Asus RT-AC68U Dual-Band Wireless AC1900 Gigabit Router AiMesh

MX48122 RT-AC68U Dual-Band Wireless AC1900 Gigabit Router AiMesh
MX48122 RT-AC68U Dual-Band Wireless AC1900 Gigabit Router AiMesh MX48122 RT-AC68U Dual-Band Wireless AC1900 Gigabit Router AiMesh MX48122 RT-AC68U Dual-Band Wireless AC1900 Gigabit Router AiMesh

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: 4.0 / 5 With 24 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
Thursday, December 18, 2014
By: David
From: Winnipeg

Amazing Router

Strengths:

Full feature set, no need to install DD-WRT but you can if you want. It's even supported by ASUS. Powerful signal, no loss in connectivity and only minor drop in speed even at large distances. Goes through walls like they're not there.

Weaknesses:

only one of the USB ports is a USB 3.0 port.

Additional Comments:

This is a great router. It's more stable than any other router I've ever owned. I've had D-Link, Netgear, Linksys and they all needed to be rebooted at least 2-3 times a month. With my last two Asus routers they have more features and the only time I had to reboot was for some setting updates and updating the firmware. Most reliable router I've ever had.
Sunday, November 23, 2014
By: Greg
From: Edmonton

WORST ROUTER EVER!`

Strengths:

It's black. It's a good paperweight you can use the antenna to poke people You can joke about how you blew $250 on a POS that drops the internet more than Net Neutrality. Your kids will be safe, because their internet WILL NOT WORK!

Weaknesses:

It SUCKS as a router. ASUS SUCKS! Asus support sucks. The router does NOT rout. NO internet will be broadcast from this POS

Additional Comments:

This $250 JOKE I bought thinking my internet would work better made me wish I had rolled a big doobie with hundreds and smoked it...at least I would have had SOME pleasure. POS router drops the internet 30 times a day. says your connected, but your not....Has a 'just kidding' mode. Asus says, "send it back and we will check it". Translation - "FK you sucker, no go without wireless for 6-8 weeks." LAST Asus POS I buy. this thing couldn't provide download of a FB page when you are 3 feet from it!
Tuesday, November 18, 2014
By: Bogdan Bartos
From: Calgary

Awesome router

Strengths:

You can get DD-WRT on this router and pimp it up to get more features. It can do a lot. It's almost an overkill for a home environment. Dual band comes in handy and it's AC. Faster dual core CPU. It can also do IPv6 that is awesome. Can work in an access point/repeater/router mode that will give you a lot of flexibility.

Weaknesses:

The form factor is not applealing at all - it looks bulky. Also the fact that it can consume 30W of power makes it look bad, but this seems to be normal for higher end routers.

Additional Comments:

Awesome router that can do DD-WRT. Consumes a lot of power, but stands up to the challenge. Probably the best router around for the $200 price range. I would recommend this to a business that want to run unmanaged, but still have control over the network and get a reliable service. 4/5 stars since it's power hungry and the form factor is not the greatest. As a note, the router does not heat up - it just stays warm. Maybe 40-50C maximum.
Tuesday, May 13, 2014
By: Andrew
From: Calgary

Best Router on the market! Asus never dissapoints.

Strengths:

Hackable with TomatoUSB (Shibby firmware works perfectly, and custom firmware is fully supported by Asus). Fast Speeds with AC radio, and all the way down to N and G. Rock solid processing. Full gigabit speed on wired, no issues there.

Weaknesses:

Really expensive.

Additional Comments:

This is the true enthusiast router. Hackable with DD-WRT and TomatoUSB, this is the new school WRT54G for router enthusiasts. The custom firmware is supported by Asus, so you will never have to worry about losing your tweaks. High speed, solid, and never had to reboot it once. And it looks nice if that is what you are into (mine is stuck in my basement so I could care less)
Tuesday, April 29, 2014
By: Q
From: Coquitlam, BC

Stops working after 24 hours

Strengths:

speed, features, strong signal

Weaknesses:

After first night of perfect performance, it stopped working the second day. Wifi SSID is still broadcasted but no computers can connected, from desktop with ASUS 802.11AC and laptop with Intel Centrino N. Even Ethernet direct connection cannot get an IP to the laptop. After power cycle, it works perfectly fine again. I created a support case and called ASUS, they say there's no known issue and they cannot give a solution.

Additional Comments:

"Just a glitch, reset it and try again. It's common 'isolated case' for new routers." -- ASUS Support says. But I don't have much time left to try it. I better return it before the 7-day return time expires. Going back to the slow but more reliable RT-N56U for a while.
Saturday, April 26, 2014
By: Don
From: Calgary

Good out of the box, better with different firmware.

Strengths:

-MIMO allows for great throughput. -Appears to have a very strong signal on both radios. -Functionality is even better with DD-WRT Firmware. -The range for 5ghz is better than I thought it would be. -For most users this device will work great out of the box, different firmware is not necessarily required except for specific reasons.

Weaknesses:

Can't do a wireless media bridge on 5Ghz plus an access point on the 2.4Ghz range with the stock firmware. I had to install DD-WRT. There is a DD-WRT build in the AC68U install forum that resolved this however. -The stock firmware doesn't provide enough configuration options for advanced users, thus gets 4 instead of 5 stars.

Additional Comments:

Bought a pair of these for the purpose of doing a wireless bridge between my house and my garage suite, plus AP in both places. I've now eliminated all previous complicated hardware and simply have these two setup because they have dual radios. In the house is the 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz network as access points using OEM Firmware, then in the suite is this unit using DD-WRT to bridge on 5Ghz, and then access point on 2.4Ghz, this setup works fantastic where previous hardware failed.
Friday, April 25, 2014
By: Titan
From: Calgary

Worth it

Strengths:

Great WiFi coverage. I use it in my office. I used to have two 802.11N routers and there were still spots that couldn't receive good connection. This one covers it all with full bars!! I got another one at my house too, replaced my old N router. I couldn't do airplay from my iPhone 5S to my TV well, the video was so choppy. (i like to mirror my iPhone game play to my TV). But now I can. Live game play is smooooth!!

Weaknesses:

Too many features. Too pricy. The router's firmware upgrade failed one. reset didn't work. Just right before I gave up, i found out that it was only the hard wire not working. WiFi still worked. And I was able to upgrade the firmware again through WiFi. Rebooted it and it was able to work.

Additional Comments:

If you are a technology savvy like I am, or you got the money, this router will not disappoint you.
Saturday, March 29, 2014
By: Fred
From: Edmonton

Wow

Strengths:

It is good at everything rightout of the box. Has settings to set it up as several different devices including as an access point, which is what I wanted. Seems very stable with good range and excelent throughput. Asus supplied firmware has lots of options and is fairly easy to navigate. Range seems very good as well.

Weaknesses:

One minor thing. When yo turn the light on the back off, all the lights go out not just the one light. Confusing when you go to set it up when its off. Manual says its for the light on the back

Additional Comments:

Seems like a pretty solid router with excelent speed. Has about every featre you could ever want and it is easy to set up and get running.
Tuesday, March 18, 2014
By: Dustin
From: Edmonton

DO NOT BUY YOU WILL BE SORRY

Strengths:

cool features great speed when it works

Weaknesses:

the router often reboots and will work sometimes if you reboot it. DO NOT BUY. returning it as I type.

Additional Comments:

DO NOT BUY. buy a good solid dlink not as many features but atleast it will not die daily.
Sunday, January 19, 2014
By: Zed
From: N.e

RT-AC68U

Strengths:

Too much

Weaknesses:

Nothing

Additional Comments:

Don't' think about the price, just buy it.