Asus RT-AC68U Dual-Band Wireless AC1900 Gigabit Router AiMesh

MX48122 RT-AC68U Dual-Band Wireless AC1900 Gigabit Router AiMesh
MX48122 RT-AC68U Dual-Band Wireless AC1900 Gigabit Router AiMesh MX48122 RT-AC68U Dual-Band Wireless AC1900 Gigabit Router AiMesh MX48122 RT-AC68U Dual-Band Wireless AC1900 Gigabit Router AiMesh

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: 4.0 / 5 With 23 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
Tuesday, April 07, 2020
By: Mike
From: Langley

Mixed Results

Strengths:

-Best consumer interface -Lots of features -Strong signal

Weaknesses:

-Random complete loss of network connection for periods of time -Big and bulky compared to other brands

Additional Comments:

Ran two of these in AI Mesh Mode for several months and would have total drop of connection, not even just a few packets dropped but total connection lost. Pings from terminal would suddenly be 'destination host unreachable' inexplicably across multiple devices yet a strong signal was always shown on the device. I work in Networking as my profession, so I fiddled with the settings in the Asus dashboard trying just about everything, yet the lost connection remained the same. I suspect it is something to do with the roaming profile of the device and Asus Aimesh cannot properly switch the device between the two access points - firmware updates would never fix it. Anyway, I kept one as a router (disabled Wifi) and use it to run a consumer mesh network from another brand to keep the household happy.
Friday, November 15, 2019
By: Clint
From: Calgary

LAN drops intermittently, no support

Strengths:

It's cheap.

Weaknesses:

LAN fails regularly, 2-3 times a week. Firmware upgrade did not help. Wifi will continue to work when LAN drops. Frustrating lack of help and interface to fix this. No way to return this.

Additional Comments:

Bought a reliable router, tossed this in the trash.
Tuesday, February 06, 2018
By: Freddie
From: Edmonton

2 Years - No Problems

Strengths:

2 years of solid, no problems, wireless. Set up in about 20 minutes. Regular updates - still adding features. AI Mesh - Can link all your Asus Routers in a mesh network.

Weaknesses:

None

Additional Comments:

Not a minute of trouble in two years. Regular updates keep things safe and running - no issues. The only time I had a problem connecting was when I forgot I had turned on the MAC filter. Once I added the mac address - no problem.
Tuesday, January 16, 2018
By: Ronan
From: Edmonton

Solid Router even after all these years

Strengths:

-Still refining and improving Firmware to this day, keeps up with newly discovered bugs and flaws in networking infrastructure and still issues security patches -Still adding new features and capabilities (Mesh networking introduced with 02/01/2018 FW) -Has all of the tinkering features for complete customisation, for those who know/care what they're doing (bonus: TrendMicro Website filtering, if desired) -No known NSA back doors, unlike most of the competition -Fast and solid -So many feature

Weaknesses:

-Might just be too much router for the uninitiated, or if you are from the past.

Additional Comments:

-If you own an iPhone, and want a router that "just works",stick to the quick setup wizard -If you are a Wizard, DD-WRT.com has FW for this (as of posting, dated 07/09/2017) -Update the Firmware ffs... It's the best router I have owned to date that includes crazy capabilities, but doesn't require a second mortgage. Bought mine in 2014.
Thursday, January 11, 2018
By: Kentm
From: Calgary

Great at first

Strengths:

Excellent visibility into which devices are consuming data. Great manageability. Worked fine for 8 months.

Weaknesses:

Got tired, I guess. Required reboots every 3 days, sometimes wouldn't recover on the first reboot. Keep in mind these are physical reboots. When you are on the road, there is no accessing the network remotely as it is cratered.

Additional Comments:

Have done all the firmware updates. Thought that maybe it was corrected but it still provides poor throughput after 1 day and then barfs it all a couple of days later. If I had paid $50, I would not be so bitter but it was over $200 on special!
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
By: Anonymous
From: Calgary

Great router

Strengths:

Software is easy to set up, interface is both powerful and easy to use. Crazy large range, and of course stupid fast and is able to prioritize traffic.

Weaknesses:

Initial setup requires the router to be hooked up to a computer with a cable and obviously to your ISP's modem. (which can be a pain in the butt if your router is in a remote part of the house, such as on top of a high shelf in the utility room). Once the initial setup is done however everything else can be done remotely.

Additional Comments:

This router is a few years old now but that's not a bad thing as the firmware is very good now and is less buggy. It's easy to use once you get it up and running and it works well in a household that needs to have a good wireless infrastructure (this guy is providing wifi for: 5 PC's (2 of which are gaming rigs), a survailance system, 2 wireless printers, 8 smart devices (tablets, phones and whatnot), and a game console).
Thursday, November 26, 2015
By: Tim
From: Calgary

Outstanding Device

Strengths:

Easy setup Great interface Powerful, long range signal Reliable

Weaknesses:

A bit expensive, though you get what you pay for, so not really a weakness at all

Additional Comments:

This router is quite simply the best networking device I've ever owned. It reaches all areas of my house with a powerful signal, without extenders, and I've had no problems with lockups, loss of signal or other issues I've read about firmware issues, but they seem to have those sorted out now that the product is a bit more mature. Just an excellent device, in my experience.
Saturday, April 11, 2015
By: Paul
From: Calgary

Simply outstanding

Strengths:

If you want a problem free, blazing fast, outstanding router then look no further.

Weaknesses:

None so far (had mine since 2013)

Additional Comments:

None better
Friday, December 26, 2014
By: Trev
From: Calgary

This rocks!

Strengths:

Ignore all the nay-sayers. Upgrade the firmware and all is fine. Like most routers, there are some bugs with the factory firmware that get fixed as it gets released to end users. After upgrading the firmware, this is an AWESOME device. I've converted all of my home network to 802.11ac and it's FAST.

Weaknesses:

Yes it's big.. but who cares. It works!
Thursday, December 18, 2014
By: David
From: Winnipeg

Amazing Router

Strengths:

Full feature set, no need to install DD-WRT but you can if you want. It's even supported by ASUS. Powerful signal, no loss in connectivity and only minor drop in speed even at large distances. Goes through walls like they're not there.

Weaknesses:

only one of the USB ports is a USB 3.0 port.

Additional Comments:

This is a great router. It's more stable than any other router I've ever owned. I've had D-Link, Netgear, Linksys and they all needed to be rebooted at least 2-3 times a month. With my last two Asus routers they have more features and the only time I had to reboot was for some setting updates and updating the firmware. Most reliable router I've ever had.