HyperX Cloud II Headset, Gun Metal

MX55712 Cloud II Headset, Gun Metal
MX55712 Cloud II Headset, Gun Metal MX55712 Cloud II Headset, Gun Metal MX55712 Cloud II Headset, Gun Metal MX55712 Cloud II Headset, Gun Metal

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 12 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission

Good headset - Poor durability

Submitted on Friday, September 15, 2017
By Brandon
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Great sound Easy setup

Weaknesses of the product

I've now had 3 of these headsets and they've all failed within 6 months.

Additional Comments

For the price there are many other headsets that will last longer. This headset has great sound quality but after purchasing my third one I can not justify buying another one. They simply do not endure any amount of time.

Microphone problems

Submitted on Thursday, July 20, 2017
By Shawn
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Great audio Comfortable fit Long cord with the USB extension cable Comes with replacement ear pads

Weaknesses of the product

The microphone failed 5 months in, after light use (maybe 12hrs a week, with mic rarely activated)

Additional Comments

Do a google search for 'microphone problems' before buying this headset... it could save you some money. No idea why it just up and quit, but no amount of support, different ports, different PCs or support from Kingston can fix it. It just plain died for no reason.

Excellent Headset

Submitted on Thursday, December 22, 2016
By Karl
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

-Comfortable -Durable -Great Quality -Clear Sound -Modifiable -Great for music

Weaknesses of the product

-Non So far

Additional Comments

I bought this headset almost a year ago and I still love it. It fits nice and snug and the ear pieces fit around your ear and not on top; making long gaming/video/browsing sessions enjoyable without having your ears hurt. You can take off the mic if you don't use it and or use a different mic. This headset also comes with two types of ear pieces for your liking. The quality is amazing. I've dropped them, thrown them around and once I accidentally sat on them. I would recommend this headset.

Great headset horrible cord

Submitted on Sunday, October 09, 2016
By Ditch
From Winnipeg

Strengths of the product

Love the headset! they feel great and for the price a good choice.

Weaknesses of the product

Cord is the worst I have seen, it seems to be tangled all the time. I used to have a headset with a flat cord that was awesome. I also don't like that the 7.1 is not on all the time (you need to hit the switch for it).

Additional Comments

Good for their price

Submitted on Saturday, July 09, 2016
By Keon
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

-great sound for gaming. I could hear the footsteps clearly -Nice strong braided cable that is also pretty long -The mic is good quality -very comfortable to use, I use mine for hours at a time without an issue -great price when they're on sale

Weaknesses of the product

-Sounds can get a little messy when there's too much -Not great for music, I much prefer my Sennheiser headphones -The 7.1 surround isn't true surround and it really doesn't sound great in games. I actually keep it off most of the time

Additional Comments

Great headset especially when its on sale and on a budget. The surround sound isn't the greatest I've used and they're definitely not meant for audiophiles in terms of music. (At least to me). In games they're awesome and the mic is super flexible so you can move it anywhere. I love my Cloud headset and I would highly recommend them for causal gaming .

Midway

Submitted on Sunday, March 27, 2016
By Jack
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Sound canceling, comfortable, adjustable and detachable microphone with standard Stereo headphones. Overall good sound quality without USB adapter. (only two speaker capable)

Weaknesses of the product

Advertised as 7.1 audio sound, not capable of it as there are only two speakers in headphones. Uses a synthesized reverb effect to fool your brain that there is more audio separation than there actually is. You hear clicks, pops and strange digital noise from the adapter if your computer is too busy to service the USB (lack of proper buffering). I do not get these issues with my creative USB sound device. Overpriced Stereo headphones.

Additional Comments

Disappointing I spent the cash looking for 7.1 surround sound quality headphones and getting regular stereo headphones. I'll keep these as they do work, but I was hoping for more. I'll likely need to spend more to get what I want. Not sure what Alex from Edmonton was talking about, Sidetone support is not a usual feature headphones come with. If you wanted that feature, you could always turn on your microphone monitoring from within windows, but that is a strange thing.. Just talk normally.

Great headsets if your not used to sidetone

Submitted on Friday, February 26, 2016
By Alex
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

- Great sound out of the box - Pretty comfy - Nice microphone - Good sound cancelling - Nifty little in-line sound controller/amplifier - Virtual surround sound

Weaknesses of the product

- USB device Although this headset does have a 3.5 jack it's in a TRRS format which means you'll need a special splitter to plug your headset in both the speaker jack and the mic jack. - NO SIDETONE (hearing yourself through the mic) In all honesty, I've returned these headsets for this reason alone. When I'm used to having a sidetone reassuring me how loud Im being, switching to a headset without it drives me mad! It makes me feel very uncomfortable.

Additional Comments

If your looking for a great budget headset I'd say go with the Hyperx Cloud I and not the Hyperx Cloud II. Although I haven't personally experienced the first model I have read online that it does everything better except for the fact that it does not include a virtual 7.1 surround sound feature. Also it will save you 20$ (at the time I write this review).

Best Headset I Have Owned!!!

Submitted on Thursday, February 25, 2016
By Andrew
From Winnipeg

Strengths of the product

I use this primarily as a PC gaming headset. The sound is amazing for the price. Virtual 7.1 surround is wicked on BF4! The mic is removable, which I love because i don't use it that much and the headset can be used in public without looking funny. Very lightweight and comfortable. I travel quite a bit and this headset has held up great! Great for movies and music as well.

Weaknesses of the product

I used it with my PS4 but the volume will only go so high. I cranked the volume on my PS4 sounds settings and in the in games sound settings but it was still to quiet.

Additional Comments

Great headset for the price. Use it for PC gaming, music, movies. Not so great for console gaming IMO.

Does Not Survive "Every Day Use"

Submitted on Tuesday, December 29, 2015
By Henry
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Sound is amazing for the price and I love the fabric ear cups that can be switched in. Works great for PC gaming, and listening to music. Comfortable for long sessions and the build quality on the cups are amazing.

Weaknesses of the product

Durability of the cable is OK at best for everyday use. Using them around the house listening to music is fine but if you intend on falling asleep with them on even once be warned. The jack is very fragile, with a moderate amount of stress the cable comes lose. They should have stuck with the two 3 pole connectors instead of going with one 4 pole connector. Along with the iffy sound card, that produces distorted audio just puts the last nail in the coffin.

Additional Comments

For the price they sound amazing and the build quality of the cups are on an entire level of its own. But if you intend on using them away from the computer be cautious, if any moderate stress on the cable causes it to become lose. In short would not recommend if you intend on using them around or out of the house.

Speechless.

Submitted on Saturday, December 19, 2015
By Justin Closs
From Edmonton, Alberta.

Strengths of the product

- Sounds as clear and crisp as a Sennheiser PC350 but with deeper bass tones. - Provided sound card is amazing, I had no need to use my actual one anymore. - Incredible noise canceling. - VERY comfortable. - Having additional ear pads is nice! - Includes a very nice carrying case. - The Virtual 7.1 is decent. - Simply Amazing!

Weaknesses of the product

- It doesn't fold. - The base cord with the 3.5mm audio jack isn't very long if you wanted to use a sound card other then the one provided (Its not really a weakness since the one it comes with is just fine!). - I don't recommend using the 7.1 feature for anything other then games. - The microphone needs to be beside your mouth to be clear.

Additional Comments

I have been completely surprised by this headset. For the price there is no reason why anyone should not buy it. This has been one of the best purchases I've made in some time for gaming accessories.