Asus USB-AC56 Dual-band Wireless-AC1300 USB 3.0 Wi-Fi Adapter

MX48124 USB-AC56 Dual-band Wireless-AC1300 USB 3.0 Wi-Fi Adapter
MX48124 USB-AC56 Dual-band Wireless-AC1300 USB 3.0 Wi-Fi Adapter MX48124 USB-AC56 Dual-band Wireless-AC1300 USB 3.0 Wi-Fi Adapter MX48124 USB-AC56 Dual-band Wireless-AC1300 USB 3.0 Wi-Fi Adapter MX48124 USB-AC56 Dual-band Wireless-AC1300 USB 3.0 Wi-Fi Adapter

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 8 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
  • 1

Issues with windows 10

Submitted on Friday, June 30, 2017
By Clayton
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

windows xp to 8.1 works great. Good speeds

Weaknesses of the product

windows 10 5 ghz band is broken. works if you force to b g n but other then that totally broken. Asus phone support said patch coming but windows 10 out for a 2 years and no driver update yet this product is doa

Additional Comments

Avoid if you are using windows 10 or plan for future upgrades.

Dont make the mistake of buying this.

Submitted on Saturday, May 20, 2017
By Aaron
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Good connection

Weaknesses of the product

So cheaply made its the cheapest plastic and the USB port is very easy to bend or damage and if it bends even slightly The warranty is completely void mine is slightly bend It still works perfectly I have the in store warranty but it does not cover any physical damage in anyway And that's fucked up considering how cheap its made And it was all a waste I was gonna buy one I put inside the computer through PCI-e and the salesmen told me this was 5x faster and I wouldn't regret it and Here I am

Additional Comments

Garbage

Full Bars

Submitted on Monday, November 21, 2016
By Marv Bonneau
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Extremely sensitive antenna

Weaknesses of the product

Installed this on a Raspberry Pi running Libreelec. 2.4 was 60%, now 2.4 and 5 are pinned at 100%. Big improvement on Kodi performance. Super pleased and brainless install. Just Plug and Play!

Additional Comments

Not sure why others are having issues

Submitted on Thursday, September 29, 2016
By Aaron
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

The provided antenna makes for very strong connections. I often get full bars connecting to a 5GhZ network while my phone cannot connect from the same distance away. The base is also a nice addition

Weaknesses of the product

I wish the cord from the base was a bit longer, but that can be fixed with an extra USB to USB cable On very rare occasions, it won't connect to a network on startup but a reboot fixes the issue

Additional Comments

I bought this guy a few months ago because the card in my laptop would cut in and out constantly, now I have never had that issue. Another reason is because connecting to a 5GhZ network was tricky. My router was just able to reach my laptop. I tried using WiFi extenders but those didn't work. Turns out I just needed to have a stronger connection. I don't use the provided software from Asus but instead just use Windows 10 to manage it. Make sure you plug it into a USB 3.0 port

waste of time

Submitted on Tuesday, August 11, 2015
By bob
From Winnipeg

Strengths of the product

Basically nothing except for the materials that was used to make it.

Weaknesses of the product

The software is slow,lagging, and glitchy. The original windows 7 software works way better but when It comes to the signal to stay connected, it can't connect to a faraway connection that my cell phone can connect to and my cell phone has similar antennas as this USB adapter.

Additional Comments

Before I bought this I did a lot of research into this USB adapter and on another website like memory express it showed 4 stars in posted reviews. But on the memory express site it got bad reviews that I just decided to ignore and go and buy and try it out. But only after using it for 3 days I was extremely disappointed and got a full refund. I will stick to Asus notepads instead of their USB adapters, because I bought a Asus notepad from memory express last year and it still works very well.

Where is the AC1300 Firmware?

Submitted on Thursday, June 04, 2015
By Dean
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Plug and Play Speed Convenience

Weaknesses of the product

No firmware update to AC1300 Bloatware management console

Additional Comments

After initial install I had a connection, but it was slow (0.81 Mbps). After a reboot it got a lot faster (64.62 Mbps). I installed the ASUS control centre for the ASUS ISB-AC56 Dual Band USB Adapter, and it told me to upgrade my USB bios settings. I haven't seen any significant improvement. How do I flash the ROM, as in the Memory Express product information: "Used to be AC1200, but a new ROM Flash (available for AC1200 versions) enables AC1300" - there's no information on the ASUS site.

Garbage

Submitted on Wednesday, September 17, 2014
By DW
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

- NONE

Weaknesses of the product

- Complete JUNK

Additional Comments

This USB network adapter is junk! If you install the drivers, it will BSOD on you in windows 8.1. If you try to stream anything across PC's it's junk. You need to disable QoS to have a stable stream, but it slows your connection down to 50mbps. What a joke.

disappointing

Submitted on Monday, July 14, 2014
By JD
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

promises!

Weaknesses of the product

Flakey -- had to download a driver update to get this thing to "talk" -- though it suggested a good connection -- even then the data throughput was disappointing Driver consistently popped up suggestion that performance would improve if connected to a super-speed USB port -- tried this on two separate machines, 3 different USB3 interfaces -- ensured latest drivers in all cases -- one machine was a fresh Win7Pro install -- one was 32 bit, the other 64 bit -- still that nagging USB3 concern

Additional Comments

Maybe wait a while for this -- (confession) -- I didn't have the time or patience to follow up with ASUS tech support ... I'll maybe try again when they have this with a 3-antenna extension and some effective beam-shaping BECAUSE WE'RE ALL GOING TO WANT THAT!
  • 1