Microsoft LifeChat LX-3000 Headset

MX42739 LifeChat LX-3000 Headset
MX42739 LifeChat LX-3000 Headset MX42739 LifeChat LX-3000 Headset MX42739 LifeChat LX-3000 Headset MX42739 LifeChat LX-3000 Headset

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: 2.7 / 5 With 9 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
  • 1
Friday, November 08, 2019
By: Mike
From: calgary

good for voice

Strengths:

Quite good for voice only applications. The microphone picks up quite well and transfers voice quality nicely. These are great for occasional use like webinars and virtual meetings and for VOIP phone, but not sure about wearing them all day, probably not the best for that. Headphone quality is great for voice, accentuating the right frequencies for clear voice transmission.

Weaknesses:

Not good for music or gaming... the headphone quality just isn't quite there for that... adequate but not great. Hi frequencies are attenuated so the seem to lack treble in music.

Additional Comments:

Good for specific usage. Not good for certain usages.
Sunday, July 07, 2019
By: Terry
From: Calgary

Garbage

Strengths:

Low price

Weaknesses:

Terrible sound quality. Left is louder than right, known issue. Outsides of my ears hurt after 10 minutes of wearing.

Additional Comments:

I use these every day at work and they are the worst part of my day.
Saturday, August 18, 2018
By: brent
From: edmonton

driver

Strengths:

cheap, use exclusively for online gaming

Weaknesses:

The mic breaks often, I paid $5 for replacement warranty and get a new pair often because of this weakness, or you could call Microsoft and give them the serial ID # on back of remote Mic controller and they will sent a new pair no questions asked.

Additional Comments:

Nothing to lose, with replacement warranty, you will always have a new pair at least twice a year
Thursday, December 07, 2017
By: Conan
From: Calgary

Nasty Headset

Strengths:

Moderately comfortable.

Weaknesses:

Awful sound, poor quality noise canceling. Nowhere on the specs or packaging does it indicate or display the connection type. Wouldn't that be nice? It's USB 2. 0

Additional Comments:

Don't even bother with these unless you just don't care.
Thursday, July 13, 2017
By: Trevor
From: Calgary

Cheap headset

Strengths:

Works with Skype

Weaknesses:

Stiff, poor sound quality, uncomfortable even for short duration, in-line volume control way too big and in bad location.

Additional Comments:

Was looking for a cheap USB head set. The cheap analog head sets are far superior to these for less. I would not recommend these to anyone.
Thursday, November 24, 2016
By: Mike
From: Calgary

You get what you pay for

Strengths:

-Good value at $30 -Decent Audio quality -Mic is clear to start

Weaknesses:

-Headset is fairly uncomfortable around the ears, even after you get used to it -The mic shorted out after only 4 months of use. Didn't ever drop them and took really good care of them, so it is disappointing that the mic would wear out after only 4 months of use.

Additional Comments:

Good quality for a short time, but after that the mic quickly breaks down. Get the IPR on them for sure.
Monday, May 23, 2016
By: Nick S
From: Calgary

Good headset, medium lifespan

Strengths:

USB interface is great, good volume control and sound for chat is fantastic. I use this headset everyday for online classes. Earcups are comfortable after prolonged use. Mic quality is fantastic, and bass sound makes music sound great!

Weaknesses:

Wiring has affected the mic - when I turn my head to the side, a short develops in the wiring after 1 year of use.

Additional Comments:

Headset is good quality except for the wiring. Will buy these again once they completely go.
Saturday, December 27, 2014
By: Peter
From: Edmonton

Good mic, but sound quality is below par, even for the price

Strengths:

The USB interface is very convenient and sidesteps the potential line-in gain issues that plague lower-cost analog headsets. The mic comes across very clearly. I found comfort to be ok for up to 3 hours.

Weaknesses:

Contrary to the other reviewer, I find these to sound terrible. There is a noticeable bass extension, and overall emphasis on the bass, but this does not a good headphone make. The mids are very baffled, the highs very unclear, and past a certain point, they are just completely muted. They are ok for Skype, or even multiplayer PC games, but not even remotely acceptable for music.

Additional Comments:

I bought these based on the other review praising the sound quality and after trying them out, my only conclusions are that either there is a huge sample variance or the previous reviewer has severely faulty hearing. My sample sounds worse than ~half the <$10 headphones you could buy. I've owned over 30 headphones, and these truly are near the bottom, even considering their price...
Monday, July 15, 2013
By: Daren
From: Calgary

Amazing sound, if a touch uncomfortable.

Strengths:

- Bright, clear high end. - No "sibilance. - Full warm bass, without any distortion. - Good quality audio pickup from microphone.

Weaknesses:

- Ear-cups a bit small, leading to ear-discomfort after extended listening. Would have earned 5/5 if not for this one fault.

Additional Comments:

These headphones have no business sounding as good as they do, considering what they cost. The Mic works well too ... but it's hard to get over how great these things sound. They hold up well against my AKGs, phones that cost about 5x what these did. Unbelievable. I'm not sure how they packed in this much sound quality in at this pricepoint, but who cares. Get a pair, you won't regret it.
  • 1