Netgear Nighthawk R7000 AC1900 Smart WiFi Router 802.11ac Dual Band Gigabit

MX48616 Nighthawk R7000 AC1900 Smart WiFi Router 802.11ac Dual Band Gigabit
MX48616 Nighthawk R7000 AC1900 Smart WiFi Router 802.11ac Dual Band Gigabit

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: 3.3 / 5 With 28 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
Friday, September 11, 2020
By: Ro
From: Edmonton, AB

Poor speeds

Strengths:

(1) Can remotely administer the router: such as check connected devices, check activity on the router, reboot the router. (2) When the ISP router is in Bridge mode, from the Nighthawk app, you can monitor the internet speeds between the ISP router and this router. (3) 90-day tech support, and 1 year hardware replacement warranty. Both can be extended to upto 2-years for an additional charge. (4) OpenVPN and QoS are good features. I find the QoS a bit outdated.

Weaknesses:

(1) They talk about beamforming in the specifications, but I didn't find it worth. For a 600mbps internet connection, I was getting 160mbps on the 5G, and under 100mbps on the 2.4G. (2) When hardwired, I barely got 190mbps for the internet connection. When I disconnect the Netgear , and plug my laptop directly to the ISP router, I get the ISP-advertised speeds. Sometimes, slightly more. I had called tech support, and they just kept downgrading, upgrading firmware and performing factory reset on the router. The results were the same. Returning the router back to Memory Express

Additional Comments:

Aside from a mobile app, QOS and VPN functions, I didn't find much benefits for this router.
Friday, July 20, 2018
By: CK
From: Edmonton

Router throttles your bandwidth

Strengths:

None.

Weaknesses:

Price, functionality, dependability.

Additional Comments:

This was a replacement for my last 3 warranty-replaced R8000's. It claims to have nice features like OpenVPN, VLAN, etc. but none of them actually work. OpenVPN constantly has certificate errors, QoS and Access Control inhibit the router to being virtually unusable, filters don't actually do anything... I found my connection on this router was extremely slow. Tested it at 40/6 mbps when I should be getting 300/300. Even on fresh factory reset. I switched to another brand (non-MemX) and am getting my full speed and no issues. I will never buy another Netgear. Worst product out there.
Friday, November 24, 2017
By: Fedup
From: Winnipeg

Netgear support is bad

Strengths:

May be looks

Weaknesses:

2 of 4 lan ports died 2 mths after warranty expired. Netgear support will not even talk to you unless u pay them $50 an hr. Only offer free softwae support for first 90days after purchase. Wished I had bought IPR from ME for extended period.

Additional Comments:

Look for another brand other than Netgear.
Thursday, July 13, 2017
By: Miles
From: Winnipeg

Its a good router!

Strengths:

I have had this router for just over 2 years now and it's been amazing! I've actually been using it as a switch because i have my DHCP server on my ISP's router. - Easy to setup. - DD-WRT support (but I still run the stock firmware) - Great user interface. - I have not ever needed to reset it! - The Wi-Fi is great.

Weaknesses:

It gets pretty warm when it sits flat because there are no vents on the top, so heat gets trapped. To mitigate this issue i wall mounted the router so the heat can rise out of the vents.
Saturday, May 20, 2017
By: tom
From: Airdrie

BUYER BEWARE!

Strengths:

Bought this router 1year ago. Wan port died warrenty expired 2 weeks ago! Netgear would not help me unless I paid 90.00 for phone support! I have discovered that this is an issue with this product. Your only get 90 DAYs of tech support. You then have to pay to get any help. If you by this get the IPR or you will be out of luck
Monday, January 30, 2017
By: Grimley
From: Montreal

Great router

Strengths:

Solid platform that has garnered many admirers over the years.

Weaknesses:

Stock firmware (especially the interface) is not the best. If you want something pretty that does everything for you, look elsewhere.

Additional Comments:

Several uninformed reviews here. This unit runs well on stock firmware and really shines with Tomato.
Thursday, October 27, 2016
By: Arnold
From: Calgary

Awesome product, worth the money!

Strengths:

- Excellent speed, range and features - 2,500 sq ft 2-story home, put the R7000 in the basement and measured signal strength throughout the house with mobile app. Strong even in the back yard. Plug USB devices and stream directly to your TV, works great! - Very easy to set up - Easy user interface - Firmware updates are a piece of cake! - Sturdy build quality, especially the antennas.

Weaknesses:

- Big and bulky - Wall mounting was a bit troublesome

Additional Comments:

A great router that will outperform any product provided by your stingy internet provider.
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
By: Dale
From: Calgary

netgear nighthawk ac1900 model R7000

Strengths:

when it works, which is not often, its good

Weaknesses:

Most times this router cannot get a dns connection. The internet lights shine bright and my windows says there is an internet connection, but alas, thats a falsehood as it is not connected to the internet. diagnostics indicate no internet as the router cannot locate the dns server.

Additional Comments:

I have had to replace this unit 4 times within a year and a half. twice the units would not work brand new out of the box. I would suggest your money would be better spent on a different router.
Saturday, March 12, 2016
By: Ed
From: Calgary

OK, but better ones out there

Strengths:

2.4GHz is good. Nice range and stability. Firmware updates have been somewhat regular and this has helped. Added features for advanced settings has improved.

Weaknesses:

5GHz radio is very unstable even with firmware updates. USB HDD usage - don't buy this unit if you want to actually use that feature. 4 Different HDD by 3 manufacturers, including one that is on the approved list - still problems. Especially the USB3. The USB 2 is better but failures there as well.

Additional Comments:

If you have a timer to reboot this unit every night in the middle of the night it might work OK for you. If I could afford it, I would but a different router. Overall?? It seems to be OK but I just can't 'trust it' to be there for me.
Friday, February 19, 2016
By: Rob
From: Calgary

5Ghz is flaky

Strengths:

-Great range -Great speeds -Easy to set up, and takes the very minimum of oversight/knowledge -Firmware is great for people who don't want have to figure things out

Weaknesses:

-5Ghz band is flaky and the 5Ghz radio seems to drop very frequently -No stand for different orientations -Although the stock firmware is easy to use, there are very minimal advanced settings

Additional Comments:

Exchanged for a different router with a more reliable 5Ghz radio. If the 5Ghz band isn't critical for you and you don't require an advanced firmware (without going aftermarket) then this router would be just fine for you.