Thermaltake Commander Gaming Gear Combo Keyboard and Mouse Kit w/ LED Backlighting

MX56347 Commander Gaming Gear Combo Keyboard and Mouse Kit w/ LED Backlighting
MX56347 Commander Gaming Gear Combo Keyboard and Mouse Kit w/ LED Backlighting MX56347 Commander Gaming Gear Combo Keyboard and Mouse Kit w/ LED Backlighting MX56347 Commander Gaming Gear Combo Keyboard and Mouse Kit w/ LED Backlighting MX56347 Commander Gaming Gear Combo Keyboard and Mouse Kit w/ LED Backlighting

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: 3.9 / 5 With 8 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
  • 1
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
By: Jun
From: Calgary

Don't Buy

Strengths:

Has a decent quality cable, and the texture of the chin is comfortable and soft on the wrists/palms.

Weaknesses:

Everything else- Lighting is uneven, switches are inconsistent at best, and the keycaps are terrible. Within weeks the print on several of the keys were wearing off and all of the keys shine after just a few days of use. Feels cheap in the hand. There are plenty of office keyboards that feel better than this. Within a few days, the tab key started to register multiple inputs. Some of the keys are loose and clacky, whereas others are firm and smooth. The keyboard has cherry stems, but that doesn't matter when the bottom row has a non standard profile. The mouse is ok, but the click is fairly heavy, and the sensor skips out very often. Not great for gaming.

Additional Comments:

Get something like a cheap victsing/redragon keyboard with outemu switches for less than 40 dollars. As for the mouse, it's on par with any of the generic office mice. The buttons are not reassignable. If you don't want to spend a little more money, a generic office keyboard will serve you just as well as this one.
Sunday, March 22, 2020
By: Connor
From: Calgary

Meh

Strengths:

This combo is really cheap and is good for those on a budget. It's the best choice if you aren't going to be using your computer that often and want to save some coin.

Weaknesses:

The keyboard stopped working after a month or so, I didn't cause any physical damage to it but I guess you get what you pay for. I've read some other reviews and haven't seen anyone else experiencing this problem, so I assume mine was the 1/1000 that had a defect. However, my mouse is still going strong after using it for 3 years.

Additional Comments:

Eh it might "break" unexpectedly but I think it's worth a shot.
Thursday, December 05, 2019
By: Kevin
From: Calgary

Not bad, but not great.

Strengths:

Solid, durable and cheap. There are some combos around the same price on amazon but they appear to be more about looks than function, which this combo is more towards function. Not super high quality, but for forty bucks it's great. Mechanical keys are nice, and mouse is nice to use. All buttons functional.

Weaknesses:

Cant change the color, can only turn on, off and dim. Have had for 1 year, and the painted letters and numbers is worn off on keys used for gaming. W a s d and number keys. Keys on board are large and can be a pain If you like to type fast. Mouse isnt made for a bit more than average size hands, and isnt comfortable for heavy gaming.

Additional Comments:

All in all, you cant beat the combo. It's great for budget builds, or something to hold you over for a great amount of time while you save or wait for higher quality keyboard and mouse. That said, this is still a great set. I have had for a year and the only real ware seems to be just the pain on keys. Keys are still sturdy, mouse is still great, even without a mouse pad it works great. I recommend.
Monday, October 29, 2018
By: Win
From: Edmonton

Good value

Strengths:

Looks awesome, works great if you're just looking for keyboard and mouse that looks cool without going to one of those cheap generic Microsoft / Logitech / Dell /etc. stock products. Keys are pleasing to type on.

