D-Link PowerLine AV 500 Network Kit

MX41912 PowerLine AV 500 Network Kit
MX41912 PowerLine AV 500 Network Kit

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 11 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission

Update to my prior review - Decent

Submitted on Friday, December 28, 2018
By Raiden
From Winnipeg

Strengths of the product

In a perfect scenario, the best speed I've been able to get is 90Mbps. Running iperf on both ends. Both powerline adapters in the same room. I assume on the same electrical circuit with no use of any power surges or extensions. Using Cat5E and Cat6 cabling.

Weaknesses of the product

Not even close to the advertised 500Mbps speeds.

Additional Comments

Its good enough if speed is not that important to you.

Decent

Submitted on Wednesday, December 26, 2018
By Raiden
From Winnipeg

Strengths of the product

-Highest speed was around 50-60Mbps

Weaknesses of the product

-Sometimes produces a really high pitched noise -Sometimes "overheats" and requires you to replug it in -You will not get the advertised speed of "500 Mbps", drop one zero

Additional Comments

It's decent. Would probably instead purchase the gigabit powerline adapter instead.

Update to previous review by Neill

Submitted on Sunday, October 02, 2016
By Neill
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Traced my previous issues to faulty router firmware. With the router gone, these units work as advertised and have been very reliable. They also work across a type of electrical breaker that blocked signals from an older power line Ethernet standard.

Weaknesses of the product

I wish they were designed to pass through power instead of taking up a whole plug. Throughput is not much better than wireless.

Additional Comments

If you can't get wireless or have trouble with interference, these are a great way to expand your network.

Don't try to use if you have Telus TV

Submitted on Sunday, September 11, 2016
By Mike
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Works great when working

Weaknesses of the product

Incompatible with Telus TV. Tried everything. I myself am a network technician, and had three Telus techs here with me, and over the course of six hours we were not able to get them working while there are Telus TV boxes on the network. Shame because they work beautifully without Telus TV (i.e. Shaw).

Additional Comments

Works great, just not when you have Telus TV

Does the job as advertised

Submitted on Sunday, October 04, 2015
By Chris
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Easy to use, simple set up, works great.

Weaknesses of the product

a little bulky on the plug

Additional Comments

Got this to run to my computer in the basement from the router on the 2nd floor. Works like a charm. I get the same speed as i did when my computer was upstairs.

Works well... most of the time

Submitted on Monday, July 27, 2015
By Neill
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Very small, simple to set up. Good clear indicator lights that tell you when there is a problem (most of the time). Nice design. Achieves 7-12 MB per second on file transfers.

Weaknesses of the product

Inconsistent connection, lots of drops in cames, regular but unpredictable lockup that takes out access to the entire LAN (even across multiple switches, but strangely WAN traffic is unaffected) requiring unplugging of all Powerline AV units to reset. Possibly not compatible with other Powerline AV products from other manufacturers, possibly one bad unit... very difficult to troubleshoot, ultimately not worth my time.

Additional Comments

I have some excellent PowerLine AV products from Western Digital (sadly discontinued) that have performed flawlessly for over a year. These D-Link units have been slightly flaky from the get-go, with random disconnects or borking of the entire LAN until they are unplugged and reset. The randomness of the problems makes it nearly impossible to troubleshoot, but I suspect one is sort of flaky... removing one from the network seemed to stabilize things. Disappointing in comparison to the WD units.

Crap

Submitted on Tuesday, January 27, 2015
By Garrett
From edmonton

Strengths of the product

Good internet speed for the one item plugged in.

Weaknesses of the product

ruins wifi for everything else in the house.

Additional Comments

i plug this into my pc and it works like a charm, but for my family the cable is shit (internet cable, ask telus) netflix won't load, their internet goes out laround every 10-15 minutes. piece of shit.

Thumbs up

Submitted on Sunday, January 11, 2015
By dsb71
From St. Albert

Strengths of the product

Well worth the money. Setup is as easy as plugging them in and attaching the network cables. Provides a much more reliable connection than wireless. No messing around, you get full speed for everything.

Weaknesses of the product

Additional Comments

Amazing. Does exactly what it says.

Submitted on Saturday, November 15, 2014
By Darren
From Calgary, SE

Strengths of the product

-Connection is fast enough to play games online. (Much, much faster than Wi-Fi) - Easy 4 step process - Way more convienent than trying to pull wires through your walls and floors

Weaknesses of the product

- Haven't found one yet!

Additional Comments

If you're trying to find a solution to getting a better connection when your computer is 2-3 floors away from the router, this is perfect for you. Grab it! Thank you, Memory Express team for reccomending this to me.

Worked Great for Streaming HD Video

Submitted on Thursday, January 09, 2014
By Josh
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

-Fast and easy to setup

Weaknesses of the product

-Bulky when plugged into the outlet

Additional Comments

Installed this system to get my basement entertainment system to be able to play the 1080p movies from the video server in my upstairs office. On Wifi anything above DVD resolution would lag to the point it was unwatchable. Plugged these in and now all my video files (some 4GB+) stream with no lag at all. Not sure exactly what transfer speed I'm getting, but it solved my problem cheaper, faster, and cleaner than trying to run an ethernet cable.