Welcome Guest
Announcements:
4
0 items ($0.00) in your cart
  • MX40551 Blue 1TB Desktop Hard Drive, SATA III w/ 64MB Cache

Blue 1TB Desktop Hard Drive, SATA III w/ 64MB Cache

From 10 Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: With 10 Customer Reviews

Review Guidelines

  • Please keep your review to your experiences with the product and how well it performs.
  • Please use appropriate language that is suitable for all ages.
If the guidelines are not followed your review may not be accepted.
All Reviews are screened for appropriate content and therefore may take 3-4 business days before displayed on our site.

Your review has been submitted successfully

Before your review is posted on our site it must first be approved by one of our editors, this usually takes 3-4 business days.

Post A Review
  • 1

Great for budget

11/25/2017 8:22:47 PM
Nick from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
Weaknesses:
Summary:
Finally replace the Hard Drive after 5 year of service. Mostly games and streaming but has done the job. Replacing due to SSD sale so finally upgrading to a faster drive but it has done the job it was asked slowly for the time being. Good for cheap hard drive.

Garbage plain and simple

9/5/2017 6:01:36 PM
Igor R. from Winnipeg writes:
Strengths:
I would say the Western Digital reputation of reliability but not now.
Weaknesses:
POS drive DOA. Not seen by bios. Wd tools cant see it. ME's return policy. No alternative anymore since Seagate makes just as crappy drives.
Summary:
Negative reviews are true. This drive us garbage and WD is now as bad as Seagate. Too bad Maxtor isn't around anymore.

Bad hard drive, don't buy this again!

2/25/2017 11:35:18 PM
PF from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
None
Weaknesses:
I always trusted WD hard drive. This only lasted for a few months, it died just like that!
Summary:
I am going to get a Seagate hard drive instead.

Does what it's supposed to do

9/25/2016 11:09:38 PM
Matthew from Edmonton writes:
Strengths:
It's a hard drive. So far it's lasted me 2-3 months, no problems that I can RECOGNIZE (except for the BSODs while booting up that resulted probably from me messing something up software wise)
Weaknesses:
None really. It's mechanical, but it's pretty darn obvious. Not as fast as an SSD.
Summary:
Good drive, does what it's supposed to do. Hopefully it lasts me a good duration or time. As long as I'm able to spot when it's starting to degrade and when it's to to get a new drive and back it up, I'll be good.

not a good drive

12/22/2015 11:07:35 PM
archie chan from vancouver writes:
Strengths:
quite and fast
Weaknesses:
only run few months
Summary:
I will not buy again.

Died within 2 weeks

6/18/2014 8:10:38 PM
Elias from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
Cheapest price/GB
Weaknesses:
Hard drive started dying about 2 weeks after I bought it. Computer started to have giant spikes of unresponsiveness where everything would freeze for about 5 seconds. Went into my resource monitor and found that the response time for some applications on the hard drive were as high as 15000ms (15 seconds) which means it took 15 seconds to pull data off the hard drive. Normal values for the response times are around 10ms (1/100 seconds).
Summary:
I ran the Western Digital drive checker two weeks in and the drive failed the first test. This drive is quickly dying and I am going to try to get a new HDD. If you think your drive may be dying, you can download this application from WD to check: http://support.wdc.com/product/download.asp?groupid=612&sid=3.

Unreliable - Switching back to Seagate

10/21/2013 9:35:46 AM
Graham Woulfe from Edmonton writes:
Strengths:
Fast Quiet Good price
Weaknesses:
Do not last
Summary:
I have had to replace 3 of these in the past 2 years. I had one fail at home 6 months ago and one that failed within my wife's business machine a year ago. Last week I had one fail within a mirrored RAID array that resulted in corrupted and deleted data on both drives. This was the last straw. Goodbye, good riddance WD, never again.

Good drive, but doesn't last

8/10/2013 11:26:15 AM
Eugen Fournes from Calgary writes:
Strengths:
Speedy
Weaknesses:
Doesn't last - Had two of these over the years and they both lasted a little over a year and both died in the same way: the drives would just disappear an hour or so after starting the computer, but they'd be good after a reboot. Then about half an hour. Then five minutes. This was over the course of about two weeks. So if your WD 1 TB Blue is doing this, time to look for a new drive.
Summary:
Nice drive for archival, but don't use it for heavy-access stuff like games. Doesn't last.

Great HDD

6/21/2013 7:15:06 PM
g from Winnipeg writes:
Strengths:
Low $/GB Reasonably quick Lots of room
Weaknesses:
Still pales in comparison to even the lowliest SSD, SATA3 is capable of much faster xfers
Summary:
Great budget HDD, plenty of room at a great price.

First one DOA, 2nd all good!

5/10/2013 3:36:32 PM
Saberon from Alberta writes:
Strengths:
Quiet and fast drive for the price. WD brand name
Weaknesses:
2 Year Warranty only, first one was DOA but replacement works perfectly.
Summary:
I'd stick with the Black drives for the future but am happy now that my 2nd drive is working.
  • 1