Asus RT-AC68U Dual-Band Wireless AC1900 Gigabit Router AiMesh

MX48122 RT-AC68U Dual-Band Wireless AC1900 Gigabit Router AiMesh
MX48122 RT-AC68U Dual-Band Wireless AC1900 Gigabit Router AiMesh MX48122 RT-AC68U Dual-Band Wireless AC1900 Gigabit Router AiMesh MX48122 RT-AC68U Dual-Band Wireless AC1900 Gigabit Router AiMesh

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 21 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission

2 Years - No Problems

Submitted on Tuesday, February 06, 2018
By Freddie
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

2 years of solid, no problems, wireless. Set up in about 20 minutes. Regular updates - still adding features. AI Mesh - Can link all your Asus Routers in a mesh network.

Weaknesses of the product

None

Additional Comments

Not a minute of trouble in two years. Regular updates keep things safe and running - no issues. The only time I had a problem connecting was when I forgot I had turned on the MAC filter. Once I added the mac address - no problem.

Solid Router even after all these years

Submitted on Tuesday, January 16, 2018
By Ronan
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

-Still refining and improving Firmware to this day, keeps up with newly discovered bugs and flaws in networking infrastructure and still issues security patches -Still adding new features and capabilities (Mesh networking introduced with 02/01/2018 FW) -Has all of the tinkering features for complete customisation, for those who know/care what they're doing (bonus: TrendMicro Website filtering, if desired) -No known NSA back doors, unlike most of the competition -Fast and solid -So many feature

Weaknesses of the product

-Might just be too much router for the uninitiated, or if you are from the past.

Additional Comments

-If you own an iPhone, and want a router that "just works",stick to the quick setup wizard -If you are a Wizard, DD-WRT.com has FW for this (as of posting, dated 07/09/2017) -Update the Firmware ffs... It's the best router I have owned to date that includes crazy capabilities, but doesn't require a second mortgage. Bought mine in 2014.

Great at first

Submitted on Thursday, January 11, 2018
By Kentm
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Excellent visibility into which devices are consuming data. Great manageability. Worked fine for 8 months.

Weaknesses of the product

Got tired, I guess. Required reboots every 3 days, sometimes wouldn't recover on the first reboot. Keep in mind these are physical reboots. When you are on the road, there is no accessing the network remotely as it is cratered.

Additional Comments

Have done all the firmware updates. Thought that maybe it was corrected but it still provides poor throughput after 1 day and then barfs it all a couple of days later. If I had paid $50, I would not be so bitter but it was over $200 on special!

Great router

Submitted on Wednesday, August 24, 2016
By Anonymous
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Software is easy to set up, interface is both powerful and easy to use. Crazy large range, and of course stupid fast and is able to prioritize traffic.

Weaknesses of the product

Initial setup requires the router to be hooked up to a computer with a cable and obviously to your ISP's modem. (which can be a pain in the butt if your router is in a remote part of the house, such as on top of a high shelf in the utility room). Once the initial setup is done however everything else can be done remotely.

Additional Comments

This router is a few years old now but that's not a bad thing as the firmware is very good now and is less buggy. It's easy to use once you get it up and running and it works well in a household that needs to have a good wireless infrastructure (this guy is providing wifi for: 5 PC's (2 of which are gaming rigs), a survailance system, 2 wireless printers, 8 smart devices (tablets, phones and whatnot), and a game console).

Outstanding Device

Submitted on Thursday, November 26, 2015
By Tim
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Easy setup Great interface Powerful, long range signal Reliable

Weaknesses of the product

A bit expensive, though you get what you pay for, so not really a weakness at all

Additional Comments

This router is quite simply the best networking device I've ever owned. It reaches all areas of my house with a powerful signal, without extenders, and I've had no problems with lockups, loss of signal or other issues I've read about firmware issues, but they seem to have those sorted out now that the product is a bit more mature. Just an excellent device, in my experience.

Simply outstanding

Submitted on Saturday, April 11, 2015
By Paul
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

If you want a problem free, blazing fast, outstanding router then look no further.

Weaknesses of the product

None so far (had mine since 2013)

Additional Comments

None better

This rocks!

Submitted on Friday, December 26, 2014
By Trev
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Ignore all the nay-sayers. Upgrade the firmware and all is fine. Like most routers, there are some bugs with the factory firmware that get fixed as it gets released to end users. After upgrading the firmware, this is an AWESOME device. I've converted all of my home network to 802.11ac and it's FAST.

Weaknesses of the product

Yes it's big.. but who cares. It works!

Additional Comments

Amazing Router

Submitted on Thursday, December 18, 2014
By David
From Winnipeg

Strengths of the product

Full feature set, no need to install DD-WRT but you can if you want. It's even supported by ASUS. Powerful signal, no loss in connectivity and only minor drop in speed even at large distances. Goes through walls like they're not there.

Weaknesses of the product

only one of the USB ports is a USB 3.0 port.

Additional Comments

This is a great router. It's more stable than any other router I've ever owned. I've had D-Link, Netgear, Linksys and they all needed to be rebooted at least 2-3 times a month. With my last two Asus routers they have more features and the only time I had to reboot was for some setting updates and updating the firmware. Most reliable router I've ever had.

WORST ROUTER EVER!`

Submitted on Sunday, November 23, 2014
By Greg
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

It's black. It's a good paperweight you can use the antenna to poke people You can joke about how you blew $250 on a POS that drops the internet more than Net Neutrality. Your kids will be safe, because their internet WILL NOT WORK!

Weaknesses of the product

It SUCKS as a router. ASUS SUCKS! Asus support sucks. The router does NOT rout. NO internet will be broadcast from this POS

Additional Comments

This $250 JOKE I bought thinking my internet would work better made me wish I had rolled a big doobie with hundreds and smoked it...at least I would have had SOME pleasure. POS router drops the internet 30 times a day. says your connected, but your not....Has a 'just kidding' mode. Asus says, "send it back and we will check it". Translation - "FK you sucker, no go without wireless for 6-8 weeks." LAST Asus POS I buy. this thing couldn't provide download of a FB page when you are 3 feet from it!

Awesome router

Submitted on Tuesday, November 18, 2014
By Bogdan Bartos
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

You can get DD-WRT on this router and pimp it up to get more features. It can do a lot. It's almost an overkill for a home environment. Dual band comes in handy and it's AC. Faster dual core CPU. It can also do IPv6 that is awesome. Can work in an access point/repeater/router mode that will give you a lot of flexibility.

Weaknesses of the product

The form factor is not applealing at all - it looks bulky. Also the fact that it can consume 30W of power makes it look bad, but this seems to be normal for higher end routers.

Additional Comments

Awesome router that can do DD-WRT. Consumes a lot of power, but stands up to the challenge. Probably the best router around for the $200 price range. I would recommend this to a business that want to run unmanaged, but still have control over the network and get a reliable service. 4/5 stars since it's power hungry and the form factor is not the greatest. As a note, the router does not heat up - it just stays warm. Maybe 40-50C maximum.