Vantec NexStar 6G 3.5in External Enclosure

MX52801 NexStar 6G 3.5in External Enclosure
MX52801 NexStar 6G 3.5in External Enclosure MX52801 NexStar 6G 3.5in External Enclosure MX52801 NexStar 6G 3.5in External Enclosure

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 8 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
  • 1

Decent for the price

Submitted on Saturday, July 29, 2017
By Ed
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Plug and play. Speed is acceptable.

Weaknesses of the product

Additional Comments

Reasonable price, goes together quickly and easily. Had no issues at all.

Soooooooooooo Slow

Submitted on Monday, April 24, 2017
By K Rakos
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Looks okay

Weaknesses of the product

Poor USB cable, barely stays plugged into host computer. Really really slow, bought this to replace a FireWire 800 enclosure but almost no improvement. If you have a hard drive that you want to punish, the this is the case for you.

Additional Comments

Save your money and buy something else, somewhere else because this is all they carry. Try OWC out of the US.

Poor quality

Submitted on Monday, May 09, 2016
By Guy Delongchamp
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

nice looking aluminum

Weaknesses of the product

First one broke, brought it back got another one. Plugged it in and it didn't work either. STAY AWAY from this product.

Additional Comments

Piece of junk

piece of junk

Submitted on Thursday, November 05, 2015
By WordsWork! Communications, Inc.
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

I don't have a good thing to say about this product, particularly in comparison to the Velocity cases which - in my opinion - were terrific.

Weaknesses of the product

Screws don't fit properly. Instructions are sub-standard, too. Virutally impossible to remove drive and I won't be able to re-use the case when the drive fails.

Additional Comments

As a rule, I have been nothing but happy with the products I purchase from Memory Express. This one, however, leaves me questioning the judgement of your buyers.

Looks Nice & Works As Intended

Submitted on Friday, December 12, 2014
By Justin
From Winnipeg

Strengths of the product

Not much bigger than the hard drive inside, so minimal desktop space is lost. Made of brushed aluminium, looks good and feels reasonably solid. Definitely better design and build quality than the old design than the older NexStar units. Open front allows for some passive airflow to aid HDD cooling. USB 3.0 provides some future proofing, mechanical hard drives are presently not nearly fast enough to actually use the available bandwidth. Better plug design than the NexStar units.

Weaknesses of the product

Blue LED, I don't like LED's in general but blue ones tend to be exceptionally bright and distracting. Though it can be changed or unplugged easily enough. Brushed aluminium loves to hold on to fingerprints.

Additional Comments

Works well, looks nice. Only complaints I have with the device are easily fixable by me. Now if only MemoryExpress sent both of the enclosures I ordered and paid for and not just the one I received everything would be great... (I've contacted them about that)

Not Working

Submitted on Tuesday, November 25, 2014
By RH
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Looks good and easy to assemble. Looks like decent construction.

Weaknesses of the product

No Driver Access not working. Drive not detected when I plugged in to Mac or PC. I tried a couple different drives in it and none worked. I will be returning today.

Additional Comments

Stay away from this one even though it looks nice.

Not so fast..

Submitted on Monday, November 24, 2014
By Fred
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Pretty

Weaknesses of the product

Slow.

Additional Comments

Same speed as my ancient usb2 enclosure.

Great HDD enclosure

Submitted on Thursday, November 20, 2014
By Matt
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Awesome aluminum case looks great in my front room. Easy to install the HDD in and no drivers needed! good cooling

Weaknesses of the product

none

Additional Comments

Great HDD enclosure, looks great and keeps my drive cool.
  • 1