Vantec HDA-250M Single 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Mounting Kit

MX42138 HDA-250M Single 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Mounting Kit
MX42138 HDA-250M Single 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Mounting Kit MX42138 HDA-250M Single 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Mounting Kit MX42138 HDA-250M Single 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Mounting Kit

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: 2.9 / 5 With 13 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
Monday, April 13, 2020
By: Patrick
From: Calgary

Worked as intended

Strengths:

Basic metal construction Screws SSD to bottom of bracket Came with 8 screws

Weaknesses:

None for me

Additional Comments:

These people complaining that it didn't fit... Do you not have extra screws/hardware for building computers? Rookie mistake
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
By: Tibor
From: Winnipeg

Weaknesses:

Side holes are too small for the rails that came with the computer.

Additional Comments:

Look for a better design/quality
Monday, November 27, 2017
By: Shawn V
From: Winnipeg

Solid and Easy to Mount

Strengths:

Solid metal construction Affordable

Weaknesses:

None

Additional Comments:

Bought 3 of these in conjunction with Samsung EVO SSD's to to replace existing boot drives on 3 computers. When reading previous reviews I am not sure whether the product has been revised or I got lucky but these worked perfectly in all 3 computers. I used the screws supplied in the bag. Couldn't ask for more really.
Friday, July 14, 2017
By: Bob
From: Vancouver

not ATX-compliant

Strengths:

none

Weaknesses:

Screw threads is an ATX standard. but was missed by this product. this presents a problem for iMacs with custom hardware to mount in the case. poor job, guys...

Additional Comments:

how can you mess up a simple part design?
Thursday, May 26, 2016
By: Dave
From: Calgary

Works quite well

Strengths:

Had no issues other than having to ream out the side holes to allow the pins of a Dell plastic carrier to connect in properly. Took all of 10 seconds using a small Phillips screwdriver to make the holes just a bit larger.

Weaknesses:

Is it worth $8.00 for a piece of metal? No, but there is nothing less expensive.

Additional Comments:

Have bought 6 of these while we upgraded some PCs at the office, all worked just fine.
Saturday, May 21, 2016
By: Chris
From: Calgary

it MAY work for you

Strengths:

Solid construction and nice finish. Inexpensive.

Weaknesses:

Only has holes to mount SSD from the bottom. Can only secure to case from the sides. Was okay for 6-year old HP Pavilion, but not my other two computers. Did not work for two year-old Dell Inspiron-- side holes are too small for the rails that came with the computer. Did not work for Lenovo H50-55-- no bottom holes, too narrow and short for drive bay. SSD is recessed on the mount, so harder to connect.

Additional Comments:

I recommend the Startech or Silverstone mounting kits-- they cost more, but work in more situations.
Thursday, January 21, 2016
By: Tom
From: Calgary

WORKS PEFECT in all installation scenarios

Strengths:

It's metal . . . not plastic. Has holes for BOTH side and bottom mount of SSDs. Price . . . IT'S CHEAP! Comes with necessary screws.

Weaknesses:

NONE
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
By: Carl
From: Calgary

Bad, bad design

Strengths:

Made of metal. No sharp edges.

Weaknesses:

As mentioned before, the holes are a custom size on the sides of the mount. If you have a proprietary mounting system, which a lot of computers do, you may be out of luck. Also, the SSD mounting holes make the SSD sit recessed in the bracket. There is a risk that your cables won't want to go on(Like the HP computer I am working on). Seriously, for something so simple, I'm amazed at how they could screw the design up like this. Engineering FAIL.
Monday, December 08, 2014
By: Annoyed
From: Calgary

Wrong Hole Thread Size

Strengths:

Someone lazy in China is getting rich when you buy this.

Weaknesses:

As another reviewer already noted, hole size is for M3 and not the standard 6-32 (they don't own calipers/rulers in China, and they don't test products?), so good luck screwing it in properly. Mine is going back.

Additional Comments:

I should have read the reviews here instead of walking in and foolishly asking someone for a drive mounting kit. I guess in China, you don't screw product, product screws you. Why does Memory Express even sell this product?
Monday, October 13, 2014
By: Josh
From: Edmonton

Does the job

Strengths:

Handy little bracket - made mounting my SSD properly a breeze. Even comes with screws!

Weaknesses:

None.`

Additional Comments:

Worth its weight in gold.