

Reviewer below probably got a bad one, you can get one of these with confidence.

Strengths:

Fast and lag free wifi that works with the new wireless AC standard. The software is fairly easy to set up and allows you to select a different channel or band on the same network (useful if you download a lot, or play games on notoriously laggy but fast downloading university wifi). Design looks quite nice. If you don't like the software you can also use it through the windows built in wifi utility.

Weaknesses:

It's a bit big for a USB adapter but it has a long range and it's fast so I think it's reasonable. Easy to lose the cap.

Additional Comments:

Had this guy for over a week now, I have no issues with mine. Sometimes you get a bad one. Being able to use different channels on the same network could be a huge plus.
Friday, March 25, 2016
By: vince
From: winnipeg

garbage

Strengths:

good when it works works good the first day

Weaknesses:

After the first day I started losing connection and then it happens all the time and just ended up buying a new wireless pci card

Additional Comments:

Don't buy just a waste of time returning it. And not worth it for the price
  • 1