WD Blue 1TB Desktop Hard Drive, SATA III w/ 64MB Cache

MX40551 Blue 1TB Desktop Hard Drive, SATA III w/ 64MB Cache
MX40551 Blue 1TB Desktop Hard Drive, SATA III w/ 64MB Cache

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 11 Customer Reviews

Review Submitted!

Your product review has been submitted! Our moderation team will take a look and if meets our submission guidelines you should see it online shortly.

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
Review Submission

Great Hdd

Submitted on Thursday, December 28, 2017
By Brian
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Reliable, Fast, Durable, Great overall HDD

Weaknesses of the product

I would say it's not a hdd you wanna push to the extreme

Additional Comments

If your gaming, Storage or just doing basic tasks this hdd will serve you well! I never have an issue with my WD hdd's I have 4 of these for storage and gaming.

Great for budget

Submitted on Saturday, November 25, 2017
By Nick
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Weaknesses of the product

Additional Comments

Finally replace the Hard Drive after 5 year of service. Mostly games and streaming but has done the job. Replacing due to SSD sale so finally upgrading to a faster drive but it has done the job it was asked slowly for the time being. Good for cheap hard drive.

Garbage plain and simple

Submitted on Tuesday, September 05, 2017
By Igor R.
From Winnipeg

Strengths of the product

I would say the Western Digital reputation of reliability but not now.

Weaknesses of the product

POS drive DOA. Not seen by bios. Wd tools cant see it. ME's return policy. No alternative anymore since Seagate makes just as crappy drives.

Additional Comments

Negative reviews are true. This drive us garbage and WD is now as bad as Seagate. Too bad Maxtor isn't around anymore.

Bad hard drive, don't buy this again!

Submitted on Saturday, February 25, 2017
By PF
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

None

Weaknesses of the product

I always trusted WD hard drive. This only lasted for a few months, it died just like that!

Additional Comments

I am going to get a Seagate hard drive instead.

Does what it's supposed to do

Submitted on Sunday, September 25, 2016
By Matthew
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

It's a hard drive. So far it's lasted me 2-3 months, no problems that I can RECOGNIZE (except for the BSODs while booting up that resulted probably from me messing something up software wise)

Weaknesses of the product

None really. It's mechanical, but it's pretty darn obvious. Not as fast as an SSD.

Additional Comments

Good drive, does what it's supposed to do. Hopefully it lasts me a good duration or time. As long as I'm able to spot when it's starting to degrade and when it's to to get a new drive and back it up, I'll be good.

not a good drive

Submitted on Tuesday, December 22, 2015
By archie chan
From vancouver

Strengths of the product

quite and fast

Weaknesses of the product

only run few months

Additional Comments

I will not buy again.

Died within 2 weeks

Submitted on Wednesday, June 18, 2014
By Elias
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Cheapest price/GB

Weaknesses of the product

Hard drive started dying about 2 weeks after I bought it. Computer started to have giant spikes of unresponsiveness where everything would freeze for about 5 seconds. Went into my resource monitor and found that the response time for some applications on the hard drive were as high as 15000ms (15 seconds) which means it took 15 seconds to pull data off the hard drive. Normal values for the response times are around 10ms (1/100 seconds).

Additional Comments

I ran the Western Digital drive checker two weeks in and the drive failed the first test. This drive is quickly dying and I am going to try to get a new HDD. If you think your drive may be dying, you can download this application from WD to check: http://support.wdc.com/product/download.asp?groupid=612&sid=3.

Unreliable - Switching back to Seagate

Submitted on Monday, October 21, 2013
By Graham Woulfe
From Edmonton

Strengths of the product

Fast Quiet Good price

Weaknesses of the product

Do not last

Additional Comments

I have had to replace 3 of these in the past 2 years. I had one fail at home 6 months ago and one that failed within my wife's business machine a year ago. Last week I had one fail within a mirrored RAID array that resulted in corrupted and deleted data on both drives. This was the last straw. Goodbye, good riddance WD, never again.

Good drive, but doesn't last

Submitted on Saturday, August 10, 2013
By Eugen Fournes
From Calgary

Strengths of the product

Speedy

Weaknesses of the product

Doesn't last - Had two of these over the years and they both lasted a little over a year and both died in the same way: the drives would just disappear an hour or so after starting the computer, but they'd be good after a reboot. Then about half an hour. Then five minutes. This was over the course of about two weeks. So if your WD 1 TB Blue is doing this, time to look for a new drive.

Additional Comments

Nice drive for archival, but don't use it for heavy-access stuff like games. Doesn't last.

Great HDD

Submitted on Friday, June 21, 2013
By g
From Winnipeg

Strengths of the product

Low $/GB Reasonably quick Lots of room

Weaknesses of the product

Still pales in comparison to even the lowliest SSD, SATA3 is capable of much faster xfers

Additional Comments

Great budget HDD, plenty of room at a great price.