Asus VG248QE 24in Widescreen 144Hz 3D LED LCD w/ HAS, Speakers, DisplayPort

MX44025 VG248QE 24in Widescreen 144Hz 3D LED LCD w/ HAS, Speakers, DisplayPort
MX44025 VG248QE 24in Widescreen 144Hz 3D LED LCD w/ HAS, Speakers, DisplayPort MX44025 VG248QE 24in Widescreen 144Hz 3D LED LCD w/ HAS, Speakers, DisplayPort MX44025 VG248QE 24in Widescreen 144Hz 3D LED LCD w/ HAS, Speakers, DisplayPort MX44025 VG248QE 24in Widescreen 144Hz 3D LED LCD w/ HAS, Speakers, DisplayPort

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 18 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission

Great for games or 3d, needs lots of tweaking

Submitted on Sunday, June 15, 2014
By Jon
From calgary

Strengths of the product

144 hz refresh rate large size easy to raise, lower, tilt, or swivel works with my 3d stuff speakers are decent for what they are displayport

Weaknesses of the product

The default color settings... so bad. DO NOT USE THIS MONITOR FOR VIDEO OR PHOTO EDITING, even after calibration its still not 100%. My best efforts with the spyder 4 get it to about 95% of sRGB. It seems slightly oversaturated compared to my other screens.

Additional Comments

With a LOT of painstaking callibration these are the settings I found to give the truest color: Brightness: 39 Contrast 91 Color temp user mode R 99 G 83 B 74 Tracefree (flickering during action) i set to 80. If you notice action shots seem to flicker lower this setting. I also turned smartview off. Overall after these settings get you close. your mileage will vary as each panel will deteriorate differently over time. Blue usually loses its vibrance faster than red or green.

Fast Refresh, Horrible Contrast & Colour

Submitted on Thursday, January 23, 2014
By Sean E.
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Great for games. Panning looks ultra-smooth on this monitor. The stand can rotate the monitor 90 degrees for portrait orientation. 3D capable.

Weaknesses of the product

144hz mode sometimes crashes the computer so it needs to be run in 120hz. Absolutely crushes the blacks to the point where you lose all detail in the dark regions. Not very bright. The stand is flimsy so the monitor shakes as I type. It's only 6 bit, not 8 bit. Obvious dithering of tones lowers sharpness of the display. 3D requires an nvidia graphics card and a kit that costs extra money.

Additional Comments

If all you do is play games this may be a good monitor. Do NOT get this monitor if you do any serious video editing or photography because you'll never get accurate tones.

Perfect for Gaming

Submitted on Friday, December 20, 2013
By Jason C
From Whitecourt, AB

Strengths of the product

- 144Ghz Refresh Rate is amazing for gaming. - The Pivot feature is very nice to easily plug in cables. - All other features of a normal Asus monitor

Weaknesses of the product

- Screen Brightness, it is definitely different to start with. Especially if you have two different monitors beside each other like I did. However now I am used to it and do not regret buying the product.

Additional Comments

Overall a great monitor, good size, and looks. The best feature has to be the refresh rate but the con is the screen brightness takes some time to get used to.

Good for gaming, not for images

Submitted on Sunday, September 29, 2013
By Trevor
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

-144hz makes gaming night and day to regular LCDs -Fully adjustable stand -Quick Input switch between DisplayPort,HDMI,DVI-D

Weaknesses of the product

-Built in sound is harsh -Colour reproduction -Uneven Brightness -Whites turn slight pinkish top left of monitor

Additional Comments

Great monitor if you looking for an edge on action oriented gaming such as FPS, and Racing games. Not so great looking at pictures. Colours are pretty bad out of the box, with a blue overcast on everything. Windows calibration will make things more bearable. Things are abit better with a Spyder 4 calibrator, but images will have a blue/cool tinge. I bought this monitor primary for gaming, and does the job, and was not to worried about colours since I have a secondary monitor for that.

Nice Response and Refresh Lacking in Image Quality

Submitted on Sunday, July 28, 2013
By Kari
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Super fast monitor. Makes motion nice and smooth.

Weaknesses of the product

The colours on this monitor are lacking. Dialing in image quality is difficult to do. It also has brightness issues, though opposite of most monitors. This monitor is ultra bright, so much so that it is hard on the eyes. However, turning down the brightness makes the colours lose their quality.

Additional Comments

Not worth the money. I am considering going to return my monitor for an IPS display, as I've spent 3 days with it and I cannot reach a setup I am satisfied with. It would be nice to have this monitor with a better adjustable brightness, contrast and colour setting.

Awesome gaming monitor

Submitted on Monday, April 01, 2013
By Victor
From Halifax

Strengths of the product

The refresh rate is awesome. Everything is so fluid, motion blur is almost completely gone in games, and can even be improved with the "2d lightboost hack". Awesome price since it doesn't come with any gimmicky 3d emitters or other junk that no one uses for more than 15 mins.

Weaknesses of the product

The colours aren't great, a little washed out... but you don't get a high refresh rate monitor and expect an IPS style display. For some reason, flash player makes the image static and crashes the video drivers to the point of full system lock-up when you try to watch videos while the monitor is set to 144hz. Ive read on some forums that other people experience this too, so if you're crashing, turn down the refresh rate to 120 or 60hz and you'll be fine.

Additional Comments

Great monitor for the price, would wholeheartedly recommend to anyone that wants a gaming oriented monitor.

Great Gaming Monitor

Submitted on Tuesday, March 26, 2013
By Mad Scientist
From Winnipeg

Strengths of the product

-Super bright - Lots of presets - Personally, i found the presets pretty close, not much tweaking -Fast response, no noticable ghosting -144 hz is amazing for gaming

Weaknesses of the product

-No gamma settings -doesnt look very "Modern"

Additional Comments

Just wish it had gamma settings and looked a little nicer, but it does what its supposed to do, and it does it far better than i expected. I would definately recommend this to any serious gamer if you have the gpu to run 144hz at good settings.

Asus VG248QE 144Hz

Submitted on Tuesday, March 12, 2013
By Francis
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

- Very fast panel - Very smooth and fluid display - Very little ghosting - Can adjust pixel overdrive (reduce overdrive artifacts) - Excellent stand and great build quality - 3D Vision 2 and LightBoost support

Weaknesses of the product

- Out-of-the-box colours

Additional Comments

I picked up one of these displays to run in 2D mode for the very high refresh rate. At 144Hz, the movement on this panel is great! Everything is so fluid and smooth. The build quality is very solid and the stand is excellent. My only complaint is the out-of-the-box colours are poor. The gamma was quite high so it made the colours look washed out. However, after running the Windows 7 colour calibration tool, the colours are very good for a TN panel. Overall I'm very happy with my purchase.