Vantec HDA-250M Single 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Mounting Kit

MX42138 HDA-250M Single 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Mounting Kit
MX42138 HDA-250M Single 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Mounting Kit MX42138 HDA-250M Single 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Mounting Kit MX42138 HDA-250M Single 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Mounting Kit

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: 3.0 / 5 With 14 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
Friday, March 12, 2021
By: Robert
From: Victoria

Simple, solid, and functional

Strengths:

Solidly built and cheaper than any other 2.5" mounting bracket. It comes with all the required screws (and you'll need them!).

Weaknesses:

The screws are nonstandard - it uses M3 rather than 6-32 for mounting the bracket to the 3.5" drive bay. This means that the bracket may not work with tool-less HDD mounting systems, unless you drill out the bracket's holes a little more.

Additional Comments:

You can usually just tape an SSD anywhere and it will be fine, but this lets you mount one more reliably. Just make sure the mounting system will work in your case before you buy this.
Monday, April 13, 2020
By: Patrick
From: Calgary

Worked as intended

Strengths:

Basic metal construction Screws SSD to bottom of bracket Came with 8 screws

Weaknesses:

None for me

Additional Comments:

These people complaining that it didn't fit... Do you not have extra screws/hardware for building computers? Rookie mistake
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
By: Tibor
From: Winnipeg

Weaknesses:

Side holes are too small for the rails that came with the computer.

Additional Comments:

Look for a better design/quality
Monday, November 27, 2017
By: Shawn V
From: Winnipeg

Solid and Easy to Mount

Strengths:

Solid metal construction Affordable

Weaknesses:

None

Additional Comments:

Bought 3 of these in conjunction with Samsung EVO SSD's to to replace existing boot drives on 3 computers. When reading previous reviews I am not sure whether the product has been revised or I got lucky but these worked perfectly in all 3 computers. I used the screws supplied in the bag. Couldn't ask for more really.
Friday, July 14, 2017
By: Bob
From: Vancouver

not ATX-compliant

Strengths:

none

Weaknesses:

Screw threads is an ATX standard. but was missed by this product. this presents a problem for iMacs with custom hardware to mount in the case. poor job, guys...

Additional Comments:

how can you mess up a simple part design?
Thursday, May 26, 2016
By: Dave
From: Calgary

Works quite well

Strengths:

Had no issues other than having to ream out the side holes to allow the pins of a Dell plastic carrier to connect in properly. Took all of 10 seconds using a small Phillips screwdriver to make the holes just a bit larger.

Weaknesses:

Is it worth $8.00 for a piece of metal? No, but there is nothing less expensive.

Additional Comments:

Have bought 6 of these while we upgraded some PCs at the office, all worked just fine.
Saturday, May 21, 2016
By: Chris
From: Calgary

it MAY work for you

Strengths:

Solid construction and nice finish. Inexpensive.

Weaknesses:

Only has holes to mount SSD from the bottom. Can only secure to case from the sides. Was okay for 6-year old HP Pavilion, but not my other two computers. Did not work for two year-old Dell Inspiron-- side holes are too small for the rails that came with the computer. Did not work for Lenovo H50-55-- no bottom holes, too narrow and short for drive bay. SSD is recessed on the mount, so harder to connect.

Additional Comments:

I recommend the Startech or Silverstone mounting kits-- they cost more, but work in more situations.
Thursday, January 21, 2016
By: Tom
From: Calgary

WORKS PEFECT in all installation scenarios

Strengths:

It's metal . . . not plastic. Has holes for BOTH side and bottom mount of SSDs. Price . . . IT'S CHEAP! Comes with necessary screws.

Weaknesses:

NONE
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
By: Carl
From: Calgary

Bad, bad design

Strengths:

Made of metal. No sharp edges.

Weaknesses:

As mentioned before, the holes are a custom size on the sides of the mount. If you have a proprietary mounting system, which a lot of computers do, you may be out of luck. Also, the SSD mounting holes make the SSD sit recessed in the bracket. There is a risk that your cables won't want to go on(Like the HP computer I am working on). Seriously, for something so simple, I'm amazed at how they could screw the design up like this. Engineering FAIL.
Monday, December 08, 2014
By: Annoyed
From: Calgary

Wrong Hole Thread Size

Strengths:

Someone lazy in China is getting rich when you buy this.

Weaknesses:

As another reviewer already noted, hole size is for M3 and not the standard 6-32 (they don't own calipers/rulers in China, and they don't test products?), so good luck screwing it in properly. Mine is going back.

Additional Comments:

I should have read the reviews here instead of walking in and foolishly asking someone for a drive mounting kit. I guess in China, you don't screw product, product screws you. Why does Memory Express even sell this product?