Asus USB-AC51 Dual-Band Wireless AC600 Network Adapter, USB 2.0

MX50055 USB-AC51 Dual-Band Wireless AC600 Network Adapter, USB 2.0
MX50055 USB-AC51 Dual-Band Wireless AC600 Network Adapter, USB 2.0 MX50055 USB-AC51 Dual-Band Wireless AC600 Network Adapter, USB 2.0

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: 2.9 / 5 With 9 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
  • 1
Sunday, December 01, 2019
By: James Swanson
From: Calgary

Business owner

Strengths:

Works great when it works, but then it stops.

Weaknesses:

Total fail after a few hours of the computer on sleep. Requires reboot and manual reinsertion of device, and then manual selection of network Worse yet, longer downloads are dropped and fail.

Additional Comments:

I would never buy this product again and will likely replace it soon. A separate PC right next to it on the same fast mesh network has no such issues so it's this device. Waste of money. Very disappointed.
Thursday, April 04, 2019
By: Klothex
From: Calgary

Piece of crap-give this thing a wide birth

Strengths:

Syncs to native Win 10 drivers out of the box, don't run the crappy Asus software

Weaknesses:

Died after 9 days of minimal use (a couple of hours each evening). This is the worst Asus product I have ever purchased. I am returning it while resisting the urge to smash it with a hammer. Terrible range and performance even with its limited USB 2.0 chipset, it came nowhere close to 480 Mbps on either band. I am about 15 feet from the router. Asus, shame on you for wasting my time.

Additional Comments:

Don't buy this piece of junk. Either spend a bit more on a PCI-x card or buy another brand altogether.
Friday, December 14, 2018
By: Lorin
From: Calgary NE

Worked well until it died

Strengths:

Easy setup. small. Range. Speed.

Weaknesses:

Short Life. Gets hot.

Additional Comments:

The product worked well, until one day when I was transferring a movie to my NAS, and also copied another movie to the computer it just died in the middle of the transfer. I was about a month or two after the one year warranty. Switched back to wired network. I don't know if based on my experience I would buy it again. The other one that I bought together with this one is still working in my son's computer.
Monday, November 05, 2018
By: Michael
From: Calgary

No Linux support

Weaknesses:

Box says it works with linux; however after looking into it appears that it only easily works with a much older kernel.

Additional Comments:

Does not work with Ubuntu 18.4 out of the box. Hopefully will work after work; however you cant even compile the driver.
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
By: Cancruiser
From: Calgary

Mr.

Strengths:

small, compact, easy to setup

Weaknesses:

Started to slow down gradually until finally quit

Additional Comments:

Bought this adapter for my laptop. It ran O.K. initially but after about a year started to slow down and freeze occasionally. Finally it quit working altogether. It can see the wifi networks but unable to connect to any. It has been tried on multiple laptops and PCs with no success so it is not a software/driver issue. Would not recommend and will not buy it again.
Saturday, February 17, 2018
By: john
From: winnipeg

excellent little adapter

Strengths:

-small size -high speed -in depth and powerful setup utility

Weaknesses:

-does not interact well with native windows network utilities

Additional Comments:

I bought this after the built in adapter on my laptop failed, plugged it in and selected my SSID and password from the ASUS network utility. this thing gave me information on my local wifi traffic that you would expect from a wifi scanner, I have been using it for 3 years now with no issues, I would recommend it to anyone needing wifi capability.
Thursday, June 08, 2017
By: Mark
From: Calgary

Failed After 5 Months

Strengths:

Small, easy set-up, great speed.

Weaknesses:

Longevity. Never did get my mail in rebate.

Additional Comments:

I had expected to get more than five months use from mine. I had also expected to get the $15 promised by rebate (which they assured me was sent). If you buy this, get their extended warranty; you'll likely need it.
Sunday, March 19, 2017
By: Ariel
From: Winnipeg, MB

amazing!

Strengths:

Price, Size, Speed and Easy Setup.

Weaknesses:

None so far!

Additional Comments:

Save yourself some work from those long ethernet cables. Just get this and plug it in.
Thursday, May 12, 2016
By: Chris
From: Calgary

Small Form Factor and Easy Setup

Strengths:

- Windows 10 Pro x64 installed without needing disc or drivers from another Computer / USB. - Prefect length to avoid getting destroyed too easily when moving the laptop around. - Decent range

Weaknesses:

- Had to download updated drivers from Asus site before it would see 5GHz networks.

Additional Comments:

Perfect small replacement wifi usb adapter which is easy to setup and performs as expected. So far extremely stable and stays at 433Mbps constantly.
  • 1