Additional Comments:

Pleasing to type on and looks cool. Feels like a quality product; I have rough hands as I type fast and can smash the keys all day. Mouse works great and is a delight to use. Can't get a better mouse/keyboard combo for $30. Bought this set for our admin lady in the office to pair with the new budget PC build. She loves it. For the same price purchased a Logitech wireless set and comparing this set to that is like comparing a Mercedes to a Ford; my hands can't behave the same on that at all. Wish I never cheaped out on something that someone is going to use for 8+ hours a day. Too bad they don't make a wireless version of this product. We'd like one for our conference room to work the HTPC connected to the TV at the other end of the room.
Saturday, July 14, 2018
By: Cal
From: Edmonton

Good value

Strengths:

- Decent combo of tactile typing and key response - windows button can be disabled - keyboard lighting can be turned off with a button on the keyboard

Weaknesses:

- mouse lighting cannot be configured - DPI button does work but gives no feedback -keyboard keys are slightly stiff for a gaming keyboard -Thermaltake customer support is nonexistent

Additional Comments:

I'm not that interested in the visual bells and whistles of a product like this. I bought it because the price is right and I wanted at least decent performance if I play a game. I'm not a hardcore gamer, I will play something like Fortnite, casually. This doesn't come with any drivers and the link to the manual on the website is down. So, I had to figure out some things that aren't that hard to figure out. To turn off the keyboard illumination there is a button right on the keyboard, beside the Fn key to turn it off and on. Programmable buttons will not work right away, but after an hour or so, not sure how or why, they worked for most functions like audio, off, volume control, calculator, browser, keyboard lock. The windows key can be deactivated by pressing down all the way on it, but to release you have to sort of nudge it from the bottom, rather than press it again, which would be intuitive. The keyboard keys are not quiet. They feel stiff and mechanical, but some people might want that. The mouse DPI button DOES work, but it doesn't change colour or flash or anything to let you know the command has been received. It appears to have only 4 different DPI settings. I think 800 is the lowest unfortunately. The mouse lighting can't be turned off and stays on after the computer is off, which is a huge annoyance. All told though, the price is right for a product that works mostly as expected.
Thursday, December 22, 2016
By: David
From: Calgary

Great combo

Strengths:

Both of these are at a very low price but i was so impressed by both the keyboard and the mouse. The mouse feels weird at first but it feels normal in just a few short days. I noticed that the LED backlight on the keyboard is a tad bit weak but hey, you get what you pay for. This doesn't mean that the keyboard is bad though, the sound every time you type is amazing. This feels like a mechanical keyboard but for a nice low price as a combo with the mouse. I recommend it for budget gamers.

Weaknesses:

Don't see many weaknesses other then the keyboard's dim LED. But i won't deduct a star just for that.

Additional Comments:

Overall this is a wonderful keyboard for budget gamers. Definitely would recommend to buy it.
Friday, November 25, 2016
By: Eric
From: Winnipeg

Great gaming keyboard :D

Strengths:

I have had this keyboard for 2 months now and there is no wearing of the keyboard, for me it has a great feeling to it because of the mechanical like keys, it has windows lock on it and I can switch the WASD keys to the arrow keys which is nice for some games.

Weaknesses:

The mouse is a bit slow moving across the screen for me but all you gotta do is press the DPI button on there once and it's the perfect speed for me. I gotta do this every time the computer starts up but it takes little effort to click the button so it's no problem.

Additional Comments:

I think its a great deal for a mouse and keyboard. I have it paired with the Corsair MM200 Mouse Pad, Medium, and it feels great. I would definitely recommend it, I will edit this review if anything happens in the future, as I have only had it for 2 months.
Tuesday, March 08, 2016
By: Matthew Curry
From: Calgary

Not a gaming keyboard.

Strengths:

None of the keys or leds have died in the past 6 or so months since i got it. not a bad typing keyboard.

Weaknesses:

Not a gaming keyboard the keys lack the feel expected of a gaming keyboard even for the price. I found you must apply to much pressure to keep the key pressed with playing fps shooter. i found myself standing at a dead stop while i let off the slightest bit. the space bar is starting to wear through the black coating and the blue led is leaking through. im very surprised this happened in such a short time.

Additional Comments:

Dont cheap out on something you use so much. I use to buy Velocity no name keyboards (Memory Express Brand) and i actually found them better im pretty sure than this one but overall very disappointed with it. I dont wanna have to pay the shipping to send it back to thermaltake to hope they warranty for warn keys but i honestly would be happy unless i got a better one from them as the keyboard is low quality. I'll be purchasing a Corsair K70 in the near future or possibly a Strafe.
  • 1