D-Link PowerLine AV 500 Network Kit

MX41912 PowerLine AV 500 Network Kit
MX41912 PowerLine AV 500 Network Kit

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: 3.8 / 5 With 12 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
Thursday, December 31, 2020
By: Hussein
From: Calgary

Not good at all

Weaknesses:

Most I have been able to get is 20Mbps even though my ISP should get me over 600Mbps

Additional Comments:

There are way many better options than this.
Friday, December 28, 2018
By: Raiden
From: Winnipeg

Update to my prior review - Decent

Strengths:

In a perfect scenario, the best speed I've been able to get is 90Mbps. Running iperf on both ends. Both powerline adapters in the same room. I assume on the same electrical circuit with no use of any power surges or extensions. Using Cat5E and Cat6 cabling.

Weaknesses:

Not even close to the advertised 500Mbps speeds.

Additional Comments:

Its good enough if speed is not that important to you.
Wednesday, December 26, 2018
By: Raiden
From: Winnipeg

Decent

Strengths:

-Highest speed was around 50-60Mbps

Weaknesses:

-Sometimes produces a really high pitched noise -Sometimes "overheats" and requires you to replug it in -You will not get the advertised speed of "500 Mbps", drop one zero

Additional Comments:

It's decent. Would probably instead purchase the gigabit powerline adapter instead.
Sunday, October 02, 2016
By: Neill
From: Edmonton

Update to previous review by Neill

Strengths:

Traced my previous issues to faulty router firmware. With the router gone, these units work as advertised and have been very reliable. They also work across a type of electrical breaker that blocked signals from an older power line Ethernet standard.

Weaknesses:

I wish they were designed to pass through power instead of taking up a whole plug. Throughput is not much better than wireless.

Additional Comments:

If you can't get wireless or have trouble with interference, these are a great way to expand your network.
Sunday, September 11, 2016
By: Mike
From: Edmonton

Don't try to use if you have Telus TV

Strengths:

Works great when working

Weaknesses:

Incompatible with Telus TV. Tried everything. I myself am a network technician, and had three Telus techs here with me, and over the course of six hours we were not able to get them working while there are Telus TV boxes on the network. Shame because they work beautifully without Telus TV (i.e. Shaw).

Additional Comments:

Works great, just not when you have Telus TV
Sunday, October 04, 2015
By: Chris
From: Calgary

Does the job as advertised

Strengths:

Easy to use, simple set up, works great.

Weaknesses:

a little bulky on the plug

Additional Comments:

Got this to run to my computer in the basement from the router on the 2nd floor. Works like a charm. I get the same speed as i did when my computer was upstairs.
Monday, July 27, 2015
By: Neill
From: Edmonton

Works well... most of the time

Strengths:

Very small, simple to set up. Good clear indicator lights that tell you when there is a problem (most of the time). Nice design. Achieves 7-12 MB per second on file transfers.

Weaknesses:

Inconsistent connection, lots of drops in cames, regular but unpredictable lockup that takes out access to the entire LAN (even across multiple switches, but strangely WAN traffic is unaffected) requiring unplugging of all Powerline AV units to reset. Possibly not compatible with other Powerline AV products from other manufacturers, possibly one bad unit... very difficult to troubleshoot, ultimately not worth my time.

Additional Comments:

I have some excellent PowerLine AV products from Western Digital (sadly discontinued) that have performed flawlessly for over a year. These D-Link units have been slightly flaky from the get-go, with random disconnects or borking of the entire LAN until they are unplugged and reset. The randomness of the problems makes it nearly impossible to troubleshoot, but I suspect one is sort of flaky... removing one from the network seemed to stabilize things. Disappointing in comparison to the WD units.
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
By: Garrett
From: edmonton

Crap

Strengths:

Good internet speed for the one item plugged in.

Weaknesses:

ruins wifi for everything else in the house.

Additional Comments:

i plug this into my pc and it works like a charm, but for my family the cable is shit (internet cable, ask telus) netflix won't load, their internet goes out laround every 10-15 minutes. piece of shit.
Sunday, January 11, 2015
By: dsb71
From: St. Albert

Thumbs up

Strengths:

Well worth the money. Setup is as easy as plugging them in and attaching the network cables. Provides a much more reliable connection than wireless. No messing around, you get full speed for everything.
Saturday, November 15, 2014
By: Darren
From: Calgary, SE

Amazing. Does exactly what it says.

Strengths:

-Connection is fast enough to play games online. (Much, much faster than Wi-Fi) - Easy 4 step process - Way more convienent than trying to pull wires through your walls and floors

Weaknesses:

- Haven't found one yet!

Additional Comments:

If you're trying to find a solution to getting a better connection when your computer is 2-3 floors away from the router, this is perfect for you. Grab it! Thank you, Memory Express team for reccomending this to me.