Asus RT-AC68U Dual-Band Wireless AC1900 Gigabit Router AiMesh

MX48122 RT-AC68U Dual-Band Wireless AC1900 Gigabit Router AiMesh
MX48122 RT-AC68U Dual-Band Wireless AC1900 Gigabit Router AiMesh MX48122 RT-AC68U Dual-Band Wireless AC1900 Gigabit Router AiMesh MX48122 RT-AC68U Dual-Band Wireless AC1900 Gigabit Router AiMesh

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 22 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission

Awesome router

Submitted on Tuesday, November 18, 2014
By Bogdan Bartos
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

You can get DD-WRT on this router and pimp it up to get more features. It can do a lot. It's almost an overkill for a home environment. Dual band comes in handy and it's AC. Faster dual core CPU. It can also do IPv6 that is awesome. Can work in an access point/repeater/router mode that will give you a lot of flexibility.

Weaknesses of the product

The form factor is not applealing at all - it looks bulky. Also the fact that it can consume 30W of power makes it look bad, but this seems to be normal for higher end routers.

Additional Comments

Awesome router that can do DD-WRT. Consumes a lot of power, but stands up to the challenge. Probably the best router around for the $200 price range. I would recommend this to a business that want to run unmanaged, but still have control over the network and get a reliable service. 4/5 stars since it's power hungry and the form factor is not the greatest. As a note, the router does not heat up - it just stays warm. Maybe 40-50C maximum.

Best Router on the market! Asus never dissapoints.

Submitted on Tuesday, May 13, 2014
By Andrew
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Hackable with TomatoUSB (Shibby firmware works perfectly, and custom firmware is fully supported by Asus). Fast Speeds with AC radio, and all the way down to N and G. Rock solid processing. Full gigabit speed on wired, no issues there.

Weaknesses of the product

Really expensive.

Additional Comments

This is the true enthusiast router. Hackable with DD-WRT and TomatoUSB, this is the new school WRT54G for router enthusiasts. The custom firmware is supported by Asus, so you will never have to worry about losing your tweaks. High speed, solid, and never had to reboot it once. And it looks nice if that is what you are into (mine is stuck in my basement so I could care less)

Stops working after 24 hours

Submitted on Tuesday, April 29, 2014
By Q
From Coquitlam, BC

Strengths of the product

speed, features, strong signal

Weaknesses of the product

After first night of perfect performance, it stopped working the second day. Wifi SSID is still broadcasted but no computers can connected, from desktop with ASUS 802.11AC and laptop with Intel Centrino N. Even Ethernet direct connection cannot get an IP to the laptop. After power cycle, it works perfectly fine again. I created a support case and called ASUS, they say there's no known issue and they cannot give a solution.

Additional Comments

"Just a glitch, reset it and try again. It's common 'isolated case' for new routers." -- ASUS Support says. But I don't have much time left to try it. I better return it before the 7-day return time expires. Going back to the slow but more reliable RT-N56U for a while.

Good out of the box, better with different firmware.

Submitted on Saturday, April 26, 2014
By Don
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

-MIMO allows for great throughput. -Appears to have a very strong signal on both radios. -Functionality is even better with DD-WRT Firmware. -The range for 5ghz is better than I thought it would be. -For most users this device will work great out of the box, different firmware is not necessarily required except for specific reasons.

Weaknesses of the product

Can't do a wireless media bridge on 5Ghz plus an access point on the 2.4Ghz range with the stock firmware. I had to install DD-WRT. There is a DD-WRT build in the AC68U install forum that resolved this however. -The stock firmware doesn't provide enough configuration options for advanced users, thus gets 4 instead of 5 stars.

Additional Comments

Bought a pair of these for the purpose of doing a wireless bridge between my house and my garage suite, plus AP in both places. I've now eliminated all previous complicated hardware and simply have these two setup because they have dual radios. In the house is the 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz network as access points using OEM Firmware, then in the suite is this unit using DD-WRT to bridge on 5Ghz, and then access point on 2.4Ghz, this setup works fantastic where previous hardware failed.

Worth it

Submitted on Friday, April 25, 2014
By Titan
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Great WiFi coverage. I use it in my office. I used to have two 802.11N routers and there were still spots that couldn't receive good connection. This one covers it all with full bars!! I got another one at my house too, replaced my old N router. I couldn't do airplay from my iPhone 5S to my TV well, the video was so choppy. (i like to mirror my iPhone game play to my TV). But now I can. Live game play is smooooth!!

Weaknesses of the product

Too many features. Too pricy. The router's firmware upgrade failed one. reset didn't work. Just right before I gave up, i found out that it was only the hard wire not working. WiFi still worked. And I was able to upgrade the firmware again through WiFi. Rebooted it and it was able to work.

Additional Comments

If you are a technology savvy like I am, or you got the money, this router will not disappoint you.

Wow

Submitted on Saturday, March 29, 2014
By Fred
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

It is good at everything rightout of the box. Has settings to set it up as several different devices including as an access point, which is what I wanted. Seems very stable with good range and excelent throughput. Asus supplied firmware has lots of options and is fairly easy to navigate. Range seems very good as well.

Weaknesses of the product

One minor thing. When yo turn the light on the back off, all the lights go out not just the one light. Confusing when you go to set it up when its off. Manual says its for the light on the back

Additional Comments

Seems like a pretty solid router with excelent speed. Has about every featre you could ever want and it is easy to set up and get running.

DO NOT BUY YOU WILL BE SORRY

Submitted on Tuesday, March 18, 2014
By Dustin
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

cool features great speed when it works

Weaknesses of the product

the router often reboots and will work sometimes if you reboot it. DO NOT BUY. returning it as I type.

Additional Comments

DO NOT BUY. buy a good solid dlink not as many features but atleast it will not die daily.

RT-AC68U

Submitted on Sunday, January 19, 2014
By Zed
From N.e

Strengths of the product

Too much

Weaknesses of the product

Nothing

Additional Comments

Don't' think about the price, just buy it.

Incredible Router

Submitted on Friday, January 10, 2014
By Jonathan
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

-Rock-solid reliability -Industry leading features -Slick web interface with advanced controls and network administration settings -Powerful signal with excellent throughput on all bands -Blazing fast -Smart design -Runs cool -Option to turn off indicator LEDs for dark rooms

Weaknesses of the product

-Price?

Additional Comments

Best piece of networking hardware I've ever owned. Have had it for 3 months now and it hasn't skipped a beat unlike my old Linksys which needed reboots every week. Wireless AC throughput far surpasses any ISP's capabilities at this point in time, provided you have the hardware to support it. Transfers files over the network faster than a USB flash drive! The price is steep, as expected for a premium product of this caliber, but it's well worth the money if you are looking for the absolute best.

ASUS has never let me down. Continues to impress

Submitted on Monday, December 30, 2013
By Kenny
From Winnipeg

Strengths of the product

Easy setup, Very fast, great range on 2.4 GHz, removable & directional antennas (easily can add larger antennas if I need to), guest network is awesome because I have 12TB+ of media shared over my intranet and all users have full read/write access. It's great to allow visitors to connect to the guest networks which keeps my shared files safe and hidden from guests. It allows me to setup a simple Guest password, now I don't have to go look up my 63 character secure network key to share

Weaknesses of the product

None that warrant rating it less than 5 stars. Setting up a shared wired USB printer was a hassle after connecting more than 1 machine . You have to login to the router from the machine you want to print with and enable print monopoly mode if you're trying to print from a machine that wasn't the last machine to use the printer. No custom DDWRT firmware at this time but it's on its way. Not sure if I'll need it but it's very interesting to think this router can get better

Additional Comments

Its loaded with features and has the best router user interface I've ever used. Haven't had a need to add a network USB HD, but a surprise feature for me was the Samba server integrated into the AiCloud App. I can now access all my shared files anywhere online or from my phone. I like this better for accessing files than how I used to remote access my computer. Bottom line is this router has it all and if you care about performance and quality of service then it's worth every penny