Welcome Guest
Announcements:
4
0 items ($0.00) in your cart
  • MX55510 850 EVO Series Solid State Drive, 500GB
  • MX55510 850 EVO Series Solid State Drive, 500GB
  • MX55510 850 EVO Series Solid State Drive, 500GB
  • MX55510 850 EVO Series Solid State Drive, 500GB

850 EVO Series Solid State Drive, 500GB

From 18 Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 18 Customer Reviews

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
All Reviews are screened for appropriate content and therefore may take 3-4 business days before displayed on our site.

Your review has been submitted successfully

Before your review is posted on our site it must first be approved by one of our editors, this usually takes 3-4 business days.

Post A Review

Not for Ryzen

12/12/2017 12:39:04 AM
Phillip from Edmonton writes:
Strengths:
-Probably fast -Probably reliable* -Probably a good deal* *Unless you have Ryzen with RAID Drivers
Weaknesses:
NOT COMPATIBLE with Ryzen RAID drivers (X370). The drive would work fine until I had to wake my computer up. More than a third of wake-ups, my computer would BSOD due to the drive not waking up (DRIVER_POWER_STATE_FAILURE). I tested with my old Kingston SSD and it woke up 100% of the time. I replaced this Samsung drive with an HP SSD and it also wakes up 100% of the time.
Summary:
This isn't the first time Samsung has done me a dirty. If you aren't using RAID drivers then this drive should be fine for you.

Faster than i thought

12/2/2017 8:44:50 PM
justin from winnipeg writes:
Strengths:
after two years of solid use tryed the updated magician software with rapid mode on and got over 964 mb/s read and write speeds
Weaknesses:
none
Summary:
only ssd out there with these speeds a must buy

400 GB or less

11/27/2017 9:01:16 AM
Sherman from Edmonton writes:
Strengths:
Light weight. Fast access/load.
Weaknesses:
Not actually 500 GB, more like ~400 GB.
Summary:
I did a backup of my PS4 HDD onto a 500 GB external drive. I installed this drive only to find that there really was 400 usable GB, thus thwarting my attempt and rendering my efforts futile. I would really have loved to keep and use this.

A great drive for windows 10

11/14/2017 10:08:45 AM
Dan from Kimberley BC writes:
Strengths:
Fast
Weaknesses:
None
Summary:
This is my first time own a SSD. I purchased this drive when I was in Calgary and am very happy with it. I was originally planning on purchasing a samsung 960 m.2 pci-e ssd but determined that a samsung evo 850 would better suit my needs and also give me double the space for just a few dollars more. So far I am very happy with this drive, windows installed in under 10 minutes. Booting up into windows takes about 30 seconds to desktop, I'm impressed. Assassin's Creed Origins loads in a blink.

Excellent Drive

12/15/2016 5:57:29 PM
Richard from Edmonton writes:
Strengths:
Fast, reliable, decent price
Weaknesses:
not the cheapest drive out there????
Summary:
I use this as my game drive with a 250 Pro as my boot/OS drive; load times are super fast and it hasn't given me any issues in a year.....would recommend.

Evo 850 500 GB

11/30/2016 10:21:29 AM
Michael from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
Very Fast Good Value Great Boot Times
Weaknesses:
Random Write Speed in Samsung Magician Performance Benchmark has fallen to around 77 - 85k IOPS from 90-100k at purchase date, though haven't noticed performance drop. 4.2TB written to drive, still going strong. NOT A DRIVE WEAKNESS - no included sata to usb cable, potentially necessary, esp for cloning.
Summary:
Use it for running Virtual Machines on my laptop, and they work great! Speed on them is truly incredible. When copying VM's (approx 8gb) within the drive, see speeds of up to 440MB/s (!!!!) Smaller files (approx 1gb) copy pretty much instantly. Formatted Capacity with windows 10: 466 GB

Color Me Impressed

11/4/2016 12:03:42 AM
R.T. from Edmonton writes:
Strengths:
-Great improvement over mechanical HD for speed and noise (but you knew that) - I was super impressed with the bundled software. It ensured my system was using its new shiny SSD to its fullest potential <-- cant stress this enough, from the cloning software to the small monitoring program its all aces. - Price is awesome for what you get, a great warranty and trusted brand name. Not to mention excellent benchmarks in all categories.
Weaknesses:
None noted after > 1month of use.
Summary:
Very happy with my purchase. All my research kept bringing me back to the 850 EVO and havent regretted it for a moment. Considered the pro version but do not feel I am missing out in any way and happy to save the cash.

Buy It

10/23/2016 9:42:09 AM
Garth from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
- Noticeably faster even than high end offerings from other SSD makers. Great price at Memory Express,
Weaknesses:
None, but note the instructions show a SATA to USB adapter which is actually not in the box. I already had one. Otherwise, just use internal SATA for setup. No brackets or any other accessories but most of us have boxes full of this stuff anyway.
Summary:
Cloned existing high-end 250 GB SSD to this because I needed more space for "C" drive. Used AOMEI cloner which runs as Windows job rather than clunky stand-alone Acronis. This unit is really fast. My old SSD was already amazing but this noticeably beats it so not only a capacity upgrade but performance also. Great value and highly recommended. Tip: After cloning you may see a large unallocated region you cannot access. Use Control Panel to "extend" the cloned parition to the end of this. Easy.

Upgrade now!

7/28/2016 9:28:05 AM
Mark from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
Lightning fast
Weaknesses:
Summary:
A true upgrade that will wow you immediately. Going from well over 6 minute boot up time (before you can really do anything) to, at most, 20 seconds (and you can start working before that). Ditch that HDD (and use it for a data drive). A fantastic upgrade that will improve your computer performance.

Great Performance

6/7/2016 5:36:31 AM
Computer Tech from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
One of the best drives out there on the market! I bought one of these for my laptop and the red series for my desktop, the performance is outstanding!! My laptop had a hybrid and it just seemed to randomly loose performance, so got this model which was was better than a hybrid, its great because i can take my laptop out of my backpack and quickly do up a quote and not have to wait for like 5 minutes for a boot up sequence.
Weaknesses:
None
Summary:
Probably one of the best upgrades you can do for any computer and give it some new life and a huge boost of performance!!