WD Red 6TB NAS Desktop Hard Drive, SATA III w/ 64MB Cache

MX53339 Red 6TB NAS Desktop Hard Drive, SATA III w/ 64MB Cache
MX53339 Red 6TB NAS Desktop Hard Drive, SATA III w/ 64MB Cache

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 8 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
  • 1

Surprise, only 5400 rpm.

Submitted on Monday, February 12, 2018
By Dan
From Winnipeg

Strengths of the product

Massive

Weaknesses of the product

Nowhere does the description list the drive RPM, and I didn't realize these were only 5400prm. It's my own fault for not doing sufficient research. Be warned these are slow drives, not ideally suited for use as a primary internal drive if you care about performance.

Additional Comments

Big but slow. Only 5400rpm. There are better drives at this price point.

no complaints. Fast reliable drives.

Submitted on Wednesday, August 09, 2017
By Michael
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

I have owned all sorts of WD Red NAS capacity's the 6TB is the current right balance of $/TB As per reviewer Mitch wondering about the missng 500GB? there is nothing missing hard drives and operating systems read what makes a byte different... google it. WD offers excellent Advanced warranty in case of failure in is 3 year (5 Year for Pro Models) where you can get a new drive shipped and sending faulty one back within 30 days.

Weaknesses of the product

Price when deploying many of these for a home based server holding up to 12 drives !

Additional Comments

A great NAS drive

Submitted on Friday, June 09, 2017
By Jordan
From Leduc

Strengths of the product

Drive works great with Synology, I have 6x 4TB and 3x 8TB Reds in the Syno and a few other randoms, my NAS is on 24/7 with activity probably 40% of the time, sometimes more. The Drives are quiet, cool, and reliable over the long period of time That I have tested them.

Weaknesses of the product

None.

Additional Comments

As per the complaints by another user on here, "NOT 6.0TB (5.5TB Drive) heavy", this is an ill informed and non-viable complaint. HDDs are sold in TB's of physical data space, but when a computer reads the HDD it reads it in powers of 2, which means you normally get 0.91 TB on the PC as the HDD says. This is normal among manufacturers and the way operating systems work. Stating you got 5.5 TB from the drive (or more specifically 5.46) is absolutely normal. As for heavy... its a brick of metal...

Awesome drive !

Submitted on Wednesday, April 05, 2017
By Greg
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

So many it's hard to list them all , most of all very reliable and fast. I had it running in my Plex Media server running Ubuntu Linux for last 6 months and not a hick up. Even transferring very larder amount of media no drop in speed. Very good drive, I am looking to buy another as a media backup.

Weaknesses of the product

none so far

Additional Comments

i noticed that everyone posts about it not being true 6TB but none of the drives provide actual drive volume. if you look at any drive no matter the size actual formatted space allocated to storage will be less than than what is says in the box.

Good NAS drives

Submitted on Tuesday, July 05, 2016
By Mike
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

- solid performance - reliable - operational RAID 5 for 2 years without hiccup

Weaknesses of the product

They tend to drop off RAID when the NAS is set to allow drives to sleep. Once that setting is removed they don't have issues.

Additional Comments

Just so all the people know, the new standard is 1000:1 not 1024:1 like it used to be. So, this drive is 6000GB, which winds up showing up as 5.5TB in their old OS-based metric which runs calculations based on orders of magnitude of 1024. Get over it and don't review negatively based on your ignorance. The drive is solid and reliable and gives good NAS performance as it was designed and advertised to do.

Is as advertised.

Submitted on Friday, March 11, 2016
By James
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Works reliably Not made by Seagate

Weaknesses of the product

5400rpm - slow. Not made Hitachi Won't make me coffee

Additional Comments

When people post it is 5.5tb where did 500gb go, just because all hard drive manufacturers advertise capacity improperly doesn't mean they should be allowed to give negative review to seller. where 1kb = 1024 bytes not 1000 bytes. Hexidecimal is not based on powers of 10.

5.5TB not 6TB

Submitted on Monday, December 28, 2015
By mitch
From calgary

Strengths of the product

nas drive, quiet, works, heavy

Weaknesses of the product

NOT 6.0TB (5.5TB Drive) heavy

Additional Comments

mounted in xpenology NAS and it shows at 5.49TB (where did that extra 500GB we paid for go?)

Excellent

Submitted on Wednesday, August 12, 2015
By Terry
From St Isidore

Strengths of the product

Space Speed

Weaknesses of the product

Price (but you can't expect it for free).

Additional Comments

Excellent drive, speeds are good and temps are decent on load. I was getting around 100-144MB/s on large file transfers and 80-100MB/s on smaller files. Temps stayed around 32degrees while transferring. The WD Black drive I was transferring from was at 38degrees. These were single drive transfers not set up in RAID. This drive has loads of space, but the formatted capacity is 5.45TB. Will have to wait and see if this drive is going to hold it's own.
  • 1