Vantec HDA-250M Single 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Mounting Kit

MX42138 HDA-250M Single 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Mounting Kit
MX42138 HDA-250M Single 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Mounting Kit MX42138 HDA-250M Single 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Mounting Kit MX42138 HDA-250M Single 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Mounting Kit

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 12 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
Submitted on Tuesday, November 12, 2019
By Tibor
From Winnipeg

Strengths of the product

Weaknesses of the product

Side holes are too small for the rails that came with the computer.

Additional Comments

Look for a better design/quality

Solid and Easy to Mount

Submitted on Monday, November 27, 2017
By Shawn V
From Winnipeg

Strengths of the product

Solid metal construction Affordable

Weaknesses of the product

None

Additional Comments

Bought 3 of these in conjunction with Samsung EVO SSD's to to replace existing boot drives on 3 computers. When reading previous reviews I am not sure whether the product has been revised or I got lucky but these worked perfectly in all 3 computers. I used the screws supplied in the bag. Couldn't ask for more really.

not ATX-compliant

Submitted on Friday, July 14, 2017
By Bob
From Vancouver

Strengths of the product

none

Weaknesses of the product

Screw threads is an ATX standard. but was missed by this product. this presents a problem for iMacs with custom hardware to mount in the case. poor job, guys...

Additional Comments

how can you mess up a simple part design?

Works quite well

Submitted on Thursday, May 26, 2016
By Dave
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Had no issues other than having to ream out the side holes to allow the pins of a Dell plastic carrier to connect in properly. Took all of 10 seconds using a small Phillips screwdriver to make the holes just a bit larger.

Weaknesses of the product

Is it worth $8.00 for a piece of metal? No, but there is nothing less expensive.

Additional Comments

Have bought 6 of these while we upgraded some PCs at the office, all worked just fine.

it MAY work for you

Submitted on Saturday, May 21, 2016
By Chris
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Solid construction and nice finish. Inexpensive.

Weaknesses of the product

Only has holes to mount SSD from the bottom. Can only secure to case from the sides. Was okay for 6-year old HP Pavilion, but not my other two computers. Did not work for two year-old Dell Inspiron-- side holes are too small for the rails that came with the computer. Did not work for Lenovo H50-55-- no bottom holes, too narrow and short for drive bay. SSD is recessed on the mount, so harder to connect.

Additional Comments

I recommend the Startech or Silverstone mounting kits-- they cost more, but work in more situations.

WORKS PEFECT in all installation scenarios

Submitted on Thursday, January 21, 2016
By Tom
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

It's metal . . . not plastic. Has holes for BOTH side and bottom mount of SSDs. Price . . . IT'S CHEAP! Comes with necessary screws.

Weaknesses of the product

NONE

Additional Comments

Bad, bad design

Submitted on Wednesday, November 18, 2015
By Carl
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Made of metal. No sharp edges.

Weaknesses of the product

As mentioned before, the holes are a custom size on the sides of the mount. If you have a proprietary mounting system, which a lot of computers do, you may be out of luck. Also, the SSD mounting holes make the SSD sit recessed in the bracket. There is a risk that your cables won't want to go on(Like the HP computer I am working on). Seriously, for something so simple, I'm amazed at how they could screw the design up like this. Engineering FAIL.

Additional Comments

Wrong Hole Thread Size

Submitted on Monday, December 08, 2014
By Annoyed
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Someone lazy in China is getting rich when you buy this.

Weaknesses of the product

As another reviewer already noted, hole size is for M3 and not the standard 6-32 (they don't own calipers/rulers in China, and they don't test products?), so good luck screwing it in properly. Mine is going back.

Additional Comments

I should have read the reviews here instead of walking in and foolishly asking someone for a drive mounting kit. I guess in China, you don't screw product, product screws you. Why does Memory Express even sell this product?

Does the job

Submitted on Monday, October 13, 2014
By Josh
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Handy little bracket - made mounting my SSD properly a breeze. Even comes with screws!

Weaknesses of the product

None.`

Additional Comments

Worth its weight in gold.

works perfect, predrilled holes and screws provided

Submitted on Tuesday, January 28, 2014
By Ogre
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

-metal, sturdy, will not flex -very nice black paint, doesn't chip, and non-conductive -screws provided work with every SSD and 2.5" HDD, the holes are in the right place too

Weaknesses of the product

none

Additional Comments

I've purchased five of these over a year. Every single one came with bottom holes predrilled, so I'm not sure if the guy in Calgary reviewed the same product. It's made of metal, will not flex like some of the competitor's plastic, and it has a matte finish like a spray-in-lining in a truck. Ask the staff at ME to open one up for you, you won't be disappointed or aggravated.