Western Digital Blue 1TB Desktop Hard Drive, SATA III w/ 64MB Cache

MX40551 Blue 1TB Desktop Hard Drive, SATA III w/ 64MB Cache
MX40551 Blue 1TB Desktop Hard Drive, SATA III w/ 64MB Cache MX40551 Blue 1TB Desktop Hard Drive, SATA III w/ 64MB Cache

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: 3.0 / 5 With 13 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission
Monday, January 28, 2019
By: Jeremy B
From: Winnipeg

Great

Strengths:

- Considerable amount of space - Low cost - Gets the job done

Additional Comments:

I was skeptical about getting this drive from all the negative reviews displayed. However, I ended up buying this drive to kick-start my exploration into the PC world and it has been doing a good job so far. I've been transferring files, loading up games, and working on virtual machines without any problems. If reliability concerns you, I would buy Memory Express' IPR in the event it fails within your time period, or if it is a DOA.
Saturday, September 22, 2018
By: Patrick
From: montreal

best for the price

Strengths:

Low cost. Normal speed. Reliable

Additional Comments:

I have bought over 20 of these in the last years and not a single one of them have broken, not one DOA, nothing. WD is still on top.
Thursday, December 28, 2017
By: Brian
From: Edmonton

Great Hdd

Strengths:

Reliable, Fast, Durable, Great overall HDD

Weaknesses:

I would say it's not a hdd you wanna push to the extreme

Additional Comments:

If your gaming, Storage or just doing basic tasks this hdd will serve you well! I never have an issue with my WD hdd's I have 4 of these for storage and gaming.
Saturday, November 25, 2017
By: Nick
From: Calgary

Great for budget

Additional Comments:

Finally replace the Hard Drive after 5 year of service. Mostly games and streaming but has done the job. Replacing due to SSD sale so finally upgrading to a faster drive but it has done the job it was asked slowly for the time being. Good for cheap hard drive.
Tuesday, September 05, 2017
By: Igor R.
From: Winnipeg

Garbage plain and simple

Strengths:

I would say the Western Digital reputation of reliability but not now.

Weaknesses:

POS drive DOA. Not seen by bios. Wd tools cant see it. ME's return policy. No alternative anymore since Seagate makes just as crappy drives.

Additional Comments:

Negative reviews are true. This drive us garbage and WD is now as bad as Seagate. Too bad Maxtor isn't around anymore.
Saturday, February 25, 2017
By: PF
From: Calgary

Bad hard drive, don't buy this again!

Strengths:

None

Weaknesses:

I always trusted WD hard drive. This only lasted for a few months, it died just like that!

Additional Comments:

I am going to get a Seagate hard drive instead.
Sunday, September 25, 2016
By: Matthew
From: Edmonton

Does what it's supposed to do

Strengths:

It's a hard drive. So far it's lasted me 2-3 months, no problems that I can RECOGNIZE (except for the BSODs while booting up that resulted probably from me messing something up software wise)

Weaknesses:

None really. It's mechanical, but it's pretty darn obvious. Not as fast as an SSD.

Additional Comments:

Good drive, does what it's supposed to do. Hopefully it lasts me a good duration or time. As long as I'm able to spot when it's starting to degrade and when it's to to get a new drive and back it up, I'll be good.
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
By: archie chan
From: vancouver

not a good drive

Strengths:

quite and fast

Weaknesses:

only run few months

Additional Comments:

I will not buy again.
Wednesday, June 18, 2014
By: Elias
From: Calgary

Died within 2 weeks

Strengths:

Cheapest price/GB

Weaknesses:

Hard drive started dying about 2 weeks after I bought it. Computer started to have giant spikes of unresponsiveness where everything would freeze for about 5 seconds. Went into my resource monitor and found that the response time for some applications on the hard drive were as high as 15000ms (15 seconds) which means it took 15 seconds to pull data off the hard drive. Normal values for the response times are around 10ms (1/100 seconds).

Additional Comments:

I ran the Western Digital drive checker two weeks in and the drive failed the first test. This drive is quickly dying and I am going to try to get a new HDD. If you think your drive may be dying, you can download this application from WD to check: http://support.wdc.com/product/download.asp?groupid=612&sid=3.
Monday, October 21, 2013
By: Graham Woulfe
From: Edmonton

Unreliable - Switching back to Seagate

Strengths:

Fast Quiet Good price

Weaknesses:

Do not last

Additional Comments:

I have had to replace 3 of these in the past 2 years. I had one fail at home 6 months ago and one that failed within my wife's business machine a year ago. Last week I had one fail within a mirrored RAID array that resulted in corrupted and deleted data on both drives. This was the last straw. Goodbye, good riddance WD, never again